New to Lantus (formerly on Prozinc)

Bella & Puddin

Member Since 2024
Hi, everyone.

My cat, Puddin, has recently been switched to Lantus (previously on Prozinc).

We basically had no changes in BG levels from 2u (2x/day) to up to 9.5u (2x/day) on Prozinc; thus, the decision was made to switch Puddin over to Lantus (starting at 1u twice per day).

Additionally, Puddin was prescribed Flovent for his Asthma (newly discovered). At the time of this post, he has only been on the Lantus and Flovent for a few days.

I am still not seeing much improvement in BG levels. I increased to 1.5u and the vet suggested increasing to 2u. If I understood correctly, this would be until the Flovent has enough time to create an effect in his body (I believe it takes even 10 days to show improvement) and then we would go down.

Does this seem like a sound idea?

For now, Puddin looks a little disheveled to me! He's not grooming, he's always tired, sleeping on and near the water bowl, peeing (and pooping) outside of the litter box, not playful. Vet is monitoring him well and has checked blood and urine.

Thank you for reading!

https://www.felinediabetes.com/FDMB/threads/amps-pmps-always-lower.287728/#post-3162539
 
Hello and welcome to LBL. :) When you have the time, try to read the yellow starred Sticky Notes at the top of the forum, including the one on the Depot. We'll also need you to think about what dosing method you'd like to follow, before we can help with that.

A favour to ask, could you put a blank line on the spreadsheet after the last day of Prozinc, and label it "start Lantus" or something like that. It just makes it a lot easier to see the change and when we need to start looking.

First comment, when a person switching insulins, we take the dose of the current insulin in mind, and how it's doing, instead of starting all the way back at 1 unit. I unfortunately did that with Neko when we switched from 5 units of Caninsulin to Lantus, and basically wasted 3 months. Turns out she needed 8.75 units of Lantus to turn the corner.

Do you have any test data for before mid February? Just wondering how you got up to 8 units from December.
 
Hello and welcome to LBL. :) When you have the time, try to read the yellow starred Sticky Notes at the top of the forum, including the one on the Depot. We'll also need you to think about what dosing method you'd like to follow, before we can help with that.

A favour to ask, could you put a blank line on the spreadsheet after the last day of Prozinc, and label it "start Lantus" or something like that. It just makes it a lot easier to see the change and when we need to start looking.

First comment, when a person switching insulins, we take the dose of the current insulin in mind, and how it's doing, instead of starting all the way back at 1 unit. I unfortunately did that with Neko when we switched from 5 units of Caninsulin to Lantus, and basically wasted 3 months. Turns out she needed 8.75 units of Lantus to turn the corner.

Do you have any test data for before mid February? Just wondering how you got up to 8 units from December.

Yes, I will read the starred Sticky Notes and choose a dosing method. I will also format the Spreadsheet like you suggested; thank you.

I have no data before the February start date on the spreadsheet. I found this forum and the encouragement to monitor at home in February (my previous vet said it would be too difficult to monitor at home; we subsequently left that vet for our current one).

Puddin was started on Prozinc at 4u; after a in-vet curve, he was increased to 5u. After an in-vet check (not curve), he was increased to 6u. And then, after another in-vet check (not curve) we increased to 8u. At that point, we switched to our current vet who suggested (along with advice on the forum) to slowly increase and we got up to 9.5u. It was making no difference in urine output or BG levels so the vet suggested dropping (giving the dose a few days, then, if no change, dropping more).

If I have understood the BG data I have, we were yet to find the units that gave him any stability. Likewise with thirst and urine. One thing I did notice was that the higher the units on ProZinc, the more vocal and almost confused Puddin was. For example, at around the +2/+3 mark he would yowel and go to the front door (he doesn't leave the house, so this was odd behavior).

Thank you!
 
@BellaMills
Hi there here are the 2 dosing methods for Lantus either TR or SLGS
https://felinediabetes.com/FDMB/thr...-low-go-slow-slgs-tight-regulation-tr.210110/

On your spreadsheet you have MPM which is for Prozinc
After you decide which method you want to follow for Lantus can you delete MPM and put the method you want to follow for Lantus and add it to your signature , also can you add to your signature after you have Lantus ,you can just add Lantus as of and the date you started it :cat:

Do you have the U-100 syringes with the half unit markings ?

When you post on the Lantus Forum ,we like you to post every day if possible.
The way you would post is
Date, Puddin then AMPS # and any other tests after that, you can continue with the PMPS # in the title and any tests after that.
To add the additional tests look to the right tap in the word Thread Tools ,then tap in Edit Title , add you tests then tap save.
We always like to post your previous days post to your new post for continuity in case members need to go back and read anything :cat:
 
Last edited:
Thanks for the explanation on initial dosing. That's a little scary! So glad you are home testing now.

As for dosing methods, with LC wet you can follow either TR or SLGS. I think you were following MPW before hand? TR would be closest to that. Since we are in hunt of a good dose for him, it will be beneficial if you can follow TR, which allows faster increases if needed.

As for next steps, the depot of Lantus takes 5-7 days to build. Hold this dose at least 5 days (if following TR), unless he starts to trend higher and spend all his time above 300. Unless of course he goes under 50 (if following TR) or 90 (if following SLGS). The nature of the depot means that the dose should hopefully start to look better over time. Some cats can take 5 cycles to show you what a dose is capable of.
 
Back
Top