New to ISG - 8/9/13 Tootoo AMPS 114

Status
Not open for further replies.

Tooloo

Member Since 2013
It was recommended by one of you that I join this group. This is my first post here. I've been posting on the main message board.

I'm attempting to follow the tight regulation protocol - been reading the info. I do have difficulty with my schedule because many days I'm not home, and if number low, I've skipped shot. On days I'm home, I can test every two to three hours. Testing every hour is difficult because I'm usually working at home.

I just watched video on handling the Lantus vial. My vet and pharmacist both instructed me to roll the bottle each time prior to filling syringe. They also instructed me to overfill syringe and release excess insulin into bottle. I've also been storing in door of fridge. So....hope my vial is ok. I'll follow instructions in video from here on.

I reduced dose to 1.0 this morning. So far, Tootoo is doing well. I'm fortunate he doesn't have other health issues and is responding well to what I've been doing (which is following the advice of members here). I decided to post here because I want to make sure I continue to have good results and hopefully get him into remission.
 
Re: 8/9/13 Tootoo AMPS 114

Hi Tooloo!

Nice to see you over here in Lantus TR.

Please, go into your first post and edit your subject line, adding new so people here will notice you are new and welcome you.
 
Welcome to Lantus Land!

There is absolutely no need to test every hour. In fact, there's no need to test every 2 hours on a regular basis. For the Tight Regulation protocol, what is recommended is that you always test at pre-shot times and you get at least once during both the AM and PM cycles. If you look at people's spreadsheets, you'll see considerable variability in the frequency with which people test.

Lantus is a solution (not a suspension like some insulin) so there's no need to roll the container.

So far, Tootoo is doing beautifully!!
 
Hi there, just wanted to drop in and say welcome! My vet also told me to roll the insulin and release extra back into the vial. :roll: Guess that's pretty common! :lol:

This is the best place you could be! Good luck!
 
Hello. I just wanted to say "Welcome" to the Lantus TR forum :-D
When I first started (before I found this board) I read the instructions on the Lantus pamplet that came with the insulin and it said to draw air into the syringe and to inject that into the vial first before drawing the dose, and I used to keep my insulin in the door of the frig.
Now, I know that the best place to keep the insulin in well inside the frig where it won't get as much of a tempurature change as the door, and to just draw the insulin (without adding air to the vial, pen, or cartridge), to not roll it because it's somewhat fragile, and to squirt the extra insulin into the air or into the sink.

That's a real nice AMPS Tootoo has. I wish you luck. And ask all the questions you need.

If you ask a question and you don't see an answer, or you want other opinions, feel free to bump up your own condo by replying to it. If you Edit the first Subject Line in your condo by adding the ? icon to it, that will help as well.

Hope to see you posting often.
 
Hey thanks everyone! Appreciate the support!

Debbie and Tootoo (Signature is Tooloo because my civvie is Looloo)
 
Debbie:

If it's not too much trouble, could you complete a Profile on Tootoo and attach it to your signature? It saves us from asking you the same questions over and over again (e.g., when Tootoo was diagnosed, medical issues, etc.).
 
Welcome great place to be, I was told to by my vet to roll but brother said no clear liquid no need to Pharmacist said same she told me to put vial in little box at back of frig on center shelf. I think you will like it here my Lucky will be totally in remission in 2 days we have been at this since Feb. so very good results
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top