New to insulin and BG is rising after shots

Status
Not open for further replies.

Jmeli

Member Since 2014
Hello Group! Me and Rooh are so happy to have found our way here to this wealth of information and wonderful support group. I have not gotten far enough yet to upload Roohs SS but that will be next.

Rooh was started on Prozinc 11/28 at 1u per day for 4 days. Then it was increased to 2u - twice a day.
His initial BG before starting was 407. The first two days his BG showed decreasing numbers after the shot, but now his BG is increasing initally after his shots, Is this normal???

Before his dx and treatments were started, we did notice he always appeared to feel his best first thing in the mornings as he would come down stairs for a few minutes and sit in a window to watch the birds but as the day progressed he just went downhill and did nothing but sleep and look miserable. He was this way for about a month before we got him to the vet, as I assumed it was his heart condition getting worse.

He is still acting the same way on the insulin, but his appetite has come back. Yay! Nothing has changed around the house to be increasing his stress during the day and I am home all day to monitor him.

Since starting insulin though, there have been a few times he has turned away from me and inched over to the wall and just sat there stairing at it, which is completely out of character for him. He isn't head butting it but just staring at it. (maybe tired of being poked?)

Right after he gets his shot his demeanor changes; he acts sleepy and has a look like he has a headache or is just uncomfortable. This will last for several hours. Is this normal? Thoughts?


Melissa
 
What kind of numbers are you seeing? It would be very helpful for us to have preshot numbers and nadirs (5-7 hours after the shot). We don't want nadirs to be under 40-50 which is approaching nadir territory. The symptoms you describe are disturbing and could be hypo symptoms, especially the staring at the wall.

Starting wet low carb food can sometimes mean a fast change downward in blood glucose levels and a need for less insulin. (when we switched our Oliver from dry to wet, his numbers dropped 100 points overnight from the previous am preshot. If we had given him his usual dose, he would have dropped too low and probably hypoed)

It sounds like you are hometesting. Can you share some of his numbers?

We have put together a protocol for ProZinc. It is in blue type in my signature.
 
Sue can you tell me how to get his SS on here? I have all his numbers in it. Thanks!
 
So go to your copy (it should be saved on your computer in your favorites). On the right hand side choose Share and pick Anyone with the Link. Then go over to the left side and choose File, the Publish to the Web. A long url comes up in the box below. Highlight that url and copy it.

Then come back to the forum and Choose User Control Panel, then edit signature. When the box comes up, paste in the long url. Highlight it again and choose the URL button above the box. That will let us see it. Add your insulin so everyone won't ask each time you post. Then choose submit.

If you can't make it work, send me a private message. There's a way I can do it for you. At the bottom of this post, choose the PM button.
 
Its' not pretty, but hopefully this is readable to you all.

Date.......Time......PS....U.....+ 2.....+ 4.....+ 6.....+9....+11
11/28/14 7:00 PM N/A 1.00 338
11/29/14 8:50 AM 472 1.00 332 398 389 393
11/30/14 8:30 AM 430 1.00 407 355 396 437 (+13)
12/01/14 8:00 AM 344 1.00 403 369 470
12/02/14 8:00 AM 408 1.00 373 384
12/02/14 8:00 PM 384 2.00 462
12/03/14 8:30 AM 263 2.00 341 392 417
 
Well, you've done everything right. Hometesting, wet food and a nice mild insulin. His patterns are not the usual. Did he have any other complications - infection or DKA?


It's possible that he is getting too much insulin. Sometimes if their cycles are high and flat, it is too much rather than too little. And an inverse curve (higher at nadir than at preshot) can be too much insulin. We suggest increasing by .25 or .5 units and he jumped from one unit to two. The difficult thing here is that he could need more, not less. His numbers didn't look great at one unit. You can't tell until you try, either up or down. If you decide to do this, I would definitely get some ketone strips and test his urine daily. You want to watch for DKA. If you go down, only for a few cycles. If the numbers don't drop, then it's back up. If he had DKA, then I wouldn't try the restart.

The only part I don't understand is the strange behavior. That sounds like hypo, but his numbers are too high for that. Maybe he is just not feeling well with those higher numbers.

Please understand this is only my opinion. I am not a vet, only someone who has helped people with ProZinc.
 
Thanks Sue.

I do "not" know if he had DKA, no other test were run at vet besides standard Blood work but he probably did have it. He went for a while barely eating but we didn't notice it until he started loosing weight and then i was watching him closely.

He had Giardia a few months ago, my whole clan did, we i think we cleared it. I haven't retested that either yet, but the smelly poops are gone.

I will read up on the ketone testing next. I am assuming i need a clumpless litter catch.
 
I do know if he had DKA, no other test were run at vet besides standard Blood work but he probably did have it. He went for a while barely eating but we didn't notice it until he started loosing weight and then i was watching him closely.

Not sure if you mean he had DKA or not. If he had DKA, he would have had dangerous levels and been very ill. Almost always it takes hospitalization. If he had DKA, don't try a lower dose. Once they have DKA, they Tend to be prone to getting it again.

If he still has an infection, that can definitely raise bg levels.

If you decide to lower the dose, maybe 1.25 would be a better dose than going back to one unit. That would have been the usual increase.

Some cats will let you stick the strip or a ladle into their urine stream. Oliver wouldn't. We bought some aquarium gravel, put it in a clean box and left him in a room with it. He'd christen the box and we'd swoop in and get a sample.
 
Now that the spreadsheet is up and it's easier to see the numbers, that 263 looks pretty good for an amps. Maybe you should stick with the 2 units and see what the next few cycles look like before you consider any changes.
 
Thanks for all your help Sue. I updated the sheet and talked to Roohs vet earlier. She suggested lowering the dose to 1U BID for now.

I agree Sue, with 263 and was excited to see that this morning but then it just kept rising up today after his shot same as on 12/01. Has anyone else experienced this? Isnt this the opposite of what is supposed to happen after a shot?
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top