Jmeli
Member Since 2014
Hello Group! Me and Rooh are so happy to have found our way here to this wealth of information and wonderful support group. I have not gotten far enough yet to upload Roohs SS but that will be next.
Rooh was started on Prozinc 11/28 at 1u per day for 4 days. Then it was increased to 2u - twice a day.
His initial BG before starting was 407. The first two days his BG showed decreasing numbers after the shot, but now his BG is increasing initally after his shots, Is this normal???
Before his dx and treatments were started, we did notice he always appeared to feel his best first thing in the mornings as he would come down stairs for a few minutes and sit in a window to watch the birds but as the day progressed he just went downhill and did nothing but sleep and look miserable. He was this way for about a month before we got him to the vet, as I assumed it was his heart condition getting worse.
He is still acting the same way on the insulin, but his appetite has come back. Yay! Nothing has changed around the house to be increasing his stress during the day and I am home all day to monitor him.
Since starting insulin though, there have been a few times he has turned away from me and inched over to the wall and just sat there stairing at it, which is completely out of character for him. He isn't head butting it but just staring at it. (maybe tired of being poked?)
Right after he gets his shot his demeanor changes; he acts sleepy and has a look like he has a headache or is just uncomfortable. This will last for several hours. Is this normal? Thoughts?
Melissa
Rooh was started on Prozinc 11/28 at 1u per day for 4 days. Then it was increased to 2u - twice a day.
His initial BG before starting was 407. The first two days his BG showed decreasing numbers after the shot, but now his BG is increasing initally after his shots, Is this normal???
Before his dx and treatments were started, we did notice he always appeared to feel his best first thing in the mornings as he would come down stairs for a few minutes and sit in a window to watch the birds but as the day progressed he just went downhill and did nothing but sleep and look miserable. He was this way for about a month before we got him to the vet, as I assumed it was his heart condition getting worse.
He is still acting the same way on the insulin, but his appetite has come back. Yay! Nothing has changed around the house to be increasing his stress during the day and I am home all day to monitor him.
Since starting insulin though, there have been a few times he has turned away from me and inched over to the wall and just sat there stairing at it, which is completely out of character for him. He isn't head butting it but just staring at it. (maybe tired of being poked?)
Right after he gets his shot his demeanor changes; he acts sleepy and has a look like he has a headache or is just uncomfortable. This will last for several hours. Is this normal? Thoughts?
Melissa