mariko
Very Active Member
Hello. I am new here and hoping someone can help me.
My cat Lucy was recently diagnosed with diabetes, and has been on Lantus for about a month now.
She is given 1 unit twice a day as prescribed by the vet.
I was getting too paranoid about how much water she was drinking and how enthusiastic she got about food, which was difficult to tell, so I started testing her BG at home about a week ago.
In the begenning I had a lot of difficulties getting enough blood, so I could not test often enough.
I am getting better at it, and today, for the first time, I was able to test 4 times between meals.(!!!)
But I realized I don't know how to interpret the results except that it should not go too low or too high.
Could you please take a look at her today's results and let me know what you think?
I give her insulin shot right after her each meal.
10:30 am : 8.0 mmol/L (=144 mg/dL) --- 4 hrs since last meal & insulin shot
11:30 am : 7.6 mmol/L (=137 mg/dL) --- 5 hrs since last meal & insulin shot
02:30 pm : 4.9 mmol/L (=88 mg/dL) --- 8 hrs since last meal & insulin shot
06:00 pm : 5.9 mmol/L (=106 mg/dL) --- 11.5 hrs since last meal & insulin shot (right before next meal)
What concerns me is that her BG dropped to 4.9 mmol/L at 2:30 pm, but went up slightly to 5.9 mmol/L at 6 pm.
Is it OK that her BG elevated even a little bit when furthest from the last time she ate?
I thought I would get the lowest BG right before the meal.... No?
Does this mean that the effect of Lantus wore out sometime between 2:30 pm and 6 pm?
Shouldn't BG decrease steadily as time passes since last meal?
I am new to caring for a diatetic cat and very concerned if I am doing things right.
I just discovered about this forum today, and will read the past log to lean more about feline diabetes before I ask more questions here (I have a lot!!).
But for today, please let me know what this slight increase of BG between 8th hour and 12th hour since last meal & shot indicate.
Is this normal or bad?
Thank you very much for reading this. Hoping to hear some advice.
My cat Lucy was recently diagnosed with diabetes, and has been on Lantus for about a month now.
She is given 1 unit twice a day as prescribed by the vet.
I was getting too paranoid about how much water she was drinking and how enthusiastic she got about food, which was difficult to tell, so I started testing her BG at home about a week ago.
In the begenning I had a lot of difficulties getting enough blood, so I could not test often enough.
I am getting better at it, and today, for the first time, I was able to test 4 times between meals.(!!!)
But I realized I don't know how to interpret the results except that it should not go too low or too high.
Could you please take a look at her today's results and let me know what you think?
I give her insulin shot right after her each meal.
10:30 am : 8.0 mmol/L (=144 mg/dL) --- 4 hrs since last meal & insulin shot
11:30 am : 7.6 mmol/L (=137 mg/dL) --- 5 hrs since last meal & insulin shot
02:30 pm : 4.9 mmol/L (=88 mg/dL) --- 8 hrs since last meal & insulin shot
06:00 pm : 5.9 mmol/L (=106 mg/dL) --- 11.5 hrs since last meal & insulin shot (right before next meal)
What concerns me is that her BG dropped to 4.9 mmol/L at 2:30 pm, but went up slightly to 5.9 mmol/L at 6 pm.
Is it OK that her BG elevated even a little bit when furthest from the last time she ate?
I thought I would get the lowest BG right before the meal.... No?
Does this mean that the effect of Lantus wore out sometime between 2:30 pm and 6 pm?
Shouldn't BG decrease steadily as time passes since last meal?
I am new to caring for a diatetic cat and very concerned if I am doing things right.
I just discovered about this forum today, and will read the past log to lean more about feline diabetes before I ask more questions here (I have a lot!!).
But for today, please let me know what this slight increase of BG between 8th hour and 12th hour since last meal & shot indicate.
Is this normal or bad?
Thank you very much for reading this. Hoping to hear some advice.