New to home testing and need advice for Pluto

Status
Not open for further replies.
Hello! I just started home testing this week, and have only been able to gather limited data. I plan to do a curve today but Pluto isn't the best with home testing yet :)

His morning number seems to (based on the limited data) be trending low and it increases throughout the day and is still high at PMPS. I was out of town and his caretaker has given the last 4 shots (2 days worth) and when I tested him this morning he's at AMPS 121 with a ReliOn Micro. We've been moving his shot 10 minutes everyday to accommodate the time change tonight but his last shot was almost 12 hours prior to AMPS. He's on 1U of ProZinc every 12 hours. He typically eats at shot time and then continues to free feed throughout the day and a little is provided for the night as he shares food with another cat (FF Classic pates only now).

I stalled and retested about 25 minutes later and his number is 134. I just fed him and I am leaning towards a NS. Any input is appreciated! Today is exactly a month since he was diagnosed. He had a bad dental infection at the time and had 5-6 teeth removed his first week on insulin and we made the gradual switch from a 100% dry diet to Fancy Feast Classic pates.
 
Since you do not have much data yet, skipping the shot when he was that low was probably a good call. As you get more data, you may find that you can shoot on a PS that low.
 
Hi and welcome! It looks like Pluto is responding really well to the food change and improved dental health!

Don't do a curve today since he didn't have any insulin. The point of the curve is to see the action of the insulin. If you can do one tomorrow, you can try just doing +4, +6, and +8 if he doesn't like testing. It's still a lot, but not as much as doing the full curve - and those hours should give the info you really need anyway.

Since it looks like he's coming down so quickly in numbers, it's going to be really important that you test before each shot right now, and get some mid-cycle tests as much as possible to avoid having him go hypo. I know testing is really hard at the beginning of all of this, but if his pancreas is healing quickly, it's super important. :bighug:
 
Hi and welcome! It looks like Pluto is responding really well to the food change and improved dental health!

Don't do a curve today since he didn't have any insulin. The point of the curve is to see the action of the insulin. If you can do one tomorrow, you can try just doing +4, +6, and +8 if he doesn't like testing. It's still a lot, but not as much as doing the full curve - and those hours should give the info you really need anyway.

Since it looks like he's coming down so quickly in numbers, it's going to be really important that you test before each shot right now, and get some mid-cycle tests as much as possible to avoid having him go hypo. I know testing is really hard at the beginning of all of this, but if his pancreas is healing quickly, it's super important. :bighug:
Oh good call on the curve. I was planning to do one today since I am around, but I will give him (and me!) a break until PMPS now. His +2 and +4 looked really good to me. At what number would you suggest still giving him his insulin this evening? If he tests over 200?
 
How many hours between the shot and your bedtime? I'd be surprised if he's over 200 (although since we're talking about cats, I'm often surprised ;)). Depending on how long you'll be awake and if you can get a test or two before bed will determine the dosing advice for tonight. Alas, there is rarely a clear simple answer with all of this. So many things depend on so many other things....:rolleyes:
 
How many hours between the shot and your bedtime? I'd be surprised if he's over 200 (although since we're talking about cats, I'm often surprised ;)). Depending on how long you'll be awake and if you can get a test or two before bed will determine the dosing advice for tonight. Alas, there is rarely a clear simple answer with all of this. So many things depend on so many other things....:rolleyes:
I will be able to test him two times before bed so I am sure I will be back here for more advice.
 
Ok so Pluto was 146 at PMPS. I fed him Fancy Feast Classic Beef Pate and decided NS. He didn't eat as much as he normally does. I just tested at +2 and he is at 120. I will test him again at +4 before I go to bed. Should I be concerned of him dropping too low overnight?
 
Ok so Pluto was 146 at PMPS. I fed him Fancy Feast Classic Beef Pate and decided NS. He didn't eat as much as he normally does. I just tested at +2 and he is at 120. I will test him again at +4 before I go to bed. Should I be concerned of him dropping too low overnight?
He should be OK overnight.
 
Maybe try 0.5 u this AM if he’s above 180 or so. Looks like he needs a little bit of insulin. If he’s close but a little below 180 post here for help.
 
AMPS is 97. I probably should have stalled and retested but I went ahead and fed him about 1.5 oz of a FF since his numbers were in the 100's yesterday with NS (that PMPS +4 tried to get out of the 100's). Should I just test him around AMPS +4 or more often right now to ensure he doesn't go hypo? Home testing gives peace of mind and brings so many more additional questions!
 
AMPS is 97. I probably should have stalled and retested but I went ahead and fed him about 1.5 oz of a FF since his numbers were in the 100's yesterday with NS (that PMPS +4 tried to get out of the 100's). Should I just test him around AMPS +4 or more often right now to ensure he doesn't go hypo? Home testing gives peace of mind and brings so many more additional questions!
No insulin for sure this AM. :) He won't hypo because he hasn't had any insulin in 48 hours. This is a great sign! Your kitty's pancreas is probably waking up and he might go into remission. It's a bit early to know for sure but it's very promising. Keep feeding low carb food because once a diabetic, always a diabetic - but a diet controlled one. Maybe test at +6 and before PM meal today.
 
Well this morning's test was a struggle. Our 17 yr old cat and Pluto's housemate passed away. So after several unsuccessful pricks and him running away, I took a breather. Tried again and was again unsuccessful. Finally resorted to giving him food and pricking just as he started to eat so I am not sure how that will impact the number but his AMPS was 135 so a NS again today. He hasn't had insulin in over 60 hours now. I'll get a test at +6 today and PMPS. We've got a one month check up (about 5 weeks since dx, 1 month after dental surgery) with the vet on 3/16 for a BG and fructosamine test. Not sure how she will view the home testing as when I asked at dx if I should do it she said it wasn't necessary.
 
Finally resorted to giving him food and pricking just as he started to eat so I am not sure how that will impact the number but his AMPS was 135 so a NS again today.
This can work if your kitty is agitated during testing because he's hungry. It can take 20-30 minutes for food to affect BG so if a little snack just before or while you're testing works, do it. :)

Not sure how she will view the home testing as when I asked at dx if I should do it she said it wasn't necessary.
I think we can all imagine the stressful scenarios that could arise if you inject insulin without knowing whether the dose is safe at the kitty's BG level. I think a lot of vets worry that BG monitoring will worry the owner, etc.

It's possible that your boy will need a little bit of insulin to ease his numbers down but that's still a question mark. Get a +6 if you can.
 
Thanks everyone! Yeah, Pluto's buddy had started slowing down with no clear issues other than age so we just tried to pamper her and let her enjoy her final days. Just heartbreaking to watch.

In brighter news, Pluto's +6 was 97. He's definitely so much more lively this past week.
 
I think we can all imagine the stressful scenarios that could arise if you inject insulin without knowing whether the dose is safe at the kitty's BG level. I think a lot of vets worry that BG monitoring will worry the owner, etc.

That makes sense. I know the thought of giving shots twice a day was very daunting at first, so if she had advised I also check his blood, it could have been a lot to process and manage.
 
With Pluto's numbers, I assume NS still makes sense, right? It's been over 72 hours since he has had a shot. We had a rough day trying to get blood and I had to entice with food for both AMPS and PMPS. I was able to test right away as he started eating at AMPS. Had to wait about 15 mins at PMPS. Also, his handsome little white ears are covered in bruises and he was extra aggressive this evening (good thing he got all those canines pulled when this all started...or else!) and I'm probably extra sensitive with the passing of our other kitty, but today was exhausting. As always, thanks for any input!
 
I think NS is good for now. That's a low PMPS (not bad low, just lower than we'd normally shoot at). IT works out well since you can use a break from testing..and it sounds like Pluto could too! Why don't you just give him some loving tonight and get some rest...I know it's a tough time right now. :bighug::bighug::bighug:
 
Just wanted to put another round of thanks out there. Pluto went to the vet today for his one month (since dental surgery) 5 weeks since dx checkup. The vet agrees that NS right now make sense. I tested this morning and with my ReliOn Micro he was at 76. At the vet we both tested around +6. The vet's Alphatrak 2 came in at 100 and my ReliOn at 77. Amazing considering he was at 661 5 weeks ago! That dental infection was definitely driving it up as well as the dry food.

I told the vet I transitioned from dry to FF but she advised me that if I see Pluto's numbers going up instead of going back on insulin right away to try the Vet prescribed food. I'll cross that bridge when I come to it. Pluto and I will be moving states shortly. I am hoping the stress of the move won't cause his numbers to go up (and stay up).

Home testing and having the support of the folks on this board has been so helpful! Many thanks!
 
Oh vets! :rolleyes: Absolutely no on the prescription foods. Depending on which one they prescribe they're way too high in carbs. Have you seen the food list? There are zillions of better choices out there. Fancy Feast is relatively inexpensive, easy to find, and just fine.

I'm so glad that Pluto is doing so well! And getting such low numbers even while at the vet is amazing! You're doing a great job of managing all of this even while grieving the loss of your other fur baby. Hugs to you all! :bighug:
 
Oh vets! :rolleyes: Absolutely no on the prescription foods. Depending on which one they prescribe they're way too high in carbs. Have you seen the food list? There are zillions of better choices out there. Fancy Feast is relatively inexpensive, easy to find, and just fine.

I have seen the food list, and the sortable one in your profile is so nice! I think I will stick to FF for now. He loves the Beef and hates the Turkey and Giblets. So funny how they can be so picky! I'm looking to get an automatic feeder now that I will be going back to work.

I'm so glad that Pluto is doing so well! And getting such low numbers even while at the vet is amazing! You're doing a great job of managing all of this even while grieving the loss of your other fur baby. Hugs to you all! :bighug:

Thank you! It was a week of ups and downs with the loss of our other cat, but it was so nice to see that number at the vet yesterday for Pluto.
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top