New to home monitoring-when do I test?

Status
Not open for further replies.

JennL

Member Since 2013
Just purchased an AlphaTrak2 from my vet yesterday. Performed three tests successfully just to get familiar with the unit and getting blood from Big, my 14 year old diabetic kitty. Now what? I know I need to do a glucose curve ASAP but while doing these preliminary "spot tests" should I adjust his insulin based on the readings (timing of insulin, not dose)?

Test 1 = 47. no food, 10 hours after last insulin
Test 2 = 185. 5 hours after wet food, 16 hours after last insulin (gave insulin based on this high reading)
Test 3 = 267. 2 hours after wet food, 11 hours after last insulin (gave insulin based on this high reading)

80-120 is a good range?
How long do I wait to test him after he eats a meal?
Should I just stay on my regular food & insulin schedule (every 12 hours) until I have several successful, conclusive curves?

Sigh...
 
Hi Jenn,

It is wonderful you are hometesting. It is scary that you got a 47 10 hours after a shot. That is a low number, especially with an AlphaTRak which reads higher than the human meters most people here use. We consider the 40-50 range when we need to intervene with food to stop the drop. Below 40, we would intervene with honey as it would be hypo range.

All your numbers are in a good range. We consider a cat regulated if they are in the mid 200s at preshot and below 100 at midcycle, but not below 40.

To do a curve, we test at preshot (always-to be sure the dose is safe to give) and then every 2-3 hours after that throughout the day until the evening pre shot. Those numbers give us a nice picture of how the insulin worked.

What kind of insulin and what dose?
 
Hi Sue.

Thanks for the info. Big is on Lantus, 3 units every 12 hours.

I'm new to this so please bare with my lack of knowledge. When you says "regulated" you're suggesting to not change anything---stay with my current insulin dosage and timing? Or are you saying he doesn't need any insulin and is producing enough on his own?

Also, my vet indicated that a range of 80-120 is optimal. You're saying 267 is good but I gave him a shot cause I thought this was a high number. The acceptable range in all of the reading I've done is kinda all over the place. Not sure how tight this acceptable range really is?

Guess I need to do a curve, talk to my vet about the results and not do anything differnt until then.
 
I think you should reduce the dose because of that 47 you got using an Alpha Trak.
When my cat is 70 or below, I am testing every half hour.
When did you get those test numbers, last night and today?
 
The 47 was last night at 530pm at the Vets office. He hadn't had a meal since 730am but had access to a small amount of dry food. I typically feed him his wet food at 730pm and give him insulin immediately but after that 47 I fed him at the normal 730 time then did a test at midnight. It was 185 so I gave him his insulin since that was out of the 80-120 range.
 
Okay, if you gave him his shot at 12:00am this morning, then you didn't shoot anymore insulin until 12:00pm this afternoon, correct?

If I am right, you are using Lantus. Lantus is not dosed based on Pre-Shot tests, but on the lowest point in the cycle which is generally around 5 or 6 hours after the insulin is given. I would lower his dose, and besides getting the Pre-Shot tests, I would try to start getting those mid-cycle tests, so you know how low he is going each cycle.
 
3 units is a really high starting dose for Lantus. How long has he been on it? I would definitely reduce the dose too . We can recommend a starting dose if we know his weight?

And what wet and dry are you feeding ( type and brand)

Wendy
 
As you can see by the data below, that 47 on an Alphatrak means a reduction is needed. Please note that the ranges for an Alphatrak meter are HIGHER than for a human meter. That 47 is HYOP territory on an Alphatrak.

Reference ranges for decision making

[Glucose reference ranges are unsubstantiated and have been removed by Moderator]
 
You all are so great for the advice! I've learned so much in the last few days after my first home curve. We've reduced Big's insulin (Lantus) to 2 units 2x/day. Since the curve I've been testing just before a wet food meal and also 6 hours after the injection to determine how low he's going.

Is this a good method when just starting out being a home tester? He's been on Lantus for a long time.
I've read that I shouldn't do any dosage changes for about 5 days to let him adjust. He was on 3 units 2x/day but saw he was going dangerously low (39) so we've reduced his dosage.

So much to learn!
 
How is he doing now?How are his readings?

Heres some reading on a popular dosing protocol here which has a good remission rate. : http://www.felinediabetes.com/FDMB/viewtopic.php?f=9&t=1581

Generally according to this , depending on numbers you wait 3-5 days before changing the dose. But you always drop the dose (usually by 1/4 unit) if they drop under 80 if you are using an alphatrak.You don't want a hypo on your hands, and your dose was very high. Still is a bit.

What kind food are you feeding? Brand/type?

Wendy
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top