? New to greens

20Merlin24

Member Since 2024
Apologies for being a mother hen...

Merlin is at 81 right now at +4, which is of course great. But he seemed perkier/happier when he was in the yellow.

Thought I'd test him again at +5. Yes?

What I'm wondering right now is what dose he is actually reacting to? He hasn't eaten since this morning and I shouldn't feed him yet if I'm trying to find the nadir, right..?

If anyone could guide me through the rest of the day here I'd greatly appreciate it. :bookworm:
 
Update: Ok, so +5 was 76. He was really hungry so ate 1/2 can Fancy Feast pate. For how long does this affect his glucose?

I leave food out overnight so he CAN eat whenever he wants to, but that doesn't mean that he does. Concerned that he could drop too low when I'm not constantly bothering him.

If he's over 200 at PMPS should he still get the full dose?
 
Exciting cycle today!!! Congrats on the reduction. When following SLGS, a drop under 90 means a reduction in dose. New dose is 0.75.

You're doing great. We generally suggest giving a tsp or two of the Low carb wet food to "keep surfing in greens." Can you get a test at +6?

There are still a half cycle to go before PMPS and Merlin may (hopefully not) bounce from the stretch of greens.

Will look out for your +6:bighug:
 
Exciting cycle today!!! Congrats on the reduction. When following SLGS, a drop under 90 means a reduction in dose. New dose is 0.75.

You're doing great. We generally suggest giving a tsp or two of the Low carb wet food to "keep surfing in greens." Can you get a test at +6?

There are still a half cycle to go before PMPS and Merlin may (hopefully not) bounce from the stretch of greens.

Will look out for your +6:bighug:


Oh thank you! Yes, I will definitely get another reading at +6. Checking back in shortly.
 
Exciting cycle today!!! Congrats on the reduction. When following SLGS, a drop under 90 means a reduction in dose. New dose is 0.75.

You're doing great. We generally suggest giving a tsp or two of the Low carb wet food to "keep surfing in greens." Can you get a test at +6?

There are still a half cycle to go before PMPS and Merlin may (hopefully not) bounce from the stretch of greens.

Will look out for your +6:bighug:


+6 is 94. But that's almost exactly an hour after eating half a can, not a tsp or two. Is that still good? How many more tests should I get before PMPS?
 
How many more tests should I get before PMPS?
I'm the WRONG person to ask....I'm a testaholic at times :joyful::joyful:

If it were me, I'd probably get another test at +9 or +10 which would help me prepare for pmps. If Merlin starts a bounce, then you have no fear shooting his new dose at shot time. If he doesn't bounce (paws crossed) then you have two hours to stress out - just kidding - please don't get stressed.:bighug: ;)
 
I'm the WRONG person to ask....I'm a testaholic at times :joyful::joyful:

If it were me, I'd probably get another test at +9 or +10 which would help me prepare for pmps. If Merlin starts a bounce, then you have no fear shooting his new dose at shot time. If he doesn't bounce (paws crossed) then you have two hours to stress out - just kidding - please don't get stressed.:bighug: ;)

Haha, I will do that. You and I are two peas in a pod I think. My vet specifically told me NOT to go overboard with the testing. Just three times a day - PS and around +6. But how would I know how he reacts then? I find this super stressful.

How do you define a "bounce" exactly? :bighug::cat:
 
Haha, I will do that. You and I are two peas in a pod I think
:bighug::bighug:
My vet specifically told me NOT to go overboard with the testing
:rolleyes::rolleyes:
How do you define a "bounce" exactly? :bighug::cat:
So in the basics sticky, its described as:
  • Bouncing - Bouncing is simply a natural reaction to what the cat's system perceives as a BG value that is "too low". "Too low" is relative. If a cat is used to BGs in the 200's, 300's, or higher for a long time, then even a BG that drops to 150 can trigger a "bounce". Bouncing can also be triggered if the blood glucose drops too low and/or too fast. The pancreas, then the liver, release glucogon, glycogen and counter-regulatory hormones. The end result is a dumping of "sugar" into the bloodstream to save the cat from going hypoglycemic from a perceived low. The action is often referred to as "liver panic" or "panicky liver". *Usually*, a bounce will clear kitty's system within 3 days (6 cycles).
Check out this thread https://www.felinediabetes.com/FDMB...tion-of-bouncing-that-helped-gussie-i.184405/ for another way of explaining it.

Bounces are ANNOYING to us HOOMANS.
 
more stuff to worry about...
Try not to worry about it too much! Its a normal reaction until kitty gets used to being back in "normal" numbers again. Its really just an annoyance for us CGs (CareGivers).

Cut yourself some slack!! You are just starting out and there is a steep learning curve. You don't have to learn it all at once and once you do think you have a handle on the basics....onset, nadir, duration, bounces etc etc, kitty likes to switch things up a bit because they are CATS :banghead:.

Keep asking questions...any questions...all questions. Odds are someone around here has been there done that :)
 
Back
Top