New to forum- on our way to remission then back to insulin again

Status
Not open for further replies.

Marina and Milo

New Member
Hi,
My name is Marina and I have a diabetic cat called Milo. He is in lantus however, he wasn’t needed insulin for the last 13 weeks and then suddenly his BG started rising again. Wondering if anyone had experienced similar situation.

thank
Marina & Milo
 
Hi and welcome Marina and Milo to the forum.
Yes it is possible for this to happen.
Two of the things that can throw cats out of remission are a UTI or issues with their teeth.
Are you feeding him a low carb diet only?
How much insulin was he on when he went into remission?
Have you been hometesting his BGs?
What is the BG now?
 
Welcome to FDMB.

In quite a few cases, we find that vets are a bit over zealous when it comes to declaring that a cat's in remission. Often they suggest that if a cat is in what they consider good blood glucose numbers, that you just stop insulin regardless of the dose. We encourage tapering down the dose to a very small amount and making sure that numbers stay in normal range for 2 weeks before throw a party!

In addition to what Bron noted, a cat that is in remission is a diet controlled diabetic. If your cat wasn't eating a low carbohydrate diet after being in remission, there's a good chance that Milo's pancreas couldn't handle the carbs.
 
Welcome to FDMB.

In quite a few cases, we find that vets are a bit over zealous when it comes to declaring that a cat's in remission. Often they suggest that if a cat is in what they consider good blood glucose numbers, that you just stop insulin regardless of the dose. We encourage tapering down the dose to a very small amount and making sure that numbers stay in normal range for 2 weeks before throw a party!

In addition to what Bron noted, a cat that is in remission is a diet controlled diabetic. If your cat wasn't eating a low carbohydrate diet after being in remission, there's a good chance that Milo's pancreas couldn't handle the carbs.
So does that mean that a cat that has CKD will never fully be in remission?
 
CKD as an illness has nothing to do with it. The issue is that renal diets are high in carbohydrates. You need to find a food that is low in carbohydrates and low in phosphorus.

Fundamentally, once a diabetic, always a diabetic. However, a cat's pancreas can heal to the point that they are producing enough insulin to keep their blood glucose levels in a normal range. There are reasons why a cat can fall out of remission though. Any infection or inflammation is a source of stress and can cause a relapse. Your cat has a medical issue that requires steroid treatment and steroids can cause a rise in blood glucose. A great deal of stress may also cause numbers to rise.
 
Hi and welcome Marina and Milo to the forum.
Yes it is possible for this to happen.
Two of the things that can throw cats out of remission are a UTI or issues with their teeth.
Are you feeding him a low carb diet only?
How much insulin was he on when he went into remission?
Have you been hometesting his BGs?
What is the BG now?
Hi and welcome Marina and Milo to the forum.
Yes it is possible for this to happen.
Two of the things that can throw cats out of remission are a UTI or issues with their teeth.
Are you feeding him a low carb diet only?
How much insulin was he on when he went into remission?
Have you been hometesting his BGs?
What is the BG now?
Hi,
Yes, he is low carb food Fancy Fest chicken pate, boiled chicken, raw egg. He was in Lantus sliding doses 1.25, 1.5, & 1.75 depending in his nadir, most time 1.25. He doesn’t have UTI and he acting normal. The only thing that I noticed, he BG jump after he hunt and ate his prey at least in three occasions.
I’m home testing, his BG today

Hi and welcome Marina and Milo to the forum.
Yes it is possible for this to happen.
Two of the things that can throw cats out of remission are a UTI or issues with their teeth.
Are you feeding him a low carb diet only?
How much insulin was he on when he went into remission?
Have you been hometesting his BGs?
What is the BG now?
 
Hi,
Yes, he is low carb food Fancy Fest chicken pate, boiled chicken, and raw egg. He was in Lantus sliding doses 1.25, 1.5, & 1.75 depending in his nadir, most time 1.25. He doesn’t have UTI and he acting normal. The only thing that I noticed, he BG jump after he hunt and ate his prey at least in three occasions.
He was without insulin for 10 days then his BG jump to 299, I gave him insulin again and he was without insulin for another 12 days until 1/1/25
I’m home testing, his BG the last couple of
12/30– no insulin day 11
6am 154
10am 76
6pm 130
12/31–no insulin day 12
8:45am 154
5:30pm 170
1/1/25
1:30 am 239 0.5U insulin
7:30am 84
4:40pm 110
8:30pm 189 0.5U
1/2
5am 198 1U
8:15 am 101
6pm 368 1.5U
9pm 64
1/3
4:30am 101
5:30am 123
9:30 am 125
11:30 am 117
12:30pm he hunted and ate a rat
2:10pm 164 1.5U
4:15pm 107

thanks,
Marina &Milo
 
Marina -

It would be far more helpful is you could put your test data on one of our spreadsheets as well as set up your signature. The spreadsheet is a very visual way for you to see Milo's progress and we can follow along. The signature has some basic information so we don't keep asking you the same questions over and over again. The information you'll need is in this link on helping us to help you.
 
I can see the SS now. :)
I would not use the sliding scale. Lantus works better if the same dose is given consistently, as the depot needs to stabilise.
I can see he is also bouncing up to higher BGs from the green BGs which is a normal thing to do in newly diagnosed cats. This does not mean you increase the dose.
Looking at the SS I can see the 0.5 unit dose got Milo down to 84. Lantus dosing is based on how low the dose is taking Milo, not the Preshot BG. I would try 0.25 unit both am and pm shots and see if you can shoot both cycles providing the Preshot BG is not below 200
 
Hi,
Thank you for replied. Unfortunately, the +12 hours cycle didn’t work for Milo. If you see the tab 2024, on spreadsheet. I was almost 2 months With very high BG. Every cat it is different Milo is one of them. Then on November 2, I switch treatment for a cycle of +10 hour to overlap and a sliding doses with Lantus. I saw changes right the way after a month Milo was out of insulin for 10 days then 12 days. Now, he is bouncing back and I was hoping someone had experience similar situation. I will try lower loses and see.

thanks
Marina and Milo
 
Last edited:
Hi,
Thank you for replied. Unfortunately, the +12 hours cycle didn’t work for Milo. If you see the tab 2024, on spreadsheet. I was almost 2 months With very high BG. Every cat it is different Milo is one of them. Then on November 2, I switch treatment for a cycle of +10 hour to overlap and a sliding doses with Lantus. I saw changes right the way after a month Milo was out of insulin for 10 days then 12 days. Now, he is bouncing back and I was hoping someone had experience similar situation. I will try lower loses and see.

thanks
Marina and Milo
I found the 2024 SS hard to follow.
We do not advise doing 10 hour cycles with Lantus.
With the BGs you are getting at the moment you need to be sticking with 12 hour cycles and trying to find a tiny dose that you can shoot both cycles. It will be a matter of testing and waiting to see how he goes with the tiny dose and adjusting according to the BGs.
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top