kryskat
Very Active Member
Hi - my 18 yr old kitty, Kasha, was diagnosed approx 4 weeks ago. I was giving 2 units Lantus twice daily. I've gradually lowered dosage as she's had some pretty low numbers in between shots (using my one touch mini glucometer). Last night she hit an all-time low of 41 at 2 hours after a dose of 1 unit Lantus (her pre-shot was 208). She stayed low for a few hours even after I gave her some low-carb snacks (and then I went to sleep). Her AMPS was in the 400s - so I was guessing rebound maybe? I only gave her 1/2 unit this morning because of her low numbers last night. Her PMPS tonight was 266 and I gave about .75 units Lantus. I feel like I'm doing a constant science experiment and I'd like some advice on what I should be doing to even out her numbers and hopefully stabilize her and maybe get her into remission - the ultimate goal, of course. I added her numbers to the template, but it's a little wonky since on some days she's been so low I wasn't comfortable giving insulin so I waited several hours (up to 5 or 6) and gave insulin when her numbers were higher. Then I had to adjust by giving late doses for the next few shots to get back to my work schedule.