New to forum, cat plateau, continually high numbers

Mady & Egon

Member Since 2025
Hi I am new to this forum. My cat has been back in high BG numbers since January. We had a dip in BG while using the CGM but our vet just had us keep increasing since his numbers bounced back up and he’s been high ever since then. How do we get his numbers to go back down? Keep increasing? Possible somogyi effect?
Thank you!
 
Last edited:
Hi and welcome to the forum Mady and Egon
Looking at his history, he was diagnosed in 2022 then went into remission. Then fell out of remission on 7 January this year. Is that correct?
And you are using an alphatrak 3 meter and doing SLGS.
Early on he was getting some good BGs. Not sure what happened then.
Couple of questions.
Are you testing the BG and feeding a meal before all shots then giving snacks during the cycles?
A snack is a teaspoon or two of low carb food.
Can you get daily tests done? You will be able to capture much more information with daily testing.
If you are not testing every day you can’t see if Egon is dropping in between those weekly tests?
 
@Bron and Sheba (GA) Yes that's correct on the diagnosis. And yes and yes.
I am not testing before each feeding now, but I will try my best to do that from here on. I was giving freeze dried chicken as a treat. Today I am going to try getting a curve without the treats.

@Sienne and Gabby (GA) Yes I did!

@Tim & Pookey There is scarce data for the week we had the CGM. I was concerned about hypoglycemia during that week but our vet wasn't. So I did sporadic testing during that week but our vet told us not to change anything. And our vet was having us just test weekly, but I will try to test more often now

@Kobe (Dean and Lesley) MO We think the ear infection and antibiotics (and vestibular) sent him out of remission. He had that July 2024. We weren't reminded to check his BG at that time. I had the idea of checking a few months later when the vestibular wasn't going away and he started having plantigrade walking.
Egon also had a bout of sneezing 2/18/25 for about three days but it went away. The vet told us we didn't need to do anything unless it got worse. That's the only sickness he's had. We just did bloodwork last week that looked totally normal except for the glucose values.
 
Last edited:
After the curve yesterday, I don’t think this is somogyi and I don’t think I should follow the vets advice of going back to 1 unit. What do you think?
 
After the curve yesterday, I don’t think this is somogyi and I don’t think I should follow the vets advice of going back to 1 unit. What do you think?
@Bron and Sheba (GA)
@tiffmaxee
@Sienne and Gabby (GA)
@Bandit's Mom
@Angela & Cleo
@Christie & Maverick
@Suzanne & Darcy


Hi ladies can you tell me if this is the correct information for when using the Alpha Trak since that's what Mady is using following SLGS

With SLGS you need to reduce the dose if the BG drops under 90 with whatever meter you are using.
I know the test strips are expensive for the AlphaTrak. I don't want to give her the wrong information
Most of us use human meters

Also if you look at her Spreadsheet she really isn't following SLGS . She is changing the amount of insulin she is giving too often, looks like she is going by the pre shots , and not by the nadir. Plus she is not adjusting the dose by 0.25 units at a time
Her vet is telling her to start over with 1 unit ?

As Tim asked in his reply which was
Hi! Are the dates messed up in your spreadsheet or did you purposely leave out some data? Just want to make sure people see that.

Mady responded

There is scarce data for the week we had the CGM. I was concerned about hypoglycemia during that week but our vet wasn't. So I did sporadic testing during that week but our vet told us not to change anything. And our vet was having us just test weekly, but I will try to test more often now

Any advice what dose she should stay with ?

Thanks Ladies
 
Last edited:
@Mady and Egon
Are you using the U-100 syringes with the half unit markings for Lantus?

Using syringes with a pen, cartridge, or vial:
  • U-100 3/10cc syringes with half unit markings are the best to use for drawing Lantus, Levemir, or the Biosimilars from vials, cartridges, and pens.
  • BD Ultra-Fine, CarePoint Vet, Monoject, GNP, UltiCare Vet Rx, Sure Comfort, and ReliOn are just some of the brands available with half unit markings.
  • Syringes come in 5/64 inch (6mm), ½ inch (8mm) or 5/16 inch (12.7mm) needle lengths. Needle gauges are 29, 30 or 31 (31 being the thinnest)
You can order the U-100 syringes with half unit markings from Amazon without a doctors script
https://www.amazon.com/UltiCare-31-Gauge-Veterinary-Insulin-Syringes/dp/B009LTE0DO


We increase or decrease by 0.25 units at a time .
These syringes make it easier to do
 
  • Full and half-unit syringe scales:
49823063143_3437e9e997_o.jpg
 
@Diane Tyler's Mom GA - They syringes CVS gave me are U-100 with full unit marks, not half. I eyeball the halves. I will buy these other ones you suggested now. I dont use amazon but they are also on chewy and my vet is usually fast about approving rx.
 
Last edited:
I just bought the relion meter (should be here tomorrow) and I’ll try to keep testing more. I was looking at some other people’s spreadsheets. Wow people test every day forever??
 
I just bought the relion meter (should be here tomorrow) and I’ll try to keep testing more. I was looking at some other people’s spreadsheets. Wow people test every day forever??
@Mady and Egon
Yes our members test everyday
If a cat should go into remission then they would do the following
Look at this thread
https://felinediabetes.com/FDMB/thr...4-6-81-otj-trial-tonight.299612/#post-3259076

Do you plan on switching to the Relion for good?
If so some thing need to be changed on your spreadsheet and signature. Let me know and I will contact one of our moderators to contact you and do it for you
 
Last edited:
Ok, I understand now. So then yes, I will do the relion moving forward as soon as I get it. I'll keep the alphatrak for the curves for the vet. Thank you so much for your help!!!! I am reading the FAQ pages but I'm not sure I'm retaining all of the information I should.... Its a lot of info and acronyms!
 
Ok, I understand now. So then yes, I will do the relion moving forward as soon as I get it. I'll keep the alphatrak for the curves for the vet. Thank you so much for your help!!!! I am reading the FAQ pages but I'm not sure I'm retaining all of the information I should.... Its a lot of info and acronyms!
Please send me a private message so I can modify the SS and change the formatting from the AT to a human meter. I will need some info from you to do it.

just click on my user name under Gracies’s photo and then “start a conversation”. Thank you!
 
In parallel to Marje fixing your SS to capture the changes for using Human meter from Pet meter going forward, it would be good if you can try and stay on a dose consistently for several cycles, since the dose hopping can cause some disturbances and ability for the depot to build. I don’t think a doing a rebound check and going down to 1u will be helpful, although it is difficult to see how dose increases occurred from January until more recently.

I think I would be inclined to stick with 4.5u consistently for the next several days, and continue to test preshots and get those random tests in at least once in each cycle. Let’s see after a few days on the same dose what’s going on. You are getting some nadirs in the yellows with pet meter, but I’d like to see how Egon does on the same dose, over the course of the next several days after allowing the depot to build.

Any other cats in the house who are fed different food not low carb? And if yes, any chance Egon is getting into it?
 
Ok great.

@Marje and Gracie our vet was having us do a BG curve once a week and since they were always high we had a half dose increase following that. We got wayyyy off track with the CGM. It totally messed us up. I wish we had never done it. That’s where the really low number and more quickly changing doses came from.

Egon’s is currently being fed at 8am and 7pm and getting his dose right with the meal. But I see I should be aiming for 12/12hr dosing. Can I feed him and dose him an hour after eating? Or do I need to move his dinner to 8pm?

YES I have another cat that gets kibble (it’s low carb but still not no carb). I have an autotrap door feeder that’s only supposed to let Simon eat, but I caught Egon rushing and getting some bites two weeks ago!!! I think this may be a big reason why his numbers were not coming down. Since making it harder for him to get to the feeder his numbers have been better.
 
Egon’s is currently being fed at 8am and 7pm and getting his dose right with the meal. But I see I should be aiming for 12/12hr dosing. Can I feed him and dose him an hour after eating? Or do I need to move his dinner to 8pm?
You don’t want to feed within two hours of shooting so it’s best to test, feed, shoot within about 15 minutes. It would be best to either move his dosing/feeding to 7/7 or 8/8 or exes 7:30/7:30 whatever works best for you.

It’s also best to feed mini meals, if you can. You would take the portion he normally eats and divide it into four portions fed at preshot, +1, +2, and +3. That’s the best way to feed a diabetic cat. Obviously, if the BG goes lower during the cycle, you’ll need to feed extra food to keep it from dropping too low.
 
Mady Private messaged me so I am moving it here

Confused on how this forum works
Mark as UnreadStar ConversationLeave Conversation

  1. Mady and Egon
    Hi Diane, I’m a little confused on how this forum works. How often should I be posting? What information should I be looking for? Should I rely on my vet telling me to increase and decrease insulin? I was hoping to get backup because I’m not always sure my vet’s advice is best.
@Christie & Maverick
@Sienne and Gabby (GA)
@Bandit's Mom
@Marje and Gracie[/USER
@Angela & Cleo

[USER=110]@squeem3



Mady you need to be getting some tests in after the PMPS test :cat:[/USER]
 
Last edited:
Mady, you could start posting daily on the Lantus forum if you want. Folks will do that once they’re done on the main forum here. Posting helps everyone get to know you and your cat, ask as many questions as you want!
 
Back
Top