kt cat
Member Since 2017
Hello! I am new to the forum, but our cat (my husband adopted him before we met) was diagnosed around 3 years ago. At the time we switched Bhut (pronounced BOOT) from dry only to free fed dry and wet food meals with his insulin. We took him to the vet for his curves and we didn't really change anything.
Last year, we came home from our wedding night to find him in a hypoglycemic coma and rushed him to the E-Vet. His BG was like 20. Luckily he was revived quickly and he got to stay at the E-Vet for a week, while we went on our honeymoon (his "vacation" cost about as much as ours!)
We started him on a lower dose and he went into our vet for a couple curves and they suggested we start doing the curves at home. It has taken a while for us all to get used to it, but the last time we tested went pretty well. I think it's best when the hubby isn't around! We use the Alpha Trac 2, it's what the vet recommended.
The past couple months we've been trying to get him stabilized on between 1-2 units. His BG seems to be all over the place. We've had some issues- our "merged Brady-bunch" cat family hasn't been getting along and Bhut has had 2 abscesses in his tail in a 5 month period. Now the cats are separated and "my cats" are downstairs and "his cats" are upstairs.
The vet suggested we stop feeding the dry food. I've always seen it as a problem since everyone is free fed and how do you make sure everyone gets enough food? Now that they are separated, we are going to give it a shot. Bhut's "brother from another mother" has a history of urinary crystals, so he really should be on all wet food too. (I know it's best for all cats- the other 2 cats eat mostly wet, and the dry is like a back-up snack. I am going to look into a low carb dry food that I can have for everyone??)
So that's it. I see that people enter their numbers on a spreadsheet. Where is that on the forum? Do I need to know his weight? I could enter his curves for the past few months- we do not test him daily at this point.
Nice to meet everyone! I'll be around in the forums, reading stuff.
Katie
Last year, we came home from our wedding night to find him in a hypoglycemic coma and rushed him to the E-Vet. His BG was like 20. Luckily he was revived quickly and he got to stay at the E-Vet for a week, while we went on our honeymoon (his "vacation" cost about as much as ours!)
We started him on a lower dose and he went into our vet for a couple curves and they suggested we start doing the curves at home. It has taken a while for us all to get used to it, but the last time we tested went pretty well. I think it's best when the hubby isn't around! We use the Alpha Trac 2, it's what the vet recommended.
The past couple months we've been trying to get him stabilized on between 1-2 units. His BG seems to be all over the place. We've had some issues- our "merged Brady-bunch" cat family hasn't been getting along and Bhut has had 2 abscesses in his tail in a 5 month period. Now the cats are separated and "my cats" are downstairs and "his cats" are upstairs.
The vet suggested we stop feeding the dry food. I've always seen it as a problem since everyone is free fed and how do you make sure everyone gets enough food? Now that they are separated, we are going to give it a shot. Bhut's "brother from another mother" has a history of urinary crystals, so he really should be on all wet food too. (I know it's best for all cats- the other 2 cats eat mostly wet, and the dry is like a back-up snack. I am going to look into a low carb dry food that I can have for everyone??)
So that's it. I see that people enter their numbers on a spreadsheet. Where is that on the forum? Do I need to know his weight? I could enter his curves for the past few months- we do not test him daily at this point.
Nice to meet everyone! I'll be around in the forums, reading stuff.
Katie
