New to forum and cat diabetes

Status
Not open for further replies.

Melcatbling

Member Since 2021
Hi my name is Mel from Australia my cat Bling is a 13 year old Abyssinian

she is currently on 8ul glargine
We are using the Libra freestyle but want to start doing our own BG readings - we have tried to get blood without success but I have read a few posts so will give it another go.

Her levels using the libra seem to be all over the place today have ranged from a low of 3.4 mmol to a high of 14.6 - think that’s 60-270 other days it’s been up around 25.9

hoping for some tips on feeding being an aby she eats anything ! And managing dose rates I got a bit scared today as her BG dropped down to 3.4

anyways thanks for reading :)
 
Welcome. Waving from Canada.

3.4 is a safe number but yu don't want the number to fall much lower than that.
just in case:
8 units is a large dose. I'm tagging some members who are familiar with high dose conditions. how long did it take to get up to 8u? sometimes vets increase to quilky and go right past the ideal dose.
@Wendy&Neko
@FrostD

The all over the place numbers are likely the results of bouncing. A bounce is ""Bouncing - Bouncing is simply a natural reaction to what the cat's system perceives as a BG value that is "too low". "Too low" is relative. If a cat is used to BGs in the 200's, 300's, or higher for a long time, then even a BG that drops to 150 can trigger a "bounce". Bouncing can also be triggered if the blood glucose drops too low and/or too fast.The pancreas, then the liver, release glucogon, glycogen and counter-regulatory hormones. The end result is a dumping of "sugar" into the bloodstream to save the cat from going hypoglycemic from a perceived low. The action is often referred to as "liver panic" or "panicky liver". *Usually*, a bounce will clear kitty's system within 3 days (6 cycles)."

below is a link to low carb foods available to you. put together by an experienced member in sydney. a word of caution - any diet change needs to b done gradually. jut changing can make a difference of 100 (US numbers).
@Bron and Sheba (GA)
sorry about the spellling and lack of caps. only have use if 1 hand at the moment.
 
Hi Mel and Bling and welcome to the forum. What a beautiful girl she is!
I can’t see your spreadsheet either.
I’m very glad you are going to home test the blood glucose.
I’ll tag @Bandit's Mom to see if she can help you with the spreadsheet

Can you tell us a bit about Bling please?
  • when was she diagnosed?
  • How did you reach 8 units of glargine? That is a lot of insulin.
  • Are you using a pen or a syringe to give the insulin?
  • Are you giving the insulin twice a day?
  • What type of food are you feeding her?
  • How often are you feeding her?
Bron
 
That’s for the responses guys….

There is nothing on the spreadsheet yet.. but I will work on the sharing and also populate it with some figures….

she was on Caninsulin at first…. But we were not getting any control so swapped to the glargine……. It has been upped slowly to the .08…. We are going to give her less tonight. We are using a syringe but I am thinking of swapping to a pen…. She is getting Royal Canin weight control but I have only just started her on that. It probably been 8 months…. We are now seeing a different vet but at the same clinic so are trying different things
 
That’s for the responses guys….

There is nothing on the spreadsheet yet.. but I will work on the sharing and also populate it with some figures….

she was on Caninsulin at first…. But we were not getting any control so swapped to the glargine……. It has been upped slowly to the .08…. We are going to give her less tonight. We are using a syringe but I am thinking of swapping to a pen…. She is getting Royal Canin weight control but I have only just started her on that. It probably been 8 months…. We are now seeing a different vet but at the same clinic do are trying different things
Caninsulin is not a good insulin for cats. I’m glad you swapped.
You mention the insulin was upped slowly to .08 did you mean to write that?
Are you giving 8 units or 0.08 units?

We are using a syringe but I am thinking of swapping to a pen…
A syringe is much better than a pen to use as you can increase the dose in smaller amounts. A pen can only go up in 1 unit increments which is less than ideal and you lose insulin every time you have to prime the pen. A lot of vets increase in 1 unit increments. We recommend increasing in 1/4 unit increments.

She is getting Royal Canin weight control but I have only just started her on that.
Are you feeding wet or dry?
Do you know how many carbs are in the food? Oh I see Wendy has just said it is 23% carbs…yikes!
 
Hello from Canada. My girl also started on Caninsulin, and didn't do very well on it, so we switched to Lantus/glargine. She got up to 8.75 units, but had a couple secondary endocrine conditions that made her insulin resistant and need a higher dose.

The Royal Canin weight control is probably too high in carbs for a diabetic cat. It's 23% carbs and diabetics should be on food less than 10% carbs. If she needs to lose weight, a regular low carb wet or raw food will do. Weight control doesn't actually work. But don't change the food until you have a handle on the testing, as food changes can mean a reduction in insulin needed.
 
It’s .08 ml which I think is 8 units sorry for the confusion..

It’s the RC dry she is having she was having RCKitten as I had kittens so I thought the diet would be a good option. But I think I’ll switch to a wet food thanks for the link to the food that’s given some good options

thanks so much for your responses
 
It’s the RC dry she is having she was having RCKitten as I had kittens so I thought the diet would be a good option. But I think I’ll switch to a wet food thanks for the link to the food that’s given some good options
RC dry is probably 30-40% carbs and 8U is a HUGE dose. Is that 4U twice a day or 8U twice a day?

We have had cats that have gone off insulin with just a change from high carb kibble to a low carb canned diet, but it can be a really hairy ride for the caregiver. Please do not switch food cold turkey. The high carb dry food is probably offsetting the huge dose of insulin and keeping her safe. You want to make the food change very very gradually while closely monitoring her BG to see how it reacts to the removal of carbs.
 
I agree with everything @Bandit's Mom has said. Do not change foods until you are home testing and we are helping you. To do otherwise would be risking a hypo.
Can you tell me what type of syringe you are using please?
Is it an insulin syringe? Can you could take a photo of it and copy and paste it here… that would be really helpful.
 
I agree with everything @Bandit's Mom has said. Do not change foods until you are home testing and we are helping you. To do otherwise would be risking a hypo.
Can you tell me what type of syringe you are using please?
Is it an insulin syringe? Can you could take a photo of it and copy and paste it here… that would be really helpful.

BD Ultrafine insulin syringe .3 ml - sorry I haven’t figured out how to add a photo yet!
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top