MsKarilynn
Member
Hi Everyone!
A few individuals at the site here have recommended I stop by and ask advice on this end of the forum.
My story in a nutshell: I have a 12 y/o cat named Brody who was diagnosed around 2 and a half weeks ago. (Wed. March 31st) Noticed he was urinating, well, everywhere. Eating a lot more, drinking a lot more, losing weight, etc. Seemed like typical signs of diabetes. Took him to the vet, blood panel was done and urine test, sure enough, BG was 485 and he was diagnosed officially. My vet clinic isn't necessarily the greatest, but they gave me a decent amount of information and taught me how to shoot his insulin. He was on 1 unit twice daily of ProZinc for a week, went in for a follow up and his BG was higher than the week before. I was told to shoot 2 units twice daily. I did this for 3 days. During these 3 days I learned how to home test (I have been using his paw) and am getting decent at it. Last Sunday I randomly tested him 7 hours after shooting and his BG was at 41. He didn't seem to be acting hypo, was eating, running around, etc. From what I was told, this was his nadir and it was too low. I have been giving him 1 and a half units (without my vets permission, but I feel kind of own my own here) I am honestly afraid to be giving him 2 after his 41. I didn't test again right after, I should have, I know, as this could have been a bogus number. I always test before shooting, but I am starting to figure out the nature of this insulin is that he goes lower and lower until he hits his nadir 7-8 hours in and starts to climb again, so every single time I test before shooting, he is high again, usually anywhere from 400-500.
Here is the complicated part... I work Monday-Friday and am gone from home between 2 pm and 11:30 pm. I work second-shift and I commute a half hour, so coming home mid shift isn't an option. I am also single and live alone, so there is no one else here to test him. I am hoping someone can tell me that this is okay, because if I have no job, I have no way to take care of this cat and that's just not an option. He's my baby. I have been shooting his insulin at 12 am and 12 pm, works best with my schedule. Today I tested him around 5 pm and 7 pm. He was at 202 the first time and 208 the second. So, no where near that scary 41. I am doing a curve with him tomorrow. A girl from the site here is actually coming over and helping me out with creating a chart. I've noticed, though, when looking at charts, that people test up to 5-6 times a day, every single day. This isn't possible for me. I can test him before I shoot and all day on the weekends and that's it.
I guess I have a few questions about ProZinc. My first question being, how long does it usually take to regulate a cat using this insulin? I read someone say it takes 45 days for the insulin to start being effective? Is this true? I haven't seen any improvement. His behavior has changed quite a bit from changing his diet to low carb wet food. His coat looks better, he has gained 2 pounds, he's running around here again. He still does urinate outside of the litterbox. The other night I watched him go in my closet and then an hour later he went on the mat in front of the litterbox. I am being very patient with him and just cleaning up after him. It's just his numbers that aren't budging. How does this work? If 2 units was too much, how was he still around 450 when testing him every 12 and 12? I realize this is a somewhat slow releasing insulin? I am just wondering if it just takes time to get him down? Going into this I knew absolutely nothing about diabetes, so please forgive me for being somewhat clueless on the topic. I am honestly trying my best here.
I appreciate everyone on the site and all the advice I have been given! Tomorrow I will post his numbers from his curve.
Thanks everyone!
A few individuals at the site here have recommended I stop by and ask advice on this end of the forum.
My story in a nutshell: I have a 12 y/o cat named Brody who was diagnosed around 2 and a half weeks ago. (Wed. March 31st) Noticed he was urinating, well, everywhere. Eating a lot more, drinking a lot more, losing weight, etc. Seemed like typical signs of diabetes. Took him to the vet, blood panel was done and urine test, sure enough, BG was 485 and he was diagnosed officially. My vet clinic isn't necessarily the greatest, but they gave me a decent amount of information and taught me how to shoot his insulin. He was on 1 unit twice daily of ProZinc for a week, went in for a follow up and his BG was higher than the week before. I was told to shoot 2 units twice daily. I did this for 3 days. During these 3 days I learned how to home test (I have been using his paw) and am getting decent at it. Last Sunday I randomly tested him 7 hours after shooting and his BG was at 41. He didn't seem to be acting hypo, was eating, running around, etc. From what I was told, this was his nadir and it was too low. I have been giving him 1 and a half units (without my vets permission, but I feel kind of own my own here) I am honestly afraid to be giving him 2 after his 41. I didn't test again right after, I should have, I know, as this could have been a bogus number. I always test before shooting, but I am starting to figure out the nature of this insulin is that he goes lower and lower until he hits his nadir 7-8 hours in and starts to climb again, so every single time I test before shooting, he is high again, usually anywhere from 400-500.
Here is the complicated part... I work Monday-Friday and am gone from home between 2 pm and 11:30 pm. I work second-shift and I commute a half hour, so coming home mid shift isn't an option. I am also single and live alone, so there is no one else here to test him. I am hoping someone can tell me that this is okay, because if I have no job, I have no way to take care of this cat and that's just not an option. He's my baby. I have been shooting his insulin at 12 am and 12 pm, works best with my schedule. Today I tested him around 5 pm and 7 pm. He was at 202 the first time and 208 the second. So, no where near that scary 41. I am doing a curve with him tomorrow. A girl from the site here is actually coming over and helping me out with creating a chart. I've noticed, though, when looking at charts, that people test up to 5-6 times a day, every single day. This isn't possible for me. I can test him before I shoot and all day on the weekends and that's it.
I guess I have a few questions about ProZinc. My first question being, how long does it usually take to regulate a cat using this insulin? I read someone say it takes 45 days for the insulin to start being effective? Is this true? I haven't seen any improvement. His behavior has changed quite a bit from changing his diet to low carb wet food. His coat looks better, he has gained 2 pounds, he's running around here again. He still does urinate outside of the litterbox. The other night I watched him go in my closet and then an hour later he went on the mat in front of the litterbox. I am being very patient with him and just cleaning up after him. It's just his numbers that aren't budging. How does this work? If 2 units was too much, how was he still around 450 when testing him every 12 and 12? I realize this is a somewhat slow releasing insulin? I am just wondering if it just takes time to get him down? Going into this I knew absolutely nothing about diabetes, so please forgive me for being somewhat clueless on the topic. I am honestly trying my best here.
I appreciate everyone on the site and all the advice I have been given! Tomorrow I will post his numbers from his curve.
Thanks everyone!