Amanda & Jake
Member Since 2013
Hello.
My name is Amanda and I recently found out my cat, Jake, is diabetic. I believe this was caused by the prednisalone he is currently taking for hypercalcemia.
His numbers are relatively low, 147 at +9. I gave him his first dose this morning when his BG level was 209.
I recently switched him from a half canned/half kibble diet to decrease the amount of carbs he is consuming.
My vet is not a fan of home testing or adjusting dosages according to his numbers. She has prescribed 1.0 unit 2x day. Dr. Lisa Pierson suggested I join
this board in order to in order to gather information and ask questions as I proceed with Jake's treatment.
My first question...and I'm not sure I'm posting in the right place, is his pm dosage tonight. My vet told me if his BG was <100 to skip the dose but she
told me nothing other than that. Dr. P. feels his numbers are low enough to possibly reduce him to .75 or .5. I'm fine with that but my syringes are so
tiny and 1.0 barely registers so how do I properly reduce to a smaller number? How and where can I post Jake's chart?
I'm sure I will be asking many more questions. I'm currently in freak out mode but knowledge is power so here I am.
Many thanks :smile:
My name is Amanda and I recently found out my cat, Jake, is diabetic. I believe this was caused by the prednisalone he is currently taking for hypercalcemia.
His numbers are relatively low, 147 at +9. I gave him his first dose this morning when his BG level was 209.
I recently switched him from a half canned/half kibble diet to decrease the amount of carbs he is consuming.
My vet is not a fan of home testing or adjusting dosages according to his numbers. She has prescribed 1.0 unit 2x day. Dr. Lisa Pierson suggested I join
this board in order to in order to gather information and ask questions as I proceed with Jake's treatment.
My first question...and I'm not sure I'm posting in the right place, is his pm dosage tonight. My vet told me if his BG was <100 to skip the dose but she
told me nothing other than that. Dr. P. feels his numbers are low enough to possibly reduce him to .75 or .5. I'm fine with that but my syringes are so
tiny and 1.0 barely registers so how do I properly reduce to a smaller number? How and where can I post Jake's chart?
I'm sure I will be asking many more questions. I'm currently in freak out mode but knowledge is power so here I am.
Many thanks :smile: