wombat88
Active Member
My 13 year old doll-faced Persian that I brought back to the US from overseas (rescue kitty) developed severe pancreatitis in mid-May. Since then it has been a difficult task to stay ahead of what isn't working on a particular day. Her latest problem is diabetes, added to her other two diagnoses of pancreatitis and IBD. Initially she was in bad shape with diarrhea and a lot of pain. We put her on prednisolone, buprenorphine, and vitamin b-12 shots. We also changed her diet to a grain-free food (Hills d/d). Her pain improved sufficiently on the prednisolone that eventually I was able to get her off the pain meds. Unfortunately, as we tried to taper her down off the pred initially she got worse, so we had to go back to a higher dose. After about another 7-10 days I was able to start tapering her off the pred, and initially she did okay. Then I noticed her drinking more water than usual and urinating frequently, so I took her in for a checkup and her BG was elevated sufficiently that my vet decided she had developed diabetes. He put her on Vetsulin at 0.2 once daily dose to start. Unfortunately, her BG was still too high so we split the dose into twice per day. That was a bit better, but readings seemed to just get higher, so we doubled the dose to 0.4 total per day, split into two doses.
On the last visit before the holiday weekend her BG was 347, so my vet wanted me to do a BG curve. He also sent me home with a borrowed AlphaTrak meter to use. I've had a hard time getting blood from her ears, but it is getting better. I've had more luck towards the base of the ear than at the tips, though. I don't have lancets yet, but have ordered some. They just told me to use clean needles (I've got another cat with renal failure, so we do a lot of subQ therapy around here). I have seen bruising though because I think the needles are too big so I've sacrificed a few insulin syringes to get blood instead but still need to perfect my technique. I hope this gets easier with time. Poor Shaikha has been really good in spite of her mom's inexpert technique.
I know that one thing I need to do is to be more regular with feedings. It still takes me a long time to get a blood droplet and get food ready for all three cats (one cat is healthy, but the CRF cat also requires a lot of care as he also has anemia, pancreatitis, IBD, and liver disease). I'm working on it, but sometimes I find I missed the target time by an hour and by then her BG is really high.
One additional wrinkle is that once we stopped the pred her pain levels increased again and she really wasn't doing well. I've managed to get pain controlled with buprenorphine again, but my vet was concerned enough about her condition that he consulted with TAMU's GI lab. They spent a long time with him reviewing test results and history, and recommended that we give her antibiotics because the pancreatitis may be the necrotic type. She is just finishing off the series of clavamox plus flagyl twice per day (tomorrow will likely finish off the clavamox, but my vet wanted her to continue flagyl twice per day until we see him after the holiday weekend). TAMU also recommended that we put her on leukeran since they did not recommend steroids (to include budesonide) since her diabetes isn't regulated. She's had two doses to far of leukeran and the only side effect has been a slight decrease in appetite. I've had to give her some snacks since she is eating less at meals (usually given when I see a lower BG reading about 3-4 hours post-shot). I also switched her to anzemet for nausea instead of ondansetron, and I think that helped as tonight a few hours after her shot she wolfed down food instead of picking at it. I know I need to ensure she is on a regular feeding and insulin schedule, and keeping her appetite up is necessary. I know how to assist feed though and if need be will do so with her too.
I don't have her readings from before July 1 as they were all done at the vet's office, but here is what I have. I need some help deciding what to do because her numbers are all over the place:
7/1: 347 at 4:30pm; AM meal was a 6:30am but I think I accidentally gave too little insulin at breakfast due to a switch from U40 to U100 syringes; insulin 0.1 at dinner
7/2: 0.1 dose insulin at 7:00 AM (no BG taken; couldn't get blood); 227 at 5:00pm, 0.1 insulin dose around 5:30pm (had to give dinner & shot early due to going out)
7/3: 481 at 7:24am, 0.1 dose, breakfast at 7:30am (I know, I overslept); 296 at 5:40pm followed by dinner, 0.2 dose (vet wanted it doubled plus BG curve done), snack at 10:30pm
7/4: 420 at 7:00am, breakfast at 7:30am, shot at 7:45am; reading at +5 = 93 (gave snack after), reading at +10 = 224; reading at 7:15pm = 366 followed by dinner; reading at +3 = 75 (gave another snack due to low reading although her behavior was fine); 0.2 insulin dose BID
I know I need to test more frequently and will try to do so tomorrow to fill in gaps so I can find out how low she is going on the new dose. I will also try to keep her on a stricter feeding and insulin schedule time-wise. Her high readings worry me though. Given how low she went about 3-5 hours into the cycle, I'm worried that doubling the dose was too much of a change at once. Then again, the high readings close to 11 and 12 hours worry me too.
Suggestions welcome. I want to ensure I fix this tomorrow but am not sure how much I need to test her and how best to adjust the schedule to make this work better. I did read all the documentation for newbies, but it is a lot to take in, especially the BG curve information and how to regulate. I'm a little overwhelmed right now. I've got two extremely sick cats at once. I think I've got my CRF cat more stabilized after his latest pancreatitis flareup (he's also on anzemet now, along with ursodiol and lots of other things to combat severe nausea), but I never dreamed that Shaikha would get sick at the same time. She's always been very well until now, though I do think she may have had IBD for a while before the pancreatitis showed up but I just didn't recognize the symptoms (in part because I thought the cat having the loose stools was my CRF cat so that delayed her getting treatment).
Sorry for the long intro! Any help much appreciated.
Wendy
On the last visit before the holiday weekend her BG was 347, so my vet wanted me to do a BG curve. He also sent me home with a borrowed AlphaTrak meter to use. I've had a hard time getting blood from her ears, but it is getting better. I've had more luck towards the base of the ear than at the tips, though. I don't have lancets yet, but have ordered some. They just told me to use clean needles (I've got another cat with renal failure, so we do a lot of subQ therapy around here). I have seen bruising though because I think the needles are too big so I've sacrificed a few insulin syringes to get blood instead but still need to perfect my technique. I hope this gets easier with time. Poor Shaikha has been really good in spite of her mom's inexpert technique.
I know that one thing I need to do is to be more regular with feedings. It still takes me a long time to get a blood droplet and get food ready for all three cats (one cat is healthy, but the CRF cat also requires a lot of care as he also has anemia, pancreatitis, IBD, and liver disease). I'm working on it, but sometimes I find I missed the target time by an hour and by then her BG is really high.
One additional wrinkle is that once we stopped the pred her pain levels increased again and she really wasn't doing well. I've managed to get pain controlled with buprenorphine again, but my vet was concerned enough about her condition that he consulted with TAMU's GI lab. They spent a long time with him reviewing test results and history, and recommended that we give her antibiotics because the pancreatitis may be the necrotic type. She is just finishing off the series of clavamox plus flagyl twice per day (tomorrow will likely finish off the clavamox, but my vet wanted her to continue flagyl twice per day until we see him after the holiday weekend). TAMU also recommended that we put her on leukeran since they did not recommend steroids (to include budesonide) since her diabetes isn't regulated. She's had two doses to far of leukeran and the only side effect has been a slight decrease in appetite. I've had to give her some snacks since she is eating less at meals (usually given when I see a lower BG reading about 3-4 hours post-shot). I also switched her to anzemet for nausea instead of ondansetron, and I think that helped as tonight a few hours after her shot she wolfed down food instead of picking at it. I know I need to ensure she is on a regular feeding and insulin schedule, and keeping her appetite up is necessary. I know how to assist feed though and if need be will do so with her too.
I don't have her readings from before July 1 as they were all done at the vet's office, but here is what I have. I need some help deciding what to do because her numbers are all over the place:
7/1: 347 at 4:30pm; AM meal was a 6:30am but I think I accidentally gave too little insulin at breakfast due to a switch from U40 to U100 syringes; insulin 0.1 at dinner
7/2: 0.1 dose insulin at 7:00 AM (no BG taken; couldn't get blood); 227 at 5:00pm, 0.1 insulin dose around 5:30pm (had to give dinner & shot early due to going out)
7/3: 481 at 7:24am, 0.1 dose, breakfast at 7:30am (I know, I overslept); 296 at 5:40pm followed by dinner, 0.2 dose (vet wanted it doubled plus BG curve done), snack at 10:30pm
7/4: 420 at 7:00am, breakfast at 7:30am, shot at 7:45am; reading at +5 = 93 (gave snack after), reading at +10 = 224; reading at 7:15pm = 366 followed by dinner; reading at +3 = 75 (gave another snack due to low reading although her behavior was fine); 0.2 insulin dose BID
I know I need to test more frequently and will try to do so tomorrow to fill in gaps so I can find out how low she is going on the new dose. I will also try to keep her on a stricter feeding and insulin schedule time-wise. Her high readings worry me though. Given how low she went about 3-5 hours into the cycle, I'm worried that doubling the dose was too much of a change at once. Then again, the high readings close to 11 and 12 hours worry me too.
Suggestions welcome. I want to ensure I fix this tomorrow but am not sure how much I need to test her and how best to adjust the schedule to make this work better. I did read all the documentation for newbies, but it is a lot to take in, especially the BG curve information and how to regulate. I'm a little overwhelmed right now. I've got two extremely sick cats at once. I think I've got my CRF cat more stabilized after his latest pancreatitis flareup (he's also on anzemet now, along with ursodiol and lots of other things to combat severe nausea), but I never dreamed that Shaikha would get sick at the same time. She's always been very well until now, though I do think she may have had IBD for a while before the pancreatitis showed up but I just didn't recognize the symptoms (in part because I thought the cat having the loose stools was my CRF cat so that delayed her getting treatment).
Sorry for the long intro! Any help much appreciated.
Wendy