New to Board but Longtime Lurker

Status
Not open for further replies.

deborahg

Member Since 2012
My husband and I have 12-year-old Andy-cat who was dx with diabetes in 7/2011. At that time, we were feeding him Blue Buffalo Spa Select dry food to graze 24/7 (which he did readily and frequently) and Wellness canned grain-free for regular meals. He was addicted to the Blue dry food and weighed 18 pounds when he was dx. Our vet put him on 2 units glargine 2 times per day and recommended a raw meat diet. I have to mention that we also had Jake, our 20-year-old cat, who had just been dx with CHF with pleural effusion so we were in triage mode. Additionally, Jake had been dx with CRF in 2008 so we had 1 diabetic cat who we were told to put on raw meat and a CRF cat that wouldn't do well on a higher phosphorus diet. I did try a raw diet for Andy and he didn't take to it well so I continued to feed him Wellness and we only put 1/4 cup of the Blue in the bowl. We took him to our vet for Fructosamine testing and bg curves regularly (so we thought). Our vet never told us to home test. Andy did well at first, but in January of this year, he started having symptoms of neuropathy in his hind legs. I questioned our vet and he told us that he wasn't as regulated because we weren't giving him raw meat. We were in crisis mode with Jake and finally in May, had him peacefully put to sleep. Later that week, I took Andy to another vet for a second opinion as his neuropathy continued to progress. This vet said that since he hadn't been regulating, he would check for pancreatitis. He also recommended bg home testing. This was just before Memorial weekend. Sure enough, his test was positive for pancreatitis. But it gets better! We took him to the ER that night where they kept him on fluids, antibiotics (clavamox) and pain meds. The vet on duty at the ER ran abdominal x-rays. She noticed a mass in his abdomen and recommended that we get an ultrasound. The ultrasound revealed a tumor that looked like it was either on the spleen or the pancreas. They took a needle sample which had benign pancreatic cells, so it was a pancreatic tumor. This was less than a week after saying goodbye to Jake! Even though the tumor sample was benign, she recommended exploratory surgery because sometimes, there can be a hidden malignancy. We did follow her recommendations. The surgeon prepared us for the worst and told us that if he found tumors throughout Andy's abdomen, he would recommend that we don't wake him from his anesthesia and let him go peacefully. During the exploratory, the surgeon removed a pancreatic tumor the size of Andy's kidney. Luckily, the tumor was encapsulated and the surgeon didn't see anything else. He also told us that because he was manipulating his pancreas, Andy could develop pancreatitis again. Andy recovered well. He was released after 2 days and we took him straight to a vet oncologist. She told us that pancreatic tumors in cats are extremely rare, but that said, she thinks we hit the lottery, because the margins look good and that it is a slow-growing type of cancer and it may never return. We did get the pathology results and it was a carcinoma, but it wasn't the insulin-producing type. I shudder at the thought of that type of tumor. I still cry, just thinking about how much Andy must have been suffering. It is truly amazing how much cats can conceal their symptoms. He had still been eating, socializing and having regular bodily functions. Our regular vet said that now we know why he was still unregulated. I went back to feeding him the Wellness canned and 1/4 cup of Blue dry.

Sure enough, at the end of June, he was back at the ER with another bout of pancreatitis and kept for 2 days. We took him home and gave him 125mg Clavamox for 7 days. I got rid of the Blue Buffalo and replaced the Wellness with FF classics. I have to say that he likes FF much better than Wellness. Is the FF salt content ok? Both of my cats would love some of the Wellness canned batches and turn their noses up at other batches, even though it was the same flavor. We were always looking for certain batch numbers.

Andy developed Clavamox-induced diarrhea. I worked with him over the past couple of weeks, using digestive enzymes and probiotics and finally got him to almost normal and then, last week, he developed a UTI (no crystals) so he was back on Clavamox and back to looser than soft-serve diarrhea and his appetite wasn't the greatest. Has anyone had much success with FortiFlora? We dropped him to 1 unit glargine for a few days because of his decrease in appetite.

We are taking him to the vet tomorrow to check his hydration as he still has very loose stool. Very frustrating. We did get a home-tester and began tonight -- 515 before his dinner. We fed him and gave him 2 units of glargine and tested him 30 minutes later and his bg was 535! I'm confused! We don't know how much damage the tumor (and pancreatitis) caused to his pancreas and the surgeon did have to remove a portion of the organ with the tumor. We may never be able to get him off of insulin, but I would like to see him better regulated.

This is what I have learned so far: Andy has had loose stool off and on since he was a kitten (not as loose as current). Throughout his history of regular check-ups, no vet had ever mentioned IBD. Now, from this board and from other sites, I find out that there is a link between IBD, pancreatitis and diabetes. Luckily, his other lab markers are normal, including liver markers. Next, I learned that If diabetes is unregulated, make sure that you get the feline specific pancreatic test. The vet that recommended it saved Andy's life. Additionally, I learned the importance of home bg testing. I am still confused about the best food, for IBD, pancreatitis, diabetes and hx of cancer. Ugh! I understand that ultimately, the best food is what they will eat.

I do feel better, now that we are home testing. I was experiencing an entree of fear and a side of hope, but now these emotions have switched places.

I still have so much to learn and am so happy that this board exists.
 
Well, you and Andy have really had a trial and it sounds like you are both coming out on the other side! What a miracle kitty!

I don't use your insulin, but if you haven't, I do suggest you read the info on the Lantus forum (same as Glargine) about dosing and how to care for the insulin etc. It's the starred topics on the top of this page:
http://www.felinediabetes.com/FDMB/viewforum.php?f=9

Lots of members here deal with pancreatitis and diabetes. They will be along with their stories. Here are some links that might interest you:

Pancreatitis Diet
Good information on Pancreatitis: http://www.marvistavet.com/html/body_pa ... line_.html

Good vet article on pancreatitis: http://www.idexx.com/pubwebresources/pd ... itions.pdf

And yes, lots of people use FortiFlora, as a probiotic and an appetite stimulant
 
Wow. You have been thru so much.

Hello and Welcome.
I don't have any advice just wanted to tell you I'm glad you've surfaced and shared your story.

I hope you are able to do even better for Andy because of the home testing.
 
Welcome to the Board! Andy has been through a lot and is so resilient! I am so sorry to hear about Jake. You obviously are both great fur-parents.

A lot of us feed the FF classics, desired is under 10% but many keep under 5%. My cat Sneakers loves to have parmesan cheese sprinkled on her FF before she will eat it (unless it is fresh from the can). I couldn't remember what you wanted the FloriFlora for- there it is- to entice eating... try some cheese first- or a low-fat grated cheese. And it is possible that the loose stool is caused by a food ingredient causing the IBD.

The going up is normal. Glargine (lantus) is a long acting insulin and it starts to work in a few hours instead of right away. I am not as familiar with it as I don't use it but I have read up on it. The insulin in Andy's system at the time of his shot is left over from the previous shot and will be decreasing just as the next shot starts rising. It is normal for a FD bg's to go up after eating as they just had a lot of sugar dumped into their system- that is why we always take away the food 2 hours before the AMPS and PMPS tests so the bg level is at a fasting rate rather than food inflated. We test, feed, then shoot.

What meter do you use? There are some meters that are great for humans but not for cats- anything with TRUE in the name or the freestyle lite meter with the butterfly strips- they read inaccurately for some reason. And the strips COST- that is the biggest thing with the meter. You can buy them cheaper on-line through e-bay or craigslist.

Good luck in the new dance.
 
Hi--I wanted to give you my experience with Flortiflora. It absolutely may not apply in your case, but we had such good luck with my non-diabetic kitty and Fortiflora I felt a need to post so you might mention it to your vet. I do have a diabetic kitty, but the kitty I used Fortiflora with is non-diabetic.

Three years ago Little Bit (12 years old) was given several courses of antibiotic over a short period. A few weeks later he started having large, loose stools. He had never had a problem. It was not diarrhea, just totally unformed, and he usually only went once a day. This went on for several months while my vet tried everything she knew. I searched online and found Fortiflora. My vet said that was fine. I ordered Fortiflora from EntirelyPets. I added one packet at night to a 3-oz. can of FF Classic Beef. (Actually the Fortiflora smelled like beef bouillon to me.) By that time Bits had progressed to more frequent, loose stools. After 17 - 21 days on the Fortiflora, he was normal and has remained so since that time. It may not work for all cats, of course, but he was willing to eat it in food, it restored the balance in his system, and for us it was a blessing.

Andy has had a very hard time. Good luck to you, your husband, and Andy.

Celia
 
Thanks for the info hmjohnston and celia.

I am using the AlphaTrak 2, although I see now that I could have been using a recommended human meter for less cost. Our vet who told us to home test said to feed, shoot and then test the bg levels 20 minutes post shot. I think he is not concerned about Andy's numbers being too low as he has been consistantly high (although, he has only been tested at the vet and the stress would raise bg). I don't feel comfortable taking that chance. I am tired of blindy giving him his shot, we started testing him last night before eating and 30 minutes after his shot. Nix on the 30 minutes after the shot. I see now that the best timing is as you explained.

Great to hear that FortiFlora worked so well for Little Bit. I know that we are going to lick this diarrhea business. I called the Purina hotline yesterday and they told me to feed Andy 1 entire packet per day, so we started that today.
 
Hi again. I also have an AlphaTRAK which my vet gave me at his cost for a kit of $110. I just purchased a Relion Confirm after researching here and will use it and the AlphaTRAK both. I was using/wasting an unbelievable number of the pricey AT strips. In case you are ordering your supplies online, American Diabetes Wholesale has the best prices I could find on the AT strips, and they ship fast. I just found out they are a shopping partner here and the site will receive a commission if you shop through them. You can access them up top of the page where it says shop or from the Home Page lower left where it says Shopping Partners. I like my AlphaTRAK but need a less-expensive supplemental machine. I have to be one of the most inept people to have ever home tested their diabetic cat.

And again, hope Andy does well on the Fortiflora.

Celia
 
Yes, the alpha track is a great meter and pet specific- so if you continue to use mark that in your signature or on your sheet so that those who are giving advice know your points are 20-30pts higher for that reason (most use human meters so dosing advice is based on those numbers.)

A few have purchased human meters and will compare the two, knowing that one will get a higher number because of it, but use it as a check because the strips are so expensive.

But consider this- I test at least 7 times in a 24 hour period- that is normal every day testing and not curve weekend.
With an alpha track that would be at least $7/day, $49/wk, and $196/month.
The Relion micro/confirm strips purchased from ADW make it $2.02/ day, $14.12/week= $56.50/month.
So I save $140 a month by using the micro over the alpha track. So this is ONE major place to save money on an expensive FD item that you NEED to use daily.

Now, the Relion micro/confirm strips are the CHEAPEST around- although they have come out with a Relion Prime recently (this month)that is supposed to have cheap strips as well we haven't heard much about it yet. Plus, if your order hasn't you can run and get a pack of 25 at the nearest wally world.

Hope this gives a different perspective.
 
Thank you for the info. I did order the test strips from ADW. Andy is still having loose stool. I was at a seminar this weekend which was 2 hours from where I live. I didn't stay overnight as Andy gets so stressed when I am gone, but he still was unhappy that I was gone all day. Still plugging away with his rehab. Was at holistic vet yesterday and he said that Andy is well hydrated and seems stronger than 1 month ago. I will do a curve this weekend and work on his ss as well.
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top