heatherovka
Member Since 2021
It is time for the PM feeding and Ember's BG is 86. Do I hold off on insulin AND food? Wait a few minutes and test again?
Thank you!
Thank you!
Good idea, because when you need the items in that hypo toolkit, you need them fast. Don't forget to include some sort of treat for yourself. I always liked to have some Dove Dark Chocolate in my kit, and plenty of test strips. I used to write the carb percentage on the top of the can with a black permanent marker. When you are scrambling to find a MC (medium carb) or HC (high carb) food, it's much easier to grab a pre-labeled can than to try and figure out the carb percentage when the BG levels are low.I do have all the things for the hypo toolkit, although they are scattered. I will work on pulling it all together this weekend.
Wow great! Maybe he will be diet controlled. Let's see what it is before the pm shot. 80's are great! Esp without insulin. Don't worry, he can't go hypo without insulin.When I checked Ember's BG this morning, it was 89, and again at +6, it was 81. I still have not given insulin. I am so perplexed. How do I proceed from here? Continue to check AM, PM, and mid-cycle? Could this be indicative of some other problem like pancreatitis? Should I specifically request that be checked? Are numbers in the 80s anything to be concerned about?
Treat, a small pure protein treat. Whatever you have on hand. Think of it as a "bribe" to get your cat to cooperate with the testing.She's less thrilled with me poking her ears today. I think she is realizing it is becoming habitual.
Thank you so much. I admit, I kind of panicked because I wasn't expecting a low number. I have read that, but I am reading it over and really studying it again now. I'm absorbing so much information in a short amount of time my head is spinning.
Unfortunately, I don't know about the DKA or ketones. They have never been able to get urine from her at the vet and I am not confident I could get a sample here at home (I'm willing to try though). She did stop eating last Thursday and that's when they took the fructosamine and blood panel. Her NEU, LYM, EOS, and PLT were low.
I see that Ember is still getting fantastic BG numbers, after being off insulin for 5 days.
Do you test for ketones at all? Even diabetic cats in good BG numbers can develop ketones, and the note on your SS about her vomiting on 2 separate days is concerning.
Try to see if there is a correlation with a particular flavor of food (and the type of protein) and her vomiting. Some cats are allergic to some types of protein. Beef is a common culprit. It could simply be the change from dry to wet food.
If Ember is gulping down her food too fast, that could cause vomiting also. You might try smearing the food out on a plate, so she has to lick it off. Or feed smaller quantities at a time, in several small meals.
Yes, test strips once opened are only good for a couple of months. Plus, they need to be kept away from heat and humidity.Well I think the problem is that most or all of my test strips are bad.
I see the problem on your SS. You jumped from 4/13/21 to 3/14/21, so a mixup on the month when you entered the data for a couple of weeks. If you could correct that, it would make more sense on your SS.I have still been testing daily in the morning - I did not stop. Most of the numbers are in the first column.
No, you do not give insulin at mid-day. But you do base dose changes on how far a particular dose drops the BG level for your cat, over time. That low is the nadir.Could you explain what you mean by dose at nadir? Are you saying to give her insulin at midday? At least when I first started, they told me AM and PM, 12 hours apart. Maybe I am misunderstanding you.
Yes, test strips once opened are only good for a couple of months. Plus, they need to be kept away from heat and humidity.
Some old BG meters needed you to enter a code into the meter, to match the code on the test strip. So if your 3 different containers of test strips had different codes, and your meter was programmed with something different, then the results you got could be suspect because of that.
I see the problem on your SS. You jumped from 4/13/21 to 3/14/21, so a mixup on the month when you entered the data for a couple of weeks. If you could correct that, it would make more sense on your SS.
No, you do not give insulin at mid-day. But you do base dose changes on how far a particular dose drops the BG level for your cat, over time. That low is the nadir.
Dosing protocols/guidelines use the nadir or low during the 12 hour cycle to figure out the dose changes. You don't use the pre-shot test to determine the dose, or when to adjust the dose up or down. Please see this sticky for what I'm talking about.
Sticky PROZINC DOSING METHODS
The pre-shot tests let you know if your cat's BG is high enough to give the dose, or if you need to stall, give a token dose, or skip the shot. The pre-shot tests are given a little bit of weight to determine what dose your cat gets, but it is the LOW or NADIR that tells you how far a particular dose drops the BG levels for your cat. It's also not a single cycles BG testing that determines what to do, but the trends over time.
So happy to see those continuing green numbers with the new meter and strips!!
Go Ember Go!!