New Thread( old one got longgg) for Vengeance Shadow of the Night aka Vengy aka Venge aka my shadow lol

Ummlee and Vengeance

Member Since 2020
@Suzanne & Darcy new thread will link back later... can you look at venge # hes been at 3.25 for a while 25+ days I think as we have discussed unknown rollercoaster do you think we should bump to 3.5 being latley hes getting back more into the pinks and higher yellows ???? thanks
 
I do think that you can try an increase to 3.5 units, but you will need to switch to the Modified ProZinc Method (MPM) because he will have some green numbers below 90, I am sure of it… after all, he already has occasionally been below 90 BG. You will need to make sure that he’s getting his snacks in the early portion of the cycle and keep a good eye on his cycles. Hopefully he will actually see some more green numbers 50 and above — and hopefully this means his preshot numbers will come down as well.
 
@Suzanne & Darcy Yikes been over a week since I posted venges numbers and etc ...I didnt up the dosage being ughh still no AC ( long story tore out old unit the floor in closet was rotten had to redo whole closet area etc so didnt want to get into a change to MPM with remodeling going on.. SUPPOSED TO FINALLY GET AC TODAY ... his numbers have been all over the place I think the heat might have been messing with him being its staying 87/88 in my house since AC went out... UGHHH hasnt been fun..once things get settled back tomorrow I hope will discuss your ideas where to go next... his preshot numbers have been all over the place and if I gave him too big a drop he would bounce it seems... so I was sticking close to the 3-3.25 despite lower preshots.. hope all has been well with you :) the heat and remodeling and etc has kept me busy so havent been even on the computer being all the stuff kills my back so hard to sit at my desk lol ...
 
@Suzanne & Darcy hey hope all is well .. finally got AC here last Thrus ... so been dealing with renovations and cats getting back use to the cooler temps... if you take a lookk kat his chart hes lots of blues and greens but never seems to stay stable always pops back to 300+ at amps pmps etc or if hes low at amps pmps not quite sure Ive tried from 0 to 1 to 2.9 to 3 and always seems to bounce back .... any ideas???
 
I’ve been looking at his spreadsheet and it’s very hard to tell what’s going on because there are too many different doses. It would be better to try to shoot a dose more consistently — maybe 2.75 units How are you measuring these doses like 2.9? Is that a 3S (meaning a skinny 3 units)?
 
I’ve been looking at his spreadsheet and it’s very hard to tell what’s going on because there are too many different doses. It would be better to try to shoot a dose more consistently — maybe 2.75 units How are you measuring these doses like 2.9? Is that a 3S (meaning a skinny 3 units)?
@Suzanne & Darcy yeah a skinny 3 so stay at 2.75 when hes in blues and greens long as they are over 50 and under 200? Im trying to figure out whats bringing him back up after a good set of numbers if you look if I give him a low dose even when hes in greens it causes him to bounce back to the 300's ... or or do I change the 3.25 to 2.75 totally and see where it goes? could he be needing less? and thats why the higher amps and pmps?
 
I don’t see where Marje suggested 3 units? It’s not on this thread. I must be missing something. Anyway he had better numbers yesterday on 3 units. So you say he got into some kibble? When did that happen. He certainly went into the pink. That could be a bounce or kibble or possibly a combination.
 
How is it going this morning with the numbers?
@Suzanne & Darcy Sooo I came home and Vengeance had gotten into my bag of kibble for my outside cats NO idea how he got to it..... I had posted a 911 when I caught him with the kibble and his number kept rising... Marie suggested it in this thread above...

I was away most of the day but his numbers at amps was still high at 338 but since have been dropping and as of now at 76... last night PMPS on were pinks all night
 
@Suzanne & Darcy question you always talk about the +2 and +4 snacks which I do at night but hard to do in mornings sometimes.... I usually give him these at shot time 2/3 and then about 8 at +2 +4 I was checking to make sure they are ok.. they are 100% freeze dried chicken and Duck so I figure should be ok for him... I was going to look into a auto feeder to put out so I can set it for the morning times... he drinks enough water so I cant see these bothering him in that are being they are "dry" not a wet ....
https://www.amazon.com/dp/B0CXDRVC4K?tag=felinediabetesfdmb-20

Thanks
 
@Suzanne & Darcy question you always talk about the +2 and +4 snacks which I do at night but hard to do in mornings sometimes.... I usually give him these at shot time 2/3 and then about 8 at +2 +4 I was checking to make sure they are ok.. they are 100% freeze dried chicken and Duck so I figure should be ok for him... I was going to look into a auto feeder to put out so I can set it for the morning times... he drinks enough water so I cant see these bothering him in that are being they are "dry" not a wet ....
https://www.amazon.com/dp/B0CXDRVC4K?tag=felinediabetesfdmb-20

Thanks
Those treats are fine since they’re 100 meat and don’t have any carbs. What I mean by snacks/mini meals at about +2 and about +4 is to give him a small amount of his wet food. You can split up his daytime food and give him a little at breakfast and then more of it at the +2 snack and the rest of it at the +4 snack. Or just give him his breakfast as usual and give an additional spoonful at both of those snack times. He’s not overweight is he? Underweight? Maintaining a good weight? The freeze dried treats look perfect for giving after every BG test as a reward. It doesn’t matter that they are dry because they are pure meat and don’t have carbs. It’s just the dry kibble cat food that is the problem because kibble generally has a lot of fillers/grains/carbs (rice, wheat, corn, wheat gluten and other sources of carbs.). So dry meat isn’t a problem. My cats absolutely love freeze dried chicken pieces. If I grind them up and use them as a food topper they really love it.

So you usually go to work how many hours after his shot? What would happen if you just left a little wet food out for him? Is he the kind who would just eat it all at once?
 
You definitely need to change your spreadsheet dosing method and your signature to indicate that you are now following the MPM dosing method. He has gone below 90 many times in the last few days (and that’s a good thing in Venge’s case). So far so good on the 3 units!
 
Those treats are fine since they’re 100 meat and don’t have any carbs. What I mean by snacks/mini meals at about +2 and about +4 is to give him a small amount of his wet food. You can split up his daytime food and give him a little at breakfast and then more of it at the +2 snack and the rest of it at the +4 snack. Or just give him his breakfast as usual and give an additional spoonful at both of those snack times. He’s not overweight is he? Underweight? Maintaining a good weight? The freeze dried treats look perfect for giving after every BG test as a reward. It doesn’t matter that they are dry because they are pure meat and don’t have carbs. It’s just the dry kibble cat food that is the problem because kibble generally has a lot of fillers/grains/carbs (rice, wheat, corn, wheat gluten and other sources of carbs.). So dry meat isn’t a problem. My cats absolutely love freeze dried chicken pieces. If I grind them up and use them as a food topper they really love it.

So you usually go to work how many hours after his shot? What would happen if you just left a little wet food out for him? Is he the kind who would just eat it all at once?@su
@Suzanne & Darcy He's 14.8 lbs so hes a bit chonky but hes always been a stocky cat once he hit 2 or so years old hes stayed in the +10 lbs his whole life and he will be 13 in 2 days ... my question is can I give him the freeze dried treats/food as his stuff at +2 and +4 rather than wet food ... he is a grazer he doesnt always finish his meal so he will come back on his own and finish it and whatever his brother hasnt eaten of his lol.... I will need some walking thru the mpm about when to switch does... like right now hes at 105.. I am going to give him the 3 ... or should I drop it to 2.75 or what when at those numbers being his morning numbers were in 200's.... thanks..
 
I’m confident that you take such good care of him and monitor his cycles so closely that he will do fine tonight. I am glad you shot 3 tonight because you can gather some test data to see how he does.

Yes, if you want to and if it is working for you and he reliably eats those freeze dried treats as a +2/+4 small meal then go ahead and use them. You can play around with the amount. They’re really low carb so I would not use them if he is lower than you want him to be and you are trying to steer his numbers. For a regular day though, you can give them. There’s nothing really wrong with leaving his wet food down though and letting him graze up until about his nadir time. Every cat is different, and we can try to make things work for each individual cat. We just don’t want him dropping too quickly. I don’t see that Venge is dropping too low too quickly right now so don’t stress too much about it right now.
 
@Suzanne & Darcy @Marje and Gracie any thoughts on Venges numbers since I went down to 3 ??? thanks and how long does it take for a missed dose to get back normal? thanks
It’s no longer working and you should increase to 3.25u bid.

Normally, with a reduction when following MPM, as soon as a bounce clears, if the BG doesn’t come back to green, you want to take the dose back up.
But you shot some 2.75u doses in between the 3.25u so hard to say if this is a failed reduction and needs to go back up. But….the dose does need to increase.

Ideally, that would have been am cycle of 6/28 if we were looking at this as a failed reduction.
 
It’s no longer working and you should increase to 3.25u bid.

Normally, with a reduction when following MPM, as soon as a bounce clears, if the BG doesn’t come back to green, you want to take the dose back up.
But you shot some 2.75u doses in between the 3.25u so hard to say if this is a failed reduction and needs to go back up. But….the dose does need to increase.

Ideally, that would have been am cycle of 6/28 if we were looking at this as a failed reduction.
@Marje and Gracie the evening before last was up due to missed shot... here is the weird part.. if you look at his numbers today they are doing better.. BUT.. his test at +4 amps today first test I got a 379 which sounded a huge jump I then took another and got the 268 I recorded which tracks with how he has done the rest of the afternoon... I am wondering if I got some wonky strips and all of the pinks besides missed shot etc might be off as well??? I always make sure my bottles are closed back and etc .. I had read somewhere about testing solution but havent found anywhere to buy it for the relion... if you think I need to try bumping him back to the 3.25 I will do so tomorrow amps .. or see how it goes tonight with new strips... and then decide.... thanks
 
@Marje and Gracie the evening before last was up due to missed shot... here is the weird part.. if you look at his numbers today they are doing better.. BUT.. his test at +4 amps today first test I got a 379 which sounded a huge jump I then took another and got the 268 I recorded which tracks with how he has done the rest of the afternoon... I am wondering if I got some wonky strips and all of the pinks besides missed shot etc might be off as well??? I always make sure my bottles are closed back and etc .. I had read somewhere about testing solution but havent found anywhere to buy it for the relion... if you think I need to try bumping him back to the 3.25 I will do so tomorrow amps .. or see how it goes tonight with new strips... and then decide.... thanks
A missed shot doesn’t affect subsequent cycles as it would with Lantus or Levemir.

I never used testing solution. If the strips are not expired, they should be fine. IMHO, he needs more insulin. Since you shot 3u tonight, you can increase in the morning unless you see a green nadir but, unless it’s a few hours lower than 65, I’d still increase tomorrow morning.
 
He is a tough one, isn’t he? Good job shooting a consistent dose.

I think that, with the amount of testing you do, you can increase his dose to 3.5 units and make sure he stays safe. He hasn’t seen any green on this dose for a while. I hope he will soon and will level out.
 
Back
Top