New SugarKitty Mama. H | Feline Diabetes Message Board - FDMB

New SugarKitty Mama. H

NexArma

Member since 2025
Hey ya’ll!

My kitty, Boots got diagnosed yesterday.
So we are all still learning.

Gave him his 1unit at dinner time, when I woke up this morning his GB was
8.5-9 mmol/L, which is in the normal range.

That being said, if I feed him and give him his 1unit, wouldn’t I run the risk of him going hypo? Should I feed and wait for the BG to rise a bit before injecting insulin? Should I give a half dose? Is this completely normal?

I didn’t sleep last night because I was so worried he’d crash 😅 So bear with me.
 
Hello! Welcome to the FDMB forum. The moderators of the forum prefer that new-comers make their first post on the main page because posts over there are often seen more quickly. So, if you don't mind, repost over there to get faster attention.

Also, the helpers here are going to be asking to see Boots' bg numbers and they will be asking a variety of questions related to food, etc. Are you currently testing her prior to her shots? Do you have a spreadsheet for her that shows her recent shot data? If not, that's okay, but it's something that will help others help you and Boots, so you'll want to get a spreadsheet set up asap. I'm going to go ahead and share this link with you that shows how to set up both a spreadsheet and how to complete your signature, all information that helps give those offering advice the best information to help you and Boots. Thread 'New? How You Can Help Us Help You!'
 
Hello! Welcome to the FDMB forum. The moderators of the forum prefer that new-comers make their first post on the main page because posts over there are often seen more quickly. So, if you don't mind, repost over there to get faster attention.

Also, the helpers here are going to be asking to see Boots' bg numbers and they will be asking a variety of questions related to food, etc. Are you currently testing her prior to her shots? Do you have a spreadsheet for her that shows her recent shot data? If not, that's okay, but it's something that will help others help you and Boots, so you'll want to get a spreadsheet set up asap. I'm going to go ahead and share this link with you that shows how to set up both a spreadsheet and how to complete your signature, all information that helps give those offering advice the best information to help you and Boots. Thread 'New? How You Can Help Us Help You!'
Oh! Thank you :)
Much appreciated!

He has the FreestyleLibre 2 monitor on atm, that does the curve for me. So he is constantly being monitored.
Is that what you meant by spread sheet?
Or is the spread sheet something extra, that I post on the forum to allow others to help me??
 
Hello and welcome.

If you look at that post Mary link posted above called "New? ..." it has instructions for creating a spreadsheet. Most people have a link to said spreadsheet in their signatures. So it is something separate so we can help you. That post also includes information for your signature that we'll all ask you for, such as type of insulin, type of blood glucose meter, what you are feeding, etc.

A general rule of thumb for new people, as long as their cat was NOT diagnosed with DKA or ketones, is to skip if preshot is under 200 (11.1 in World numbers). Over time, once you've got some more blood glucose data and can see what Boots normally does, you can shoot lower numbers. Delaying the shot until he's above 200 is one of the strategies too.
 
Sadly he does have ketones, therefore I should have given him his shot this morning.
-1 for me today! Haha

Well, now I know! He is due for his shot in an hour, so no point of stressing about it. Going forward I will shoot him, perhaps after he has eaten and I see his numbers rise?

Sadly my vet clinic has no Drs on staff Fridays and Saturday ( odd. I know ) So I had no one to call this morning. So I really appreciate you taking the time to answer me.

I will get working on the spreadsheet and add it to my signature.
 
Good to know on the ketones, that's one of the bits of info we like to see in the signature. Are you home testing him for ketones? He should be getting plenty of fluids to help flush out the ketones. Adding a bit of water to his food will help.

Going forward I will shoot him, perhaps after he has eaten and I see his numbers rise?
There are a few options, but you do want to see his numbers rise. Sometimes they will do that without feeding as the insulin wears off.
 
Next time you speak with your vet, ask how after hours emergencies are handled (who to call, where to go, etc). You'll need this info if your cat ever has an emergency, diabetes related or not.

Please add the name of the insulin to your signature. Your post got moved here from the Lantus board.
 
Back
Top