New Sugarcat Simon (a/k/a "Rocket Cat")

Status
Not open for further replies.

Kittencat Brat

New Member
Hi, Everyone! Well, now I know why my 8-year-old Tuxedo boy was losing weight and being uncharacteristically needy. He went to the vet yesterday and was diagnosed with diabetes. I didn't even know cats could get it. His bg was over 600 yesterday and was in the high 300's this morning. Good grief. Poor kitty! My vet does an annual house call to give everyone their shots, and year before last, when I was carrying Simon to the exam table for his shots, he lept out of my arms. I tried to hold onto him (not clever) and he basically shredded my forearms, then launched himself off my kitchen counter and about 20 feet across the kitchen to the foot of the stairs, which he cleared in about two more leaps and then I didn't see him for the rest of the day. As he sailed across the kitchen, my vet's eyes followed him as he said "my, but he certainly is athletic!" Hence the nickname, "Rocket Cat." Simon is affectionate and an excellent bed cat. He loves to be petted and even comes when called, although sometimes I have to keep calling him. He does not like to be "fussed with" other than petted and will not allow me to brush him. My vet expects that he will be able to come home on Thursday. He will need two insulin shots daily, and monthly (for now) vet visits to monitor his bg. Simon is one of my five cats, who are all 100 percent indoor cats. I am so grateful for this website and forum, which have already been true Godsends to me! It is clear to me that we're going to need to make some major changes! First, I think that everyone needs to get onto a healthier and less carby diet (we're on Science Diet now). It doesn't seem feasible for me to switch everyone over to canned food, so I'll probably go with home made food and am looking for recipes. Oh, not to worry, I understand that it could be fatal to Simon to just switch him to low carb when he's taking insulin, without proper and knowledgeable veterinary supervision. One of my other kitties, orange tabby Purrrrr, really needs to lose about 5 lbs. and I think this would help her as well, plus just be better for all of them in every way. Also on feeding, in the past I have just left the dry food available to them 24-7. Now I think we will need to have regularly scheduled feeding times, and not have it available all the time. That's the only way I know of to monitor Simon's food intake. Second, I plan to start home bg testing for Simon. Because I am a Type II diabetic, I already have a meter (Accuchek Aviva) and test strips, and am all too familiar with carb counting at least as it applies to humans. I am able to maintain non-diabetic numbers through diet and exercise, so require no insulin or medication at this time, so the whole insulin thing is new to me. I mentioned home testing to my vet and believe this may have been a new concept to him -- am not certain. Also, when I mentioned low-carb diet, I think he may be looking to a Science Diet "diabetic" formulation which may or may not be low carb. He is a wonderful vet and person, and I expect that he will welcome me being probably a lot more proactive than other Sugarcat clients. I know that in human diabetes dietary recommendations there are groups of professionals who consider a "low carb" meal to contain about 60 grams of carbs, while in the real world of experience of many of us, anything over 35 or 40 grams can cause a spike that we want to avoid -- and suspect that similar conflicts of opinion may exist within feline diabetes as well -- is this correct? Any ideas or suggestions on dealing with this situation, any appropriate cat food recipes, best ways to approach my vet, anything else that's been helpful to you, etc., will be greatly appreciated. Thanks to all you terrific beans and your Sugarcats! Nancy
 
Oh, there was a lot of info in there

But here you have guidelines in how you manage an diabeticer.


1. Go to Walmart (if you have one) and by some of there OTC human bloodtest meters

2 Start testing her immidieatly. Preferably a full day folloing like this:

am-preshot
+ 2 h
+4 h
+6 h
+8 h
+10
pm-preshot


That's all I can help you with, the rest you seem to have under control.
 
Even though you already have your own meter, I hear it is useful to have a separate one for you cat so that the meter's memory is you-only and cat-only? If that makes sense. Sometimes I go back to the meter to double check what those last few readings were, and I know they were all Akbah. (Not that I have diabetes).
I have two cats, and only one diabetic. My 'civvie' (non diabetic), Hannah, was overweight when Akbah got his diagnosis with diabetes. Well, they both were. I put them both on an all canned food diet (alternating with the cheap n cheeful brand, and a couple of pricier brands so they have variety. She has lost weight, slowy, since January. She has gone from about 7.2 kilos to about 6.1. She has knees!
 
Hi Nancy,
Regarding diet...
Have you ever visited "catinfo.org?" Dr. Lisa has a site full of dietary information, including this page which is all about homemade food.
http://www.catinfo.org/?link=makingcatfood

My guess is that your vet will recommend "Hills M/D" which is the same thing my vet sent Bob home with. Dry and canned. The dry was fed to the outdoor raccoons as soon as I found this site. And the canned? Bob ate it for two days and refused to eat any more. So I returned it to the vet for a refund. Well, save yourself the hassle... Both dry and canned are too high in carbs for a sugarkitty.
The number we stress more than "grams of carbs" is "% calories from carbs". For a diabetic cat, no more than 10% of his calories should come from carbohydrates. We usually advise that you try to keep that number below 7%, and the lower the better. Many commercial canned foods fall into the 3-5% range... Fancy Feast classics and Friskees pates are both very popular here. Some people do feed Dr. Lisa's recipe and other homemade recipes. If you start a new thread with a subject line of "looking for homemade catfood recipes" that will catch their eyes.

Oh, the Hill's "prescription" M/D? Canned contains 14% carbs. The dry is 13%. "Carbage"!

Here's a link to charts containing data of dozens of canned varities:
http://binkyspage.tripod.com/canfood.html

Hope that helps!
Carl
 
Hi again! I want to thank everyone who responded to my post!

Thanks to you and this message board, we have a plan and some direction. Simon comes home from the hospital this afternoon. Changes have been made at home which his civilian colleagues aren't particularly happy about cat(2)_steam but I know they will adapt. They are used to having dry food available 24-7, but are learning to have a mixture of the dry with some low-carb canned available twice a day for one hour each time. This will continue until all the dry is gone. The civilians will be transitioned to a home made diet as soon as I select one from the resources suggested. The folks at Wild Kitty have graciously sent me a home made food kit, and I'm looking at different recipes as well (such as the one with the ground rabbit resource). For the time being, I will feed Simon what he comes home with. Eventually he will go onto the same home made diet. For now, it will be enough for me to learn to give him his shots and work our way up to home bg testing. With Simon's history, his vet understandably has his doubts about whether I'll be able to home test. I don't really see it as a choice, more of a challenge. On home testing -- I considered the Reli-On but decided to use an Accu-Chek Aviva because of slightly higher standard of accuracy -- also because I already know how to use it (that's what I test myself with) and have some resources for that will help with test strips. Once Simon enjoys testing (God help me in the meantime :roll: ), we've achieved stable bg and have a couple of successful curve protocols completed, and I am completely confident in my ability to test at any time, we'll start transitioning him to the same diet as the civilians. I'm thinking this may be in about four to six weeks or hopefully sooner.

Ann & Scatcats, we will use the protocol you suggested in testing (as soon as we're able to test, that is). I was in Gothenburg many years ago -- totally lovely area!!!! The kitty in your avatar actually looks a lot like my Simon!

Akbah'smum, I'll use the canned foods suggested in the interim. I contacted the Roche company and asked them to send me an Accu-chek Aviva for Simon -- the lady was very nice but could not because this was an "off label" use. GRRRRRRR!! But, they've been very helpful on test strips and control solution. I went ahead and bought Simon his own Aviva -- cost about $25.00 -- the tip of this Type I iceburg, I suspect . . . :YMSIGH: Glad your kitty found her knees -- hope my Purrrrr will find hers as well!

Carl & Bob in SC -- I love that word "Carbage"!!! There is an interesting (but infortunate) parallel in the world of human diabetes, with certain elements among medical and nutritionist "professionals" who advocate for carb levels that are way too high for many of us!

Blessings to each of you and your precious Sugarcats.

Nancy
 
Nancy,
I don't think you mentioned, nor did we ask, what insulin your vet prescribed?

Carl
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top