New - Should we increase?

Status
Not open for further replies.

LisaAF

Member Since 2021
We started Hawx on 1.5 Vetsulin on February 13, per the vet. He is one of 6 kitties in our home. We have changed them all from free feeding dry food to Friskies Pate & FF classic twice daily, 12 hours apart, to coincide with his insulin. There is no dry food or treats in our house.

We’d love some input on whether we should increase his insulin, or see the vet? (I hope we have the spreadsheet set up correctly.)

We’re very grateful for this site, and your immeasurable knowledge.
 
Thank you! I changed the ss permissions, sorry about that. I have read the information on the Vetsulin thread, it was extremely informative.
 
Hi Lisa,

’d love some input on whether we should increase his insulin, or see the vet? (I hope we have the spreadsheet set up correctly.)
Would it be possible for you to get more tests in somewhere between +3 and +6 on AM and PM cycles? This would give you information on how low the current dose is taking Hawx when the Vetsulin is working at its strongest. This info is needed in order to determine whether or not it is safe to increase the dose.


Mogs
.
 
So based on that I'd say it's safe to increase by 0.25U. BUT it would be nice to see a few more tests in the +3 to +6 range, both say and night, to be sure. Many cats drop lower at night.
 
Hi Lisa,

Grand job getting those extra readings. :cool:

it would be nice to see a few more tests in the +3 to +6 range, both say and night, to be sure
Very much agree with the above. It will help you get a much better handle on how Hawx is responding to his insulin day to day, and the readings you gather should, over time, help you to improve his regulation. On the PM cycles, even a +2 'before bed' test each evening would help you. Indeed, even in the available data we can see that Hawx has had some really substantial drops in BG by +2 (see PM 15 Feb, AM 23 Feb), something typical of Vetsulin's mode of action. The following graphic illustrates this well:


eADcxbPJ2JnNh2lSNJND0_wT4yz4A3Y71CrTNoDJfbWfCTH5m_LSx8bIqc_8XsNxdIIVibS6Rm5BUf37WIe3XPJwQjh4EPhui-nFcwaX6hNFLSfU3NpFvo8wwzZNTc1CUPzdzC--



(Note: Vetsulin is branded as Caninsulin in some countries.)


Mogs
.
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top