? New question in thread

Alisa and Tito

Member Since 2025
With a human Libre, he was over 400 since last night. And has spent the most of his month high also. Started the libre Friday morning. Vet raised him from 1unit of Lantus twice a day to 2 units of Lantus twice a day (he never got below 274 and only stayed there a minute and would go up. She told me to keep an eye on him (and so did all of you) and if he went low i could lower the dose to 1.5, but i should have asked what "low" is. He just went under 100 (on the human scale) just after snack time and i did slightly panic at the alarm and gave him some carby treats (i know, not smart but i panicked and in 20 minutes he's up to 140).
I can handle the next couple of hours and i know he isn't in danger until he is around 50 on this meter, but is it safe to give the full 2 units tomorrow. I know you have explained it's long acting but every shot i have given him has been at a higher starting point of over 400 and that might not be the case tomorrow, it's a good thing! and i have to work, but i can still monitor the numbers as long as i can trap him in my room before work and i'm only 15 minutes away
 
Last edited:
Wow. That depot is kicking in, and he’s seeing some action on the insulin.

Here’s your previous post: New and just completed tracker and need a little guidance.

You’ll want to keep monitoring/testing him until his bg begins going up without the effect of carbs. The carbs will stay in his system up to 2 hours after ingesting, so be sure to test him at least two hours after feeding higher carbs because he might drop again at that point, once the carbs are out of his system.

You’ll need to wait to see what his bg is a bit closer to his AMPS. Test about 30 mins before his AM shot. At that time, post on the board for assistance.

You don’t have a dosing method listed on your ss. We take reductions (and increases) based on dosing methods. Here are the two methods most people follow on this board:Sticky - Dosing Methods: Start Low, Go Slow (SLGS) & Tight Regulation (TR).
 
Also, you were right to give him a snack. That +4 is a huge drop from his PMPS, and big drops from a pre shot number often signal an active cycle that you might need to flatten out with carbs. Well done. And as you continue testing tonight (at least hourly), you may find you need to give small amounts of mc or hc food to keep him in safe numbers. 100 is perfectly safe, but the large drop to that number might indicate that he could go lower. Be vigilant.
 
Also, you were right to give him a snack. That +4 is a huge drop from his PMPS, and big drops from a pre shot number often signal an active cycle that you might need to flatten out with carbs. Well done. And as you continue testing tonight (at least hourly), you may find you need to give small amounts of mc or hc food to keep him in safe numbers. 100 is perfectly safe, but the large drop to that number might indicate that he could go lower. Be vigilant.
Thanks, I dont really have a dosing methods. He was at 1 unit for a month and then switched to 2 because he never really came down. Tha alarm freaked me out and I probably overdid the treats. He is back up to 400, i will download the libre reading in the morning but looks like he was there by about 1 am (+ 7). Going back to sleep and strapping in for another ride tomorrow
 
Wow. That depot is kicking in, and he’s seeing some action on the insulin.

Here’s your previous post: New and just completed tracker and need a little guidance.

You’ll want to keep monitoring/testing him until his bg begins going up without the effect of carbs. The carbs will stay in his system up to 2 hours after ingesting, so be sure to test him at least two hours after feeding higher carbs because he might drop again at that point, once the carbs are out of his system.

You’ll need to wait to see what his bg is a bit closer to his AMPS. Test about 30 mins before his AM shot. At that time, post on the board for assistance.

You don’t have a dosing method listed on your ss. We take reductions (and increases) based on dosing methods. Here are the two methods most people follow on this board:Sticky - Dosing Methods: Start Low, Go Slow (SLGS) & Tight Regulation (TR).
Ok, I understand now SLGS and the shoot passed the right dose. Wish my needles had half markings, I think that was too big of a jump st once. Vet said I could reduce to 1.5 if the cat went low, so i think that is the safest thing to do since I will not be home to give food if he dives that low again.
 
I decided i have to stay the course for at least another day. i do think the change from 1 unit to 2 units while settling the food issue was likely too much, but i need at least 2 full days to decide, so here we go. i gave him a little extra food, leaving my phone home to monitor the libre and heading to work soon. i can at least check the reports frequently on libreview - i wish i had another phone where i could at least control the automatic feeder to dispense some food, but that ship has sailed for today. this journey isn't for the faint of heart for sure! thanks and send positive vibes that i don't have to head home till the day is done.
 
Here is some information about syringes: How to "Shoot" Your Cat and Sticky - Insulin Care & Syringe Info: Proper Handling, Drawing, Fine Dosing

I order mine from Amazon, and this is the brand I purchase: https://www.amazon.com/dp/B009LTE0DO?tag=felinediabetesfdmb-20

Syringe procurement is contingent on your state's laws; some states require prescriptions while others don't (mine doesn't, so I can order from Amazon).

We typically take dose increases and decreases in .25 unit increments (which is why the half unit markings are helpful). The amount of a dose increase/decrease and the timing of increases/decreases are taken based upon the cat's bg numbers and the dosing method you are following.
 
Here is some information about syringes: How to "Shoot" Your Cat and Sticky - Insulin Care & Syringe Info: Proper Handling, Drawing, Fine Dosing

I order mine from Amazon, and this is the brand I purchase: Amazon.com

Syringe procurement is contingent on your state's laws; some states require prescriptions while others don't (mine doesn't, so I can order from Amazon).

We typically take dose increases and decreases in .25 unit increments (which is why the half unit markings are helpful). The amount of a dose increase/decrease and the timing of increases/decreases are taken based upon the cat's bg numbers and the dosing method you are following.
Thanks. I have script and may stop at Wal-Mart if I have to change dose. I have been looking at his numbers and he is bouncing in 300
 
Good, it’s good number, if you look at Corky’s SS you will see that with ProZinc of course, I shoot in low 2 digits, but it took me a loooong time of mind training and guts to get there, I believe that with Lantus the BG numbers are different for the correct cycle, you are doing a great job!! :cat: :cat::bighug:
 
Thank you for that sticky. I watched my friend was prefilling syringes and that's what I was doing. I am sick. Should I lower the dose if I draw right from the vial. Unable to update the spreadshhet, but he only went down to 350 then back up.
 
Back
Top