New ProZinc bottle - but still can't seem to regulate

Status
Not open for further replies.

JenM

Member Since 2013
So, I've been getting lots of tests in, but I dont see any pattern here. I feel like I need to up the dose - but how much? I replaced my 6mo-old vial of ProZinc, thinking the old stuff just wasn't effective anymore. Now I'm thinking I wasted $110 because the new stuff is having exactly the same effect (not much). I know many cats get WAY more insulin - but he's never needed a lot - and during the week, I can't monitor him after AMPS. I DONT want him going hypo when I'm at work. It just seems like the same dose, at the same starting number is never doing the same thing! There is only ONE blue number on there - and it was at only +3. I feel like that could have been a dangerous one if he wasn't eating 4x/day - but since he does, it wasn't an issue. But most of the time, we're not even getting into blue at all.

Still negative for ketones... but it's been about 2 weeks now with most of our time spent in the 300s.

What would you do?

PS... he had a vet exam JUST before going back on insulin - teeth are fine and no urinary issues. I have discussed getting blood work done with the vet and think I'm going to do so soon, just to make sure we aren't missing something. Appetite and thirst drive both increased - though his appetite has been pretty crazy after being diagnosed (once he started eating again).
 
I think I'd up the dose, Jen. Sometimes when they fall out of remission, at first it seems to take more insulin the second time around (not sure why). Can you be home a day soon to monitor? If so, I'd think I'd try one unit on those pinks and see if the nadir is better. Three cycles and if he is still higher overall, increase by .25 again.
 
I was kind of thinking that... but was afraid to go that high since a few on here seemed to think the 400s we saw when we first got back on the juice were bounces. And that was with even smaller doses. But, we can't sit here forever with nadirs in the 200s... so I guess I'll have to increase the dose. I can't REALLY be home again until Friday PM - though I could take some time off if I have to. Or, I COULD go home at lunch like I had to when he first came home after diagnosis... but I'd rather just take time off.

Given that he was in DKA when first diagnosed, I'm afraid of letting him stay high too long. I mean, he's lower than he was then, and not eating high carb food now - but still.
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top