worldtraveller
Member Since 2011
Hi all,
Kitty was dianogned mid December and he was on Caninsulin from Christmas for about 6 weeks. I was giving him usually 3 units twice a day, lowered from 4 units (dosage is higher than with e.g. Lantus). I am doing hometesting since mid January, and usually his nadir was was around +3-4 hours. As an example of his BG curve was that AMPS was 18,6 mmol/l (335 mg/dl), and went down to 2,5 mmol/l (45 mg) in 3 hours. He was getting better, and could clearly notice that he was drinking less water.
Well, then I decided to change to Lantus as I have heard that it is better for cats, with better chances to go to remission. Started with Lantus last Saturday, 2 units twice a day. I have not done yet a full curve, but his BG levels are now typically higher than with Caninsulin, around 14-15 mmol/l in 3 hours after the shot and he also has started to drink more water and use more the litter box. I know it takes some time to stabilize after starting with Lantus, but we are now on day 6 so I was hoping to see better results by now... How soon have others usually seen better results after starting with Lantus? I am wondering if to increase by 1 unit in a few days or still wait for another week.
By the way, what are the best syringes for Lantus? I have now insulin pen which does not do half units. I think I should buy syringes so that I can change dosage in half units also. Lantus dosages are so little that I am wondering if all the insulin goes to Kitty. While I did not like using the syringe with Caninsulin (avoiding the bubbles, trying to read the small measurements in the syringe, etc), it was though easier to make sure that all the insulin went to Kitty.
What we struggle also is the change in diet. Kitty and non-diabetic Joey were all their lifes on dry food. I realize wet food is the way to go, but the challenge is to try to find something what kitties like.... Joey seems to be more happy with wet food (particularly HIlls canned MD - he loves it, but does not need it...
). Kitty just is pickier and does not seem to be eating well. He does not care much about canned food with meat, but he loves tuna in any form. Is tuna based diet ok for a diabetic cat? Any good tips how to change to the proper wet diet?
Help, please help. :?
- Mia
Kitty was dianogned mid December and he was on Caninsulin from Christmas for about 6 weeks. I was giving him usually 3 units twice a day, lowered from 4 units (dosage is higher than with e.g. Lantus). I am doing hometesting since mid January, and usually his nadir was was around +3-4 hours. As an example of his BG curve was that AMPS was 18,6 mmol/l (335 mg/dl), and went down to 2,5 mmol/l (45 mg) in 3 hours. He was getting better, and could clearly notice that he was drinking less water.
Well, then I decided to change to Lantus as I have heard that it is better for cats, with better chances to go to remission. Started with Lantus last Saturday, 2 units twice a day. I have not done yet a full curve, but his BG levels are now typically higher than with Caninsulin, around 14-15 mmol/l in 3 hours after the shot and he also has started to drink more water and use more the litter box. I know it takes some time to stabilize after starting with Lantus, but we are now on day 6 so I was hoping to see better results by now... How soon have others usually seen better results after starting with Lantus? I am wondering if to increase by 1 unit in a few days or still wait for another week.
By the way, what are the best syringes for Lantus? I have now insulin pen which does not do half units. I think I should buy syringes so that I can change dosage in half units also. Lantus dosages are so little that I am wondering if all the insulin goes to Kitty. While I did not like using the syringe with Caninsulin (avoiding the bubbles, trying to read the small measurements in the syringe, etc), it was though easier to make sure that all the insulin went to Kitty.
What we struggle also is the change in diet. Kitty and non-diabetic Joey were all their lifes on dry food. I realize wet food is the way to go, but the challenge is to try to find something what kitties like.... Joey seems to be more happy with wet food (particularly HIlls canned MD - he loves it, but does not need it...
Help, please help. :?
- Mia