New- Need Advice on Everything

Status
Not open for further replies.

Dee & Midnight

Member Since 2011
Hi everyone. My cat Midnight was Dx in November 2010. He is on Lantus and has yet to be regulated. I’ve been reading this site for two days and have come to the conclusion that my vet’s unfamiliarity with Lantus is part of our problem. He normally doesn’t use Lantus and told me that upfront. My Grandmother was on Lantus for years and just before Midnight was Dx her insulin was changed. Her refrigerator door was full of unexpired, unopened Lantus that was about to be thrown away so I asked the vet to use it if possible and he agreed.

Midnight started out at 0.5u per day and worked his way up to 3.0u twice a day over the course of a few vet visits. I asked the vet about home testing and he discouraged me from doing it. Midnight still wasn’t regulated at 3.0u twice a day and became ill on February 18th. That was totally my fault. I knew he wasn’t regulated yet and didn’t get him back to the vet when I should’ve. I had a major illness arise in my immediate family the night before one of his regulation appointments. I canceled the appointment because of the illness and then delayed taking him back for too long. When I took him back on 02/18 the vet kept him for a week trying to regulate him. He still wasn’t regulated on 02/25 when I picked him up. The vet told me that he skipped some PM shots because BG was normal. Then BG would be back through the roof in the AM. Midnight was still unregulated and was now on a dose of 8.0u AM and 5.0u PM. I was again discouraged from home testing when I asked about it. I gave this new dosage consistently over the next few days even though the dosage size scared me. On 03/01 I couldn’t take it anymore because I was mortified at every shot. I purchased a home meter and found a YouTube Video on how to use it! No problem taking his BG by ear! Took my first few readings that night and decided to do a 24 hour curve the next day. YAY!

On 03/04 I took Midnight to his scheduled vet appointment for regulation. I fully intended to leave Midnight with the vet that day even though I already had my own curve. The vet said that there was no need for me to leave him because he could use my numbers! Great! However, after talking to the vet I ended up more freaked out than ever. He took my numbers and pointed out that I had shot on occasions that he wouldn’t have and even pointed out a PMPS of 87 and said it was way too low! This from the same person who recommended I shoot blindly at all times! UGH! He reduced the dosage to 6.0u twice a day. I asked him when I should spot check and he told me whenever I thought about it. I have performed some spot checks at +1 and +2 because the vet had told me these were the hours I needed to monitor Midnight’s behavior post shot because +1 & +2 were the most dangerous hours. Not sure that is the case with Lantus after doing some reading here.

Since 03/04, I have been second guessing every reading! That’s what prompted me to take to the web for research and landed me here. I am getting no sleep when I do a PM shot. In reaction to all this I have reduced doses. I have waited and retested at +2 to shoot a lower dose. I have retested at +2 only to decide BG was still too low and skipped all together. I know this is sending his BG all over the place and is not the right way. I don’t see how I’m ever going to be able to determine anything from the BG tests I’m doing if we don’t get more consistent. I shot 6u/6u today. I didn’t take a PMPS reading because I knew I wouldn’t shoot or would reduce if I did. I realize this is an extreme measure but I feel like we have to get back on track somehow. However, I’m still up 5 hours later watching Midnight to make sure he’s ok so I’m not sure that was the brightest move I’ve ever made. 

So here are my questions for now:
1) Would you guys who are pro’s shoot at a number as low 87, or say even 63? I feel like if I don't start shooting the same dose, I'm just going to continue this vicuous cycle of bouncing his BG all over the place and even if I have BG readings we won't be able to establish a pattern for him. Please tell me what you would do.

2) How long should I wait to do a 24 hr curve again after he’s been on a consistent dose?

3) What would be the best time to spot check for the next few days?

4) How often should I spot check? Every Day? The vet recommended spot checks twice a week but I want your input.

5) Do diabetic kitties suffer from upset stomach a lot? Midnight has consistently had an upset stomach since we went to a higher dose of insulin. May not be related but it happens around the same time every night. The vet recommended giving him Mylanta.

6) Is Mylanta safe for cats?

Sorry for turning this post into a novel. Obviously, I need advice and reassurance. I have plugged my numbers into a SS if anyone needs to view them. I doubt you can tell much about them at this point but feel free to look. Any and all suggestions are welcome! The more the better! Thank you!
 
So here are my questions for now:
1) Would you guys who are pro’s shoot at a number as low 87, or say even 63? I feel like if I don't start shooting the same dose, I'm just going to continue this vicuous cycle of bouncing his BG all over the place and even if I have BG readings we won't be able to establish a pattern for him. Please tell me what you would do.

Congrats on hometesting already! I did shoot that low, doing sort of tight regulation. But I knew my cat. We generally recommend newbies not shoot below 200 until they know the cats response to insulin better. For Lantus, you do not want to miss shots, so if you get a low number like 87, then you evaluate wether your dose is too high or not. We suggest new posters continue on health for a bit, but if you havent already, you can take a look here at the Lantus Insulin support group STICKIES for more info on Lantus.

viewforum.php?f=9

Some of the current protocols for Lantus were not around when I was using it.

2) How long should I wait to do a 24 hr curve again after he’s been on a consistent dose?

You can do a 24 hour curve whenever you want. Many people do them on their days off from work. I used to do them at night when I couldnt sleep...

3) What would be the best time to spot check for the next few days?

One of the main reasons we advocate hometesting is to know if its safe to shoot insulin, so you want to get BG tests before the shot. AM PS=AM preshot, and PM PS= pm preshot. Lantus is most active 6 hours after the shot so if you can, spot test at 5 , 6 and 7 hours after the shot. OF course, ECID, every cat is different.. that is why curves are important. You can also do a curve over a few days..

4) How often should I spot check? Every Day? The vet recommended spot checks twice a week but I want your input.

See above

5) Do diabetic kitties suffer from upset stomach a lot? Midnight has consistently had an upset stomach since we went to a higher dose of insulin. May not be related but it happens around the same time every night. The vet recommended giving him Mylanta.

http://www.veterinarypartner.com/Content.plx?P=A&A=510
I think the methimazole is more likely to be the reason for the tummy upset.. also some kitties with kidney issues can have some nausea. Never heard of insulin causing vomiting but could happen in hypoglycemic episode. you might try some Pepcid AC 10mg (reg strength) 1/4 tablet. DO NOT GET PEPCID COMPLETE.

6) Is Mylanta safe for cats?

I found some references to yes, and some to no. I think the nos were more like it wouldnt help/not appropriate rather than dangerous/toxic.

You are already doing Great!! Welcome aboard!
 
Welcome to the board Dee! You and Midnight have come to the right place. This forum is chock full of wonderful information, and even better wonderful helpful people. They all are very nice.

Now I'm still quite a newbie myself, since my Danny wasn't diagnosed but a week ago, but I can suggest that you come join us in the Lantus Support group. You'll be more than welcome in Lantus Land. The protocol around here that many many kitties and their beans have had success with while on Lantus is called Tight Regulation. This sticky will explain more about it HERE

You can print out THIS for your vet so they can read up on the protocol and understand how it works. That way you and your vet can work together on getting Midnight regulated rather than going about it alone (well you wouldn't be quite alone per say cause we're here, but it's nice to have your vet on board), or with blinded guidance.

Healing thoughts to your Midnight! I hope you find a way to help her tummy. I can't offer any advice on that point.
 
Welcome Dee.

It is scary at first and confusing, but you're going to do great and so is Midnight. Half the battle is learning to hometest and you've already done that. You can see how important it is just by the numbers you've been getting.

Lantus is a great insulin, but it does need consistency to work at it's best. I think the doses you have been on are too high and that starting at a lower dose and being consistent with that dose will turn things around for you.

You've got some high numbers and some low numbers there. Are you familiar with hypoglycemia or ketones? I'd recommend getting some ketones sticks, the pharmacy will have them, the urine sticks that you can use.

I'd also check out the Lantus ISG and introduce yourself there. Others have already provided links to the stickies there, they'll be very helpful for you.
 
Dee & Midnight said:
Midnight started out at 0.5u per day and worked his way up to 3.0u twice a day over the course of a few vet visits.


The dose increase was made too fast. Lantus works best with consistency. You need to stick with a dose for at least a week before doing a curve and determining from that how much you should increase.

From your SS, youre not sticking with a dose for more than a few days. You may need to start back over at 1 unit twice a day and slowly increase from there. The Lantus board can help you with the dose increases.


Dee & Midnight said:
1) Would you guys who are pro’s shoot at a number as low 87, or say even 63? I feel like if I don't start shooting the same dose, I'm just going to continue this vicuous cycle of bouncing his BG all over the place and even if I have BG readings we won't be able to establish a pattern for him. Please tell me what you would do.


A "pro" who has tons of bg data on their cat may be able to shoot at those low numbers but newbies should NOT attempt this.


Dee & Midnight said:
3) What would be the best time to spot check for the next few days?

4) How often should I spot check? Every Day? The vet recommended spot checks twice a week but I want your input.


Spot check every day at random times. You need to gather data on how the inulin and dose works for your cat. Anytime works but be sure to get one between +4 and+6 or so because that's when Lantus tends to peak for most cats.
 
Hi Dee and welcome to FDMB. Here are the answers to your questions.

Dee & Midnight said:
1) Would you guys who are pro’s shoot at a number as low 87, or say even 63? I feel like if I don't start shooting the same dose, I'm just going to continue this vicuous cycle of bouncing his BG all over the place and even if I have BG readings we won't be able to establish a pattern for him. Please tell me what you would do.

1) No, do not shoot at that low of a number. For newbies we recommend not giving insulin unless the BG readings are 200 or higher. Giving insulin at that low of a reading, you highly risk your cat becoming hypoglycemic and that can cause death or permanent damage.

Dee & Midnight said:
2) How long should I wait to do a 24 hr curve again after he’s been on a consistent dose?

I recommend that you wait at least a week before doing your curve. That gives Midnight's body enough time to adjust to it and you will get more accurate readings. Also, if you have to increase his dose, only do it by 1/2 unit increments and wait at least a week before changing again.

Dee & Midnight said:
3) What would be the best time to spot check for the next few days?

You can spot check at any time, but usually wait at least 2-3 hours after the dose for the first check. Lantus usually reaches its peak at about the 6th - 9th hour after the last dose. However, make sure that you test every time before giving insulin.

Dee & Midnight said:
4) How often should I spot check? Every Day? The vet recommended spot checks twice a week but I want your input.

Once you are comfortable how well the dose is working, you can follow your vet's advice. Again, you must test before every shot though.
Dee & Midnight said:
5) Do diabetic kitties suffer from upset stomach a lot? Midnight has consistently had an upset stomach since we went to a higher dose of insulin. May not be related but it happens around the same time every night. The vet recommended giving him Mylanta.

That is not normal. You may be giving too high of a dose. I suggest you go back to a previous dose. Since you have not been hometesting, there is a high chance you missed your optimal dose. Most cats only need between 1-2 units twice a day, your current dose is extremely high and very dangerous. There is also a condition called Somogyi rebound which occurs when the dose is to high. In order to protect itself from becoming hypoglycemic, the cat's body produces extra glucose and you get higher BG readings. You may want to consider starting over with 1 unit and gradually working your way up to Midnight's optimal dose.

Dee & Midnight said:
6) Is Mylanta safe for cats?

I have never used it, so I am not sure on that. I will let other users respond.

Feline diabetes is a very manageable disease with diet, hometesting and insulin. You are off to a great start and we are here to help you.
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top