EmmynOscar's Mom
Member Since 2011
Hi,
First of all, I am so very grateful for this forum and the website and all the info and support I've already gleaned from it! Here's my story: one of my cats, Emmy (an 11 year old pale tortie) was diagnosed with diabetes about a month ago (6/8). In the vet's office, her blood sugar tested in the 400s. We were sent home with a kit (the AlphaTrak, which knowing what I know now I might not have gone with but I was stunned and just following the vet's advice) and started Emmy on 1 unit of Lantus. After a couple of home curves and gradual dose increases, we landed at 2 units 2x daily, which she has been receiving since 6/27 (two weeks). Prior to her diagnosis, she had been eating dry food (I had no idea how bad it was!) and so post-diagnosis and education (thanks FDMB!) we weaned her from dry food, (including the DM I got from the vet) and she is now exclusively eating a high protein, low-to-no-carb wet canned food.
Emmy is NOT a lap cat; she is a rescue and slightly feral, although very loving and affectionate as long as you're not confining or picking her up. Of course, that's exactly what we have to do to test her so it's quite traumatic for both of us. We give her love before and after, and no-carb treats after, but she doesn't like it anymore than she did the first time. That being the case, we haven't tested her in the last week and half or so. Then last night we tested her and her BG reading was 107, so we withheld insulin and tested again in two hours - her reading was then 59. She was playful and active and eating and showing no signs of hypo. This morning at 5:30am (24 hours after her last dose) her reading was 92, so once again, I did not give insulin (I can't be home all day to watch her and am concerned about hypo).
Thoughts, advice are welcome, appreciated and needed!
Janelle
First of all, I am so very grateful for this forum and the website and all the info and support I've already gleaned from it! Here's my story: one of my cats, Emmy (an 11 year old pale tortie) was diagnosed with diabetes about a month ago (6/8). In the vet's office, her blood sugar tested in the 400s. We were sent home with a kit (the AlphaTrak, which knowing what I know now I might not have gone with but I was stunned and just following the vet's advice) and started Emmy on 1 unit of Lantus. After a couple of home curves and gradual dose increases, we landed at 2 units 2x daily, which she has been receiving since 6/27 (two weeks). Prior to her diagnosis, she had been eating dry food (I had no idea how bad it was!) and so post-diagnosis and education (thanks FDMB!) we weaned her from dry food, (including the DM I got from the vet) and she is now exclusively eating a high protein, low-to-no-carb wet canned food.
Emmy is NOT a lap cat; she is a rescue and slightly feral, although very loving and affectionate as long as you're not confining or picking her up. Of course, that's exactly what we have to do to test her so it's quite traumatic for both of us. We give her love before and after, and no-carb treats after, but she doesn't like it anymore than she did the first time. That being the case, we haven't tested her in the last week and half or so. Then last night we tested her and her BG reading was 107, so we withheld insulin and tested again in two hours - her reading was then 59. She was playful and active and eating and showing no signs of hypo. This morning at 5:30am (24 hours after her last dose) her reading was 92, so once again, I did not give insulin (I can't be home all day to watch her and am concerned about hypo).
Thoughts, advice are welcome, appreciated and needed!
Janelle