Julie & Charlie
Member Since 2020
Hi. I’m Julie, mom to 13+ yo Charlie who was diagnosed with diabetes 8/20. I took him to the vet because he was drinking and peeing a lot and after some tests, discovered that his BG was something over 500 (I need to get a copy of the test) and he had lost some weight. The intent was to start him on 3 units of Lantus 2x day starting the following day-Friday, after I was able to get his insulin and supplies. That evening I researched FD and thankfully found felinediabetes.com and catinfo.org. Since we hadn’t started the insulin yet, I decided to try the fast switch from dry to low-carb canned food, hoping to get my vet’s approval the next day before our appointment. It turns out she wasn’t working that day so I rescheduled the instruction appointment to Monday. His BG at that appointment was 254 I believe, so I asked about lowering the dose based on the information on these websites about starting low and going slow. After some initial resistance they agreed to start him at 1 unit.
I did a curve 7 days after starting him on insulin with a starting point of 259 getting to a low of 99 at +4 & +6 and at 159 at +11.5. The vet clinic was closed so I decided to skip the evening dose worried about a 160 point drop overnight. The next couple of nights were all below 200 so I continued to skip the PM insulin dose, and at the follow up apt with my vet she didn’t advise me to change course so I’ve continued to do that. Morning numbers have stayed 284 or below since last Friday except a jump yesterday to 331. I thought skipping the nighttime dose was the right thing to do except now that I’ve had some time to do additional research I see a concern with uneven morning and evening dosing on Lantus.
I need to make a follow up appointment with the vet but I’m wondering what input you have.
I’m also just learning about “depot” and if that is a factor in the higher BG level yesterday.
The vet thinks that his diabetes was caused by the prednisolone he was on the last several months for asthma (plus he’s always been a bit, hefty ). He is off the steroid now and we’ve switched to an inhaler (with limited success) and my vet thinks there is a chance he may go into remission. But if I’m understanding correctly, TR is a better protocol than SLGS to achieve remission. I’m not sure what that looks like for Charlie.
Charlie seems to have arthritis, and asthma/allergies. He was previously treated with I-131 for hyperthyroidism summer of 2017 and has a heart murmur.
Thank you to everyone who posts to this forum. I’ve been reading and learning from the background. But boy, this is all so overwhelming.
I did a curve 7 days after starting him on insulin with a starting point of 259 getting to a low of 99 at +4 & +6 and at 159 at +11.5. The vet clinic was closed so I decided to skip the evening dose worried about a 160 point drop overnight. The next couple of nights were all below 200 so I continued to skip the PM insulin dose, and at the follow up apt with my vet she didn’t advise me to change course so I’ve continued to do that. Morning numbers have stayed 284 or below since last Friday except a jump yesterday to 331. I thought skipping the nighttime dose was the right thing to do except now that I’ve had some time to do additional research I see a concern with uneven morning and evening dosing on Lantus.
I need to make a follow up appointment with the vet but I’m wondering what input you have.
I’m also just learning about “depot” and if that is a factor in the higher BG level yesterday.
The vet thinks that his diabetes was caused by the prednisolone he was on the last several months for asthma (plus he’s always been a bit, hefty ). He is off the steroid now and we’ve switched to an inhaler (with limited success) and my vet thinks there is a chance he may go into remission. But if I’m understanding correctly, TR is a better protocol than SLGS to achieve remission. I’m not sure what that looks like for Charlie.
Charlie seems to have arthritis, and asthma/allergies. He was previously treated with I-131 for hyperthyroidism summer of 2017 and has a heart murmur.
Thank you to everyone who posts to this forum. I’ve been reading and learning from the background. But boy, this is all so overwhelming.
