Thebudster77
Member Since 2014
Hello Everyone,
This is an introduction of who we are and what we have gone through over the past 30 days. It may get long but I want to provide as much information I can in hopes of getting some good responses as well as to describe what I have been through should it help anyone else (the goal of the this message board).
Jack is the main character (for now). Male 10 years old, 9.24 lbs. and DX 8/9/14 with BG of 634. Diabetic neuropathy in front and hind legs.
- Vet prescribed 1u Lantus bid and change of diet to Purina DM wet ½ can 2x and 1/16 cup DM chows.
- I am also giving 4 drops Blood Sugar Gold (anybody else use this ?) and 3 mg AM/1.5 mg (PM) of Zobaline for the Diabetic Neuropathy.
Samantha is female, 14 years old and 14.9 lbs. She is “Big Boned” but could stand to lose a lb or 2. She was DX on 8/28 with BG of 305 (I knew the numbers using Jack’s AlphaTrak 270-388, ). After research, I am going to try Blood Sugar Gold (8 drops for 15 lbs.) for a month to see if I can get her numbers down without insulin. The vet prescribed .5u bid, should I not see an improvement. She would like to see under 200 at peak (+4 hours after feeding).
At this point, I am so close to that edge that appeared out of nowhere on 8/9 that, with 2 cats to monitor and 2 cats to shoot, that it might just push me over the proverbial cliff.
Both cats are on the same diet. ½ can DM + 1/16 cup DM chows at 6 AM and 6 PM and that’s it. Jack has to have it and Samantha could use to lose a little weight and help with her numbers. Both are used to feeding at 4 PM and free range of chows. Well my Furry Feline Children, things have changed.
The Saga….
After 8 days @ 1u and strict diet (no peace, 2 hours before 6 PM feeding) and (no sleep, 2 hours before 6 AM feeding) his numbers were still in the high 600’s.
I increased to 1.5u and the numbers started to come down got 424 @ +3 and 487 @ +5.
A couple of days later I got in contact with my vet and agreed to go to 2u. Still low 500’s.
Contacted Vet and agreed to go to 3 u. Got +5 280 and PMPS of 326. Headed in the right direction.
At my first curve (in more ways than 1), I got an AMPS of 150 (never been here before). I thought this was too low to give the 3u and opted for NO INSULIN. After consulting with my Vet later in the day, she said that @150 + 3u + food would probably been ok. A PMPS of 434 with no insulin and 3u’s it is.
5 days @ 3u’s and I am 1 day away from my 2nd curve. I am ready or so I thought.
I get an AMPS of 76. I am panicked. That’s too low to give 3u’s so I give just the food and within an hour it is 110, 2 hours 126, 4 hours 165.
I relayed a message to the Other Vet, as my regular one was not available, that maybe I should go to 2u.
She emailed me and said to continue 3u’s and next curve if I get a PS of <80 to call and discuss treatment. That is all that was said. I said to myself, Say what?
She gave me nothing to go on to continue 3u’s, possibly wind up @76 or worse again and to consult with her and reduce dosage. Those were my thoughts right, wrong or indifferent.
A quote that I have seen here (yes I was a lurker) came to mind. “Would you give your child Insulin without knowing what the BG numbers were?” Well I will NOT give MY children Insulin (or the same amount) if I think there is even a slight possibility of going Hypo. Not on my watch!
By PMPS it is 498 with having no AM shot, figures.
After further research and looking at a few posts here, I decided to decrease the dosage to 2u. The next day PMPS was 133. I thought back to the “3u @150 + food would have probably been ok” and said 2u at 133 + food sounds right.
Turns out it was wrong. I believe the logic to be correct. The 3u @ 150 + Food may not have been correct because ECID and things change. But just how different and what changed, are the real questions that yield few answers.
This is where things get a little hairy.
9/3/14 PM- Another 2u’s PM. I decide to test @ peak.
At +4 I get 69 (panic attack (Dad), shows no symptoms of Hypo (Jack). Fed a couple chows, he eats and is alert.
At +5 and 65, Dad reaches for the Karo (thank you for the tip about knowing where it is before you need to use it), Jack licks about 1 tsp. and eats a couple more chows.
At +6 it is 102. We are out of the woods for tonight. Dad needs rest and sleep if possible.
AMPS is 185. I am reducing to 1u based upon last night’s episode.
At +5 it is 171. PMPS is 158 (didn’t expect lower but ok within limits of the tester (AlphaTrak 2). Gave 1u. Tested @ +4 and got 101. Gave a tsp of wet DM and a couple of chows. Right now I am not sure why I fed him but those are my notes.
9/5 AMPS 220 (probably because of the extra food). Gave 1u. I had a recheck appointment at the Vet that day. He is walking better, grooming good, standing/squatting to urinate) and is vocal. He does say Hello when I say it to him, he is also saying Bless you when either my wife or I sneeze (normal sign). The Vet wanted to change to 2u’s. I negotiated 1.5u. The orders are take PS and peak (+4). If PS is between 70 and 100 only give 1u. If below 70 no insulin.
Tested at + 4.5 got 413. Huh? I swore I gave him the shot. Or Did I ? My mind is mush at this point. If I did give him the shot did I miss? I have shaved the area to ensure that I am confident that I get it all in. I dunno..
477 @ +8. Is showing a number that I would only expect had he gotten no shot. Like I said. Not sure and now I am beginning to second guess my every action. A reason why I am posting. Has anybody seen this? (Without the doubt about the shot of course).
I start the 1.5u in PM. At +3 (I peeked before the peak), it was 109. At +4 it was 90. Ok good.
Which brings us to today. Is anyone still with me here? I maybe providing too much information, too quickly and was, I thought, getting to a good place with Jack’s numbers and was seeking affirmation from the group here. And…….BAM!
AMPS 75. Ok the orders are, if between 100 and 70 reduce to 1u. I gave him 1u and will test at peak (+4).
Tested at +4 and got 39. I said NO WAY! I took another test on the other ear. 40 !!!!! HELP! What is going on here?
I gave him a tsp. of Karo and 1tblsp. Wet DM. He ate fine, is alert and grooming himself. Normal signs right!
Waited 1 hour and @ +5 (10 minutes ago) I got 78..ok..back to a safe number.
A bullet review and questions/concerns. ANY input would be greatly appreciated.
- Started out 8/9 @ 1u and getting high 500’s over 8 days.
- Changed to 2u’s. Numbers came down to mid-400’s over 6 days.
- Changed to 3u’s on 8/23. Did not test for a few days as both the Vet and my wife were like “Give him a break”. Got +5 280, PMPS of 326, then the 150 PS that I thought was too low but in hindsight was ok.
- After 2 more days of 3u’s, no testing. I did an AMPS to get ready for the next day’s curve. I got 76. Reduced dosage to 2u with nothing to go on to continue 3. Got the 69 and 65 at +4.
- Reduced to 1u for a day until Vet appt. and agreed to do 1.5u
- AM and PM PS’s in the 100-150 range.
- TODAY AMPS 75. Per orders if between 100 and 70 then only 1 unit. Gave 1 unit.
- +4 got 39, Re-tested in other ear. Got 40. Gave 1 tsp Karo and 1 tblsp. DM wet.
I really do not know what to think or do. I have no idea why a decrease in the dosage has gotten him this low. 1u with an AMPS of 75 and food…he ate it all! And at +4 I get 40!
I have no clue what to do now. It appears that even 1u is too much today. What about tomorrow? I suppose I can do ½ u.
Any input/suggestions would be greatly appreciated.
This Is just not what I was expecting.. To say the least.
I have attached a spreadsheet (multiple tabs), the vet gave me and I am keeping it up-to-date from the complete set of data I have in the AlphaTracker Software.
Anyway, I want to thank the owner of this board for this board, the information it provides and to the members that it has connected with and the shared advice/experiences that they have had.
My best to all you “Sugar Dancers” out there. May all your dances be short and not too stressful!
This is an introduction of who we are and what we have gone through over the past 30 days. It may get long but I want to provide as much information I can in hopes of getting some good responses as well as to describe what I have been through should it help anyone else (the goal of the this message board).
Jack is the main character (for now). Male 10 years old, 9.24 lbs. and DX 8/9/14 with BG of 634. Diabetic neuropathy in front and hind legs.
- Vet prescribed 1u Lantus bid and change of diet to Purina DM wet ½ can 2x and 1/16 cup DM chows.
- I am also giving 4 drops Blood Sugar Gold (anybody else use this ?) and 3 mg AM/1.5 mg (PM) of Zobaline for the Diabetic Neuropathy.
Samantha is female, 14 years old and 14.9 lbs. She is “Big Boned” but could stand to lose a lb or 2. She was DX on 8/28 with BG of 305 (I knew the numbers using Jack’s AlphaTrak 270-388, ). After research, I am going to try Blood Sugar Gold (8 drops for 15 lbs.) for a month to see if I can get her numbers down without insulin. The vet prescribed .5u bid, should I not see an improvement. She would like to see under 200 at peak (+4 hours after feeding).
At this point, I am so close to that edge that appeared out of nowhere on 8/9 that, with 2 cats to monitor and 2 cats to shoot, that it might just push me over the proverbial cliff.
Both cats are on the same diet. ½ can DM + 1/16 cup DM chows at 6 AM and 6 PM and that’s it. Jack has to have it and Samantha could use to lose a little weight and help with her numbers. Both are used to feeding at 4 PM and free range of chows. Well my Furry Feline Children, things have changed.
The Saga….
After 8 days @ 1u and strict diet (no peace, 2 hours before 6 PM feeding) and (no sleep, 2 hours before 6 AM feeding) his numbers were still in the high 600’s.
I increased to 1.5u and the numbers started to come down got 424 @ +3 and 487 @ +5.
A couple of days later I got in contact with my vet and agreed to go to 2u. Still low 500’s.
Contacted Vet and agreed to go to 3 u. Got +5 280 and PMPS of 326. Headed in the right direction.
At my first curve (in more ways than 1), I got an AMPS of 150 (never been here before). I thought this was too low to give the 3u and opted for NO INSULIN. After consulting with my Vet later in the day, she said that @150 + 3u + food would probably been ok. A PMPS of 434 with no insulin and 3u’s it is.
5 days @ 3u’s and I am 1 day away from my 2nd curve. I am ready or so I thought.
I get an AMPS of 76. I am panicked. That’s too low to give 3u’s so I give just the food and within an hour it is 110, 2 hours 126, 4 hours 165.
I relayed a message to the Other Vet, as my regular one was not available, that maybe I should go to 2u.
She emailed me and said to continue 3u’s and next curve if I get a PS of <80 to call and discuss treatment. That is all that was said. I said to myself, Say what?
She gave me nothing to go on to continue 3u’s, possibly wind up @76 or worse again and to consult with her and reduce dosage. Those were my thoughts right, wrong or indifferent.
A quote that I have seen here (yes I was a lurker) came to mind. “Would you give your child Insulin without knowing what the BG numbers were?” Well I will NOT give MY children Insulin (or the same amount) if I think there is even a slight possibility of going Hypo. Not on my watch!
By PMPS it is 498 with having no AM shot, figures.
After further research and looking at a few posts here, I decided to decrease the dosage to 2u. The next day PMPS was 133. I thought back to the “3u @150 + food would have probably been ok” and said 2u at 133 + food sounds right.
Turns out it was wrong. I believe the logic to be correct. The 3u @ 150 + Food may not have been correct because ECID and things change. But just how different and what changed, are the real questions that yield few answers.
This is where things get a little hairy.
9/3/14 PM- Another 2u’s PM. I decide to test @ peak.
At +4 I get 69 (panic attack (Dad), shows no symptoms of Hypo (Jack). Fed a couple chows, he eats and is alert.
At +5 and 65, Dad reaches for the Karo (thank you for the tip about knowing where it is before you need to use it), Jack licks about 1 tsp. and eats a couple more chows.
At +6 it is 102. We are out of the woods for tonight. Dad needs rest and sleep if possible.
AMPS is 185. I am reducing to 1u based upon last night’s episode.
At +5 it is 171. PMPS is 158 (didn’t expect lower but ok within limits of the tester (AlphaTrak 2). Gave 1u. Tested @ +4 and got 101. Gave a tsp of wet DM and a couple of chows. Right now I am not sure why I fed him but those are my notes.
9/5 AMPS 220 (probably because of the extra food). Gave 1u. I had a recheck appointment at the Vet that day. He is walking better, grooming good, standing/squatting to urinate) and is vocal. He does say Hello when I say it to him, he is also saying Bless you when either my wife or I sneeze (normal sign). The Vet wanted to change to 2u’s. I negotiated 1.5u. The orders are take PS and peak (+4). If PS is between 70 and 100 only give 1u. If below 70 no insulin.
Tested at + 4.5 got 413. Huh? I swore I gave him the shot. Or Did I ? My mind is mush at this point. If I did give him the shot did I miss? I have shaved the area to ensure that I am confident that I get it all in. I dunno..
477 @ +8. Is showing a number that I would only expect had he gotten no shot. Like I said. Not sure and now I am beginning to second guess my every action. A reason why I am posting. Has anybody seen this? (Without the doubt about the shot of course).
I start the 1.5u in PM. At +3 (I peeked before the peak), it was 109. At +4 it was 90. Ok good.
Which brings us to today. Is anyone still with me here? I maybe providing too much information, too quickly and was, I thought, getting to a good place with Jack’s numbers and was seeking affirmation from the group here. And…….BAM!
AMPS 75. Ok the orders are, if between 100 and 70 reduce to 1u. I gave him 1u and will test at peak (+4).
Tested at +4 and got 39. I said NO WAY! I took another test on the other ear. 40 !!!!! HELP! What is going on here?
I gave him a tsp. of Karo and 1tblsp. Wet DM. He ate fine, is alert and grooming himself. Normal signs right!
Waited 1 hour and @ +5 (10 minutes ago) I got 78..ok..back to a safe number.
A bullet review and questions/concerns. ANY input would be greatly appreciated.
- Started out 8/9 @ 1u and getting high 500’s over 8 days.
- Changed to 2u’s. Numbers came down to mid-400’s over 6 days.
- Changed to 3u’s on 8/23. Did not test for a few days as both the Vet and my wife were like “Give him a break”. Got +5 280, PMPS of 326, then the 150 PS that I thought was too low but in hindsight was ok.
- After 2 more days of 3u’s, no testing. I did an AMPS to get ready for the next day’s curve. I got 76. Reduced dosage to 2u with nothing to go on to continue 3. Got the 69 and 65 at +4.
- Reduced to 1u for a day until Vet appt. and agreed to do 1.5u
- AM and PM PS’s in the 100-150 range.
- TODAY AMPS 75. Per orders if between 100 and 70 then only 1 unit. Gave 1 unit.
- +4 got 39, Re-tested in other ear. Got 40. Gave 1 tsp Karo and 1 tblsp. DM wet.
I really do not know what to think or do. I have no idea why a decrease in the dosage has gotten him this low. 1u with an AMPS of 75 and food…he ate it all! And at +4 I get 40!
I have no clue what to do now. It appears that even 1u is too much today. What about tomorrow? I suppose I can do ½ u.
Any input/suggestions would be greatly appreciated.
This Is just not what I was expecting.. To say the least.
I have attached a spreadsheet (multiple tabs), the vet gave me and I am keeping it up-to-date from the complete set of data I have in the AlphaTracker Software.
Anyway, I want to thank the owner of this board for this board, the information it provides and to the members that it has connected with and the shared advice/experiences that they have had.
My best to all you “Sugar Dancers” out there. May all your dances be short and not too stressful!