New Member_Twix (transitioning diet)

Status
Not open for further replies.
Hi everyone,

My name is Sam, and I’m reaching out for advice regarding my cat, Twix, who was recently diagnosed with diabetes. I’m realizing that his current diet isn’t appropriate, and I’m looking to safely transition him from free-feeding dry food to a low-carb, soft food diet. I'd really appreciate any advice on how to do this safely, especially since he’s already started insulin injections.

Twix’s Background:

  • Age: 15 years old
  • Medical History:
    • Diagnosed with hyperthyroidism two years ago; was on oral meds for one year before receiving I-131 treatment (about a year ago).
    • Post-I-131 treatment, he became hypothyroid and started hypothyroid meds, but had a bad reaction, so we discontinued them. Bad reaction was in my opinion as he was looking really healthy and had great coat and gaining back weight. But once we started hypothyroid meds he got a very greasy coat and mats and I had to shave him. His coat improved after we discontinued use so at the time this indicated to us we made the right choice. However, now in hindsight we realize that may not have been the best choice for him.
    • Following this, Twix got sick, was diagnosed with E. coli, and shortly after, diabetes, and still was hypothyroid. Started antibiotics and hypothyroid meds. Then after a couple weeks of hypothyroid meds retested for diabetes to confirm diagnosis.
    • He is now back on daily hypothyroid meds, Levothyroxine, and started ProZinc insulin injections (twice daily) on August 21st. His insulin dosage has increased from 1 unit to 4 units.
    • He is currently experiencing diabetic neuropathy
  • Current Monitoring: Twix wears a Libre3 sensor for 24/7 glucose monitoring.
  • Recent Insulin Response: He has had two good curve days (about a week ago), but most days his glucose doesn’t dip below 350.
  • Current Diet:
    • Free-fed kibble (a mixture of Kirkland Signature Chicken & Rice and Prescription Urinary Care PD c/d Multicare)
    • Prior to insulin, he received Fancy Feast Appetizers twice a day. Yesterday I switched this to Fancy Feast Gourmet Naturals (high protein, 0 carbs), and he’s responded well to the change.
My Concern: My vet and I are worried Twix could be insulin-resistant, but I know his diet likely plays a huge role. While the vet gave me some information and shared this website with me, I’m realizing I need to focus more on his diet. I’m concerned about making the switch too quickly because I work 5 days a week (6–10-hour shifts) and can’t monitor him constantly.

I am very fortunate to have a very good line of communication with my vet and can message him regularly. But I am obviously very cautious regarding a hypoglycemic episode.

Yesterday - I started by removing the Fancy Feast Appetizers and switching to Fancy Feast Gourmet Naturals, which seems to have helped. His insulin lasted longer last night, and although his glucose didn’t dip below 300, it did finally dip below 350 for several hours and it is an improvement.

What I Need Help With:

  • What’s the safest way to transition him to a low-carb, soft food diet without causing a dangerous drop in his glucose levels?
  • Since I’m not home all day, how can I manage the transition while ensuring Twix stays safe?
  • Any other diet recommendations or tips for managing his diabetes and hypothyroidism together?
Thanks so much for your help—I really want to give Twix the best care & chance possible! I also want to try to make improvements quickly as he is not living his best life currently and I do not want to prolong things too long if he does, in fact, have more underlying issues and is insulin resistent.
 
Last edited:
Hi everyone,

My name is Sam, and I’m reaching out for advice regarding my cat, Twix, who was recently diagnosed with diabetes. I’m realizing that his current diet isn’t appropriate, and I’m looking to safely transition him from free-feeding dry food to a low-carb, soft food diet. I'd really appreciate any advice on how to do this safely, especially since he’s already started insulin injections.

Twix’s Background:

  • Age: 15 years old
  • Medical History:
    • Diagnosed with hyperthyroidism two years ago; was on oral meds for one year before receiving I-131 treatment (about a year ago).
    • Post-I-131 treatment, he became hypothyroid and started hypothyroid meds, but had a bad reaction, so we discontinued them.
    • Following this, Twix got sick, was diagnosed with E. coli, and shortly after, diabetes, and still was hypothyroid. Started antibiotics and hypothyroid meds. Then after a couple weeks of hypothyroid meds retested for diabetes to confirm diagnosis.
    • He is now back on daily hypothyroid meds, Levothyroxine, and started ProZinc insulin injections (twice daily) on August 21st. His insulin dosage has increased from 1 unit to 4 units.
  • Current Monitoring: Twix wears a Libre2 sensor for 24/7 glucose monitoring.
  • Recent Insulin Response: He has had two good curve days (about a week ago), but most days his glucose doesn’t dip below 350.
  • Current Diet:
    • Free-fed kibble (a mixture of prescription Kirkland Signature Chicken & Rice and Prescription Urinary Care PD c/d Multicare)
    • Prior to insulin, he received Fancy Feast Appetizers twice a day. Yesterday I switched this to Fancy Feast Gourmet Naturals (high protein, 0 carbs), and he’s responded well to the change.
My Concern: My vet and I are worried Twix could be insulin-resistant, but I know his diet likely plays a huge role. While the vet gave me some information and shared this website with me, I’m realizing I need to focus more on his diet. I’m concerned about making the switch too quickly because I work 5 days a week (6–10-hour shifts) and can’t monitor him constantly.

I am very fortunate to have a very good line of communication with my vet and can message him regularly. But I am obviously very cautious regarding a hypoglycemic episode.

Yesterday - I started by removing the Fancy Feast Appetizers and switching to Fancy Feast Gourmet Naturals, which seems to have helped. His insulin lasted longer last night, and although his glucose didn’t dip below 300, it did finally dip below 350 for several hours and it is an improvement.

What I Need Help With:

  • What’s the safest way to transition him to a low-carb, soft food diet without causing a dangerous drop in his glucose levels?
  • Since I’m not home all day, how can I manage the transition while ensuring Twix stays safe?
  • Any other diet recommendations or tips for managing his diabetes and hypothyroidism together?
Thanks so much for your help—I really want to give Twix the best care possible!
@Suzanne & Darcy
@Sienne and Gabby (GA)
@Wendy&Neko
 
Hi everyone,

My name is Sam, and I’m reaching out for advice regarding my cat, Twix, who was recently diagnosed with diabetes. I’m realizing that his current diet isn’t appropriate, and I’m looking to safely transition him from free-feeding dry food to a low-carb, soft food diet. I'd really appreciate any advice on how to do this safely, especially since he’s already started insulin injections.

Twix’s Background:

  • Age: 15 years old
  • Medical History:
    • Diagnosed with hyperthyroidism two years ago; was on oral meds for one year before receiving I-131 treatment (about a year ago).
    • Post-I-131 treatment, he became hypothyroid and started hypothyroid meds, but had a bad reaction, so we discontinued them.
    • Following this, Twix got sick, was diagnosed with E. coli, and shortly after, diabetes, and still was hypothyroid. Started antibiotics and hypothyroid meds. Then after a couple weeks of hypothyroid meds retested for diabetes to confirm diagnosis.
    • He is now back on daily hypothyroid meds, Levothyroxine, and started ProZinc insulin injections (twice daily) on August 21st. His insulin dosage has increased from 1 unit to 4 units.
  • Current Monitoring: Twix wears a Libre2 sensor for 24/7 glucose monitoring.
  • Recent Insulin Response: He has had two good curve days (about a week ago), but most days his glucose doesn’t dip below 350.
  • Current Diet:
    • Free-fed kibble (a mixture of prescription Kirkland Signature Chicken & Rice and Prescription Urinary Care PD c/d Multicare)
    • Prior to insulin, he received Fancy Feast Appetizers twice a day. Yesterday I switched this to Fancy Feast Gourmet Naturals (high protein, 0 carbs), and he’s responded well to the change.
My Concern: My vet and I are worried Twix could be insulin-resistant, but I know his diet likely plays a huge role. While the vet gave me some information and shared this website with me, I’m realizing I need to focus more on his diet. I’m concerned about making the switch too quickly because I work 5 days a week (6–10-hour shifts) and can’t monitor him constantly.

I am very fortunate to have a very good line of communication with my vet and can message him regularly. But I am obviously very cautious regarding a hypoglycemic episode.

Yesterday - I started by removing the Fancy Feast Appetizers and switching to Fancy Feast Gourmet Naturals, which seems to have helped. His insulin lasted longer last night, and although his glucose didn’t dip below 300, it did finally dip below 350 for several hours and it is an improvement.

What I Need Help With:

  • What’s the safest way to transition him to a low-carb, soft food diet without causing a dangerous drop in his glucose levels?
  • Since I’m not home all day, how can I manage the transition while ensuring Twix stays safe?
  • Any other diet recommendations or tips for managing his diabetes and hypothyroidism together?
Thanks so much for your help—I really want to give Twix the best care possible!

Welcome Sam & Twix, you are in the right place thank you for all the information on Twix, but we need a bit more, click on the blue link below, and fill out as much as you can about Twix, you can start by creating a spreadsheet as well this way all the members can see the progress, you have him on Fancy Feast which is great he should have a diet that consist between 0-10% carbs, the kibbles, not good, they contain approximately between 20-33% carbs and more, it's important you have handy what is called a HYPO KIY this contains KARO syrup/or honey 12-14% medium carb foods and some High carb foods(gravies) 15-18% carbs, in case his glucose gets 60.s the Karo and honey if on 50m or below as a quick fix to rise the Bg quicker. the food chart link has many brands to choose from, but you made a great choice already, the third column contains the carb %s. is great you are home testing, however, let me warn you about the Libre, they are not reliable, the sensors tend to stop working before the 14 days, they read the low BGs extremely inaccurately, and if Twix were to have a BG higher than 350 the monitor will only read HI, most of us members like to use the ReliON Human Premier monitor and strips, very inexpensive(Walmart) and very reliable. try to read as many of the sticky notes in the Main Forum, they really help answer a lot of questions, we are here as well of course, no concern is too small, as soon as you can create the spreadsheet and signature, so we can guide you quickly and effectively:bighug::cat::cat: again Welcome!
https://www.felinediabetes.com/FDMB/threads/new-how-you-can-help-us-help-you.216696/
https://www.felinediabetes.com/FDMB/threads/dr-pierson-new-food-chart.174147/
https://www.felinediabetes.com/FDMB/threads/how-to-create-a-spreadsheet.241706/
 
One of our favorite resources for information on feline nutrition is a website authored by Lisa Pierson, DVM. She has made it her "mission" to educate cat owners about feeding their cat a species appropriate diet. There is a section on her website regarding transitioning a cat to a canned food diet. The information is not specific to a diabetic cat but it is applicable. Regardless of whether a cat is diabetic, you want to make the transition fairly slowly since many cats respond to any change in diet with a GI upset if you go too quickly.

If I'm understanding your post correctly, Twix is still eating kibble. Without a doubt, the dry food is keeping his blood glucose (BG) levels elevated. It sounds like you may be home testing? If so, that will also help to guide you both with transitioning Twix's diet and with managing his insulin dose.

Given that you work outside of your home, you might want to consider purchasing a timed feeder. For many of us who work and have a diabetic cat, knowing that low carb food is available throughout the day was a way to ease our anxiety about not being home to keep an eye on our kitty. There are feeders available where you can put an ice pack in the base to keep food cool.

If you're planning on joining us throughout Twix's diabetes journey, we encourage new members to add information about their cat to their signature (so we don't pester you by asking the same questions repeatedly) and to set up a spreadsheet. The spreadsheet allows you to track your cat's progress and it allows us to follow along and offer guidance. The information on signature and spreadsheet is in this post on helping us to help you.

Please let us know how we can help.
 
One of our favorite resources for information on feline nutrition is a website authored by Lisa Pierson, DVM. She has made it her "mission" to educate cat owners about feeding their cat a species appropriate diet. There is a section on her website regarding transitioning a cat to a canned food diet. The information is not specific to a diabetic cat but it is applicable. Regardless of whether a cat is diabetic, you want to make the transition fairly slowly since many cats respond to any change in diet with a GI upset if you go too quickly.

If I'm understanding your post correctly, Twix is still eating kibble. Without a doubt, the dry food is keeping his blood glucose (BG) levels elevated. It sounds like you may be home testing? If so, that will also help to guide you both with transitioning Twix's diet and with managing his insulin dose.

Given that you work outside of your home, you might want to consider purchasing a timed feeder. For many of us who work and have a diabetic cat, knowing that low carb food is available throughout the day was a way to ease our anxiety about not being home to keep an eye on our kitty. There are feeders available where you can put an ice pack in the base to keep food cool.

If you're planning on joining us throughout Twix's diabetes journey, we encourage new members to add information about their cat to their signature (so we don't pester you by asking the same questions repeatedly) and to set up a spreadsheet. The spreadsheet allows you to track your cat's progress and it allows us to follow along and offer guidance. The information on signature and spreadsheet is in this post on helping us to help you.

Please let us know how we can help.

Yes, thank you. My vet suggested that website to me and I've been all over it the last two days, which is how I found this forum and the food to switch him to! She does mention multiple times that going to low carb could create a hypoglycemic episode, which is why I am worried about making the transition slowly and appropriately. I switched his food last night. I stopped feeding him Fancy Feast Appetizers and started feeding him Fancy Fest Naturals 2x per day. His chart was significantly better today. I have continued free-feeding him his kibble as not to make too big of a change too quickly. Especially since I am working a lot in the upcoming week(s) and I can't be home to monitor him all day. So this worries me a lot. Thanks for your help!
 
Last edited:
Welcome Sam & Twix, you are in the right place thank you for all the information on Twix, but we need a bit more, click on the blue link below, and fill out as much as you can about Twix, you can start by creating a spreadsheet as well this way all the members can see the progress, you have him on Fancy Feast which is great he should have a diet that consist between 0-10% carbs, the kibbles, not good, they contain approximately between 20-33% carbs and more, it's important you have handy what is called a HYPO KIY this contains KARO syrup/or honey 12-14% medium carb foods and some High carb foods(gravies) 15-18% carbs, in case his glucose gets 60.s the Karo and honey if on 50m or below as a quick fix to rise the Bg quicker. the food chart link has many brands to choose from, but you made a great choice already, the third column contains the carb %s. is great you are home testing, however, let me warn you about the Libre, they are not reliable, the sensors tend to stop working before the 14 days, they read the low BGs extremely inaccurately, and if Twix were to have a BG higher than 350 the monitor will only read HI, most of us members like to use the ReliON Human Premier monitor and strips, very inexpensive(Walmart) and very reliable. try to read as many of the sticky notes in the Main Forum, they really help answer a lot of questions, we are here as well of course, no concern is too small, as soon as you can create the spreadsheet and signature, so we can guide you quickly and effectively:bighug::cat::cat: again Welcome!
https://www.felinediabetes.com/FDMB/threads/new-how-you-can-help-us-help-you.216696/
https://www.felinediabetes.com/FDMB/threads/dr-pierson-new-food-chart.174147/
https://www.felinediabetes.com/FDMB/threads/how-to-create-a-spreadsheet.241706/

Thank you. I have honey at home, but I will look into a hypo kit. The Freestyle Libre3 is a bit expensive, but super convenient and makes me feel like I can get a good grasp on numbers at any time. It is discouraging to hear it doesn't have the most reliable readings. I will look into these other monitor options.
 
Have a hypo kit ready if needed
Med and High Carb food and have honey in your house



Fancy Feast Gravy Lovers Gourmet Beef Feast in Gravy 20% High Carbs

Fancy Feast Gravy Lovers Gourmet Chicken Feast in Gravy 15% Med Carbs

Fancy Feast Gravy Lovers Turkey Feast in Gravy 15% Med Carbs

Fancy Feast Gravy Lovers Chicken and Beef in Gravy 15% Med Carbs

Good idea to mark the cans with magic marker how many carbs

Or any on the food chart. Doesn't have to be Fancy Feast just an example about the med and high carb foods



https://felinediabetes.com/FDMB/threads/dr-pierson-new-food-

10% and under is low carb
11% -15 is medium carbs.

16- 24 is high carb.

@Samantha Styles
 
Here is the link for the meter and test strips so you don't have to search for them
Relion Premier Classic Meter at Walmart for 9 dollars
https://www.walmart.com/ip/ReliOn-Premier-CLASSIC-Blood-Glucose-Monitoring-System/552134103

The tests strips are 17.88 for 100
https://www.walmart.com/ip/ReliOn-Premier-Blood-Glucose-Test-Strips-100-Count/575088197
At least if you need more test strips you can run into Walmart and pick them up or if you're running low you can just order them from Walmart


Always aim for the sweet spot warm the ears up first, you can put rice in a sock and put it in the microwave, test it on the inside of your wrist to be sure it's not to hot, like you would test a babies bottle. You can fill a pill bottle with warm water and roll it on the ears also.Just keep rubbing the ears with your fingers to warm them up
c2b8079a-b471-4fa6-ac36-9ac1c8d6dcca-jpeg.57072
fec17d29-5ab4-44a8-912b-3a91944c3954-jpeg.57073

6. As the ears get used to bleeding and grow more capilares, it gets easier to get the amount of blood you need on the first try. If he won’t stand still, you can get the blood onto a clean finger nail and test from there.
When you do get some blood you can try milking the ear.
Get you finger and gently push up toward the blood , more will appear
You will put the cotton round behind his ear in case you poke your finger, after you are done testing you will fold the cotton round over his ear to stop the bleeding , press gently for about 10 or 20 seconds until it stops
Get 26 or 28 gauge lancets
A lot of us use the lancets to test freehand not the lancing device
I find it better to see where I'm aiming
Look at the lancet under a light and you will see one side is curved upward, that's the side you want to poke with

Try putting a thin layer of Vaselineon the ear so the blood will bead up

@Samantha Styles
 
Last edited:
I changed Twix’s soft food to Fancy Feast naturals pate 2x a day. This immediately made a difference in his numbers and chart. For about 3-4 days. Then he reverted back to not responding. He’s done this previously in our journey. It’s hard because it starts to look super encouraging and like we’re making progress, then he just stops responding. It’s very difficult to watch because as soon as he stops responding it becomes noticeable within days. He starts peeing outside of liter box and more frequently again, his neuropathy starts to get worse again. Once we start to have a couple days of nicer looking graphs he seems to perk up. I have been still free feeding him kibble as to not do his transition too fast. I started eliminating the kibble in evenings more recently, to again, slowly transition. As I don’t want him to have a hypoglycemic episode by making dramatic changes too fast. I can go cold turkey and completely eliminate the hard kibble, but we were just having multiple days of better charts and he seems to be responding well. But then just stopped. So it doesn’t make sense to me. He also had to get started on metronidazole again because he has really bad discolored diarrhea. Which vet suspects could potentially be diet change, or another underlying issue.

Has anyone here has issues with their cat reposing well for several days and then just stopping? We know he has thyroid issues which we’re doing our best to control, we are becoming increasingly concerned he has another underlying issue.
 
I’m working on transferring data from his libre monitor to his spreadsheet.

But I removed all dry kibble access and it has helped his numbers tremendously!

yesterday 10/04 he got to and stayed in the 130-150 range for a majority of the day! At his 6 pm feeding & shot time he was at 142, so I skipped his pm shot and have a message into his vet. But I haven’t heard back from his vet yet. It is unlikely I’ll hear back from him before Twix’s 6am shot is due.

I’m also part of an online FB group and she suggested I cut his morning dose in half.

it’s 3 am and he’s due for shot in 3 hours and currently up to 377. But transition has been slowly going how looks like his insulin yesterday lasted a good chunk of his day.

curious if you guys agree with lowering him from 4 units to 2 as well.

I will not be home during the day tomorrow to monitor him.

Libre3 chart photos: https://1drv.ms/f/s!AtOLpuYvHyijg8tob64SwGTjbf8eCg
 
Okay, I have started a spreadsheet for Twix. He has been pulling off his Libre sensors now & I’ve gone through 3 in one week. I'm a bit bummed as the data collection from Libre Sensor is super easy and comprehensive, which has been nice while trying to get him under control. But, I can't put a new monitor on him every couple of days, so I have now switched to the ReliOn and I am manually testing. Our first prick came with some hiccups, but overall, it went okay. I don't prefer it, but it is what it is!

After having to skip a PM shot 4 days ago we have reduced him from 4 units to 2 units. We are keeping him on 2 units for the time being and continuing to monitor him. I have also added a lunch feeding to his diet.
 
Okay, I have started a spreadsheet for Twix. He has been pulling off his Libre sensors now & I’ve gone through 3 in one week. I'm a bit bummed as the data collection from Libre Sensor is super easy and comprehensive, which has been nice while trying to get him under control. But, I can't put a new monitor on him every couple of days, so I have now switched to the ReliOn and I am manually testing. Our first prick came with some hiccups, but overall, it went okay. I don't prefer it, but it is what it is!

After having to skip a PM shot 4 days ago we have reduced him from 4 units to 2 units. We are keeping him on 2 units for the time being and continuing to monitor him. I have also added a lunch feeding to his diet.
Tagging a Prozinc to look at your spreadsheet and about the dose
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top