New member

heavenlydogs

Member Since 2026
Hi
My names Toni
My kitty, Whiskey, was diagnosed Tuesday with diabetes at seven years she's a spayed female Grey tabby DSH. She didn't eat Sunday night or Monday morning and she vomited twice Sunday night. I took her to the vet Monday morning and she was hospitalized until Wednesday. She didn't eat well at the clinic but they did get her to eat a little MD prescription canned. At home she refused the prescription food but ate 1/4 cup of Vital essentials freeze dried and the next day about 1/4 cup of northwest naturals turkey freeze dried both foods rehydrated. I'm very nervous she's not eating better. I've tried honest kitchen dehydrated she was on that and vital essentials before. I've tried several different cans of food, tiki cat moose sardines, treats, bone broth and goats milk, she's refusing all. I just got a glucose meter (AlphaTrack3) today and her morning read was 244 before 2 units of ProZinc insulin from a 40 u syringe mid day 112 before bed 166. I called the vet they said be patient with her not eating much. If she doesn't eat overnight I'll call in the morning again. She's my first diabetic pet. I'm overwhelmed. I just lost my 7 year old Golden Retriever to hemangiosarcoma in November and that broke my heart.
Update I left a buffet of food out for her last night she ate her Honest kitchen dehydrated rehydrated and ate more this morning. Thank God 😊
 

Attachments

  • 20251215_144300.jpg
    20251215_144300.jpg
    2.5 MB · Views: 10
Last edited:
Welcome to FDMB Toni and Whisky
The good news is that Feline Diabetes is manageable with the right insulin, home testing, low carb foods, feeding schedule, and lots of love
You have a full gang there, just like me, ProZinc is a great insulin it is a 12-hour insulin easy on cats, it is important that Whisky has several meals during the day, especially 2 hours after shot to keep the insulin in check, You can always as the Vet to prescribe MIRATZ, is an appetite enhancement, a small tube goes a long way, a pin tip size rubbed in the inside fold of the ear exchanging ears every day for 4-5 days, works miracles .Diabetic cats need to have a diet of wet can or raw foods between 0-10% carbs, and a good feeding schedule, so the MD foods are out of the question they contain higher than 20% carbs, most members feed Fancy Feast pates between 0-10% most feed up to 5%, this food is US made so is regulated nd no waste goes into the food;
since you have multiple pets (dogs)?it would be a good idea for Whisky's sake and future diabetic issues with the rest, to make the change, the transition from any regular foods to low carbs needs to be a slow transition. Kibbles are high in carbs between 29-30% and cats cannot digest carbs I see you are following whisky’s glucose levels which you are home testing, how are you home testing, does Whisky has a CGM or are you using a manual testing monitor? "I do not give dosing advice, but 2 units seem like a lot of insulin,
You should create a HYPO KIT this contains some medium carb foods between 11-15% carbs some high carb foods between 16-24% carbs , some Honey or Karo Syrum, this is in case the glucose level gets lower than 50, we can help you hike up the BG with food first before the syrups since these are just a quick fix. and some cats are very sensitive to carbs, my Corky is, just a dash of carbs and his BG can spike up
We are very numbers oriented, so we would love to help you with any concerns and dosing advice, so to all the members can be on the same page, we would like you to create your signature and Whisky's Spreadsheet, links below. also a Drs approved food list, with many brands to choose from, the third column contains the carb% for each food, We are here for you. 🤗, in the meantime I will tag a member that can assist you with ProZinc dosing
@Suzanne & Darcy
Sticky - New? How You Can Help Us Help You!
https://felinediabetes.com/FDMB/threads/how-to-create-a-spreadsheet.241706/

https://catinfo.org/docs/CatFoodProteinFatCarbPhosphorusChart.pdf
 
Last edited:
Welcome to FDMB Toni and Whisky
The good news is that Feline Diabetes is manageable with the right insulin, home testing, low carb foods, feeding schedule, and lots of love
You have a full gang there, just like me, ProZinc is a great insulin it is a 12-hour insulin easy on cats, it is important that Whisky has several meals during the day, especially 2 hours after shot to keep the insulin in check, You can always as the Vet to prescribe MIRATZ, is an appetite enhancement, a small tube goes a long way, a pin tip size rubbed in the inside fold of the ear exchanging ears every day for 4-5 days, works miracles .Diabetic cats need to have a diet of wet can or raw foods between 0-10% carbs, and a good feeding schedule, so the MD foods are out of the question they contain higher than 20% carbs, most members feed Fancy Feast pates between 0-10% most feed up to 5%, this food is US made so is regulated nd no waste goes into the food;
since you have multiple pets (dogs)?it would be a good idea for Whisky's sake and future diabetic issues with the rest, to make the change, the transition from any regular foods to low carbs needs to be a slow transition. Kibbles are high in carbs between 29-30% and cats cannot digest carbs I see you are following whisky’s glucose levels which you are home testing, how are you home testing, does Whisky has a CGM or are you using a manual testing monitor? "I do not give dosing advice, but 2 units seem like a lot of insulin,
You should create a HYPO KIT this contains some medium carb foods between 11-15% carbs some high carb foods between 16-24% carbs , some Honey or Karo Syrum, this is in case the glucose level gets lower than 50, we can help you hike up the BG with food first before the syrups since these are just a quick fix. and some cats are very sensitive to carbs, my Corky is, just a dash of carbs and his BG can spike up
We are very numbers oriented, so we would love to help you with any concerns and dosing advice, so to all the members can be on the same page, we would like you to create your signature and Whisky's Spreadsheet, links below. also a Drs approved food list, with many brands to choose from, the third column contains the carb% for each food, We are here for you. 🤗, in the meantime I will tag a member that can assist you with ProZinc dosing
@Suzanne & Darcy
Sticky - New? How You Can Help Us Help You!
https://felinediabetes.com/FDMB/threads/how-to-create-a-spreadsheet.241706/

https://catinfo.org/docs/CatFoodProteinFatCarbPhosphorusChart.pdf
Thank you. I got the AlphaTrack3 glucose meter. I will work on the spreadsheet.
 
Excellent, good job!! Nice blues, please make you hypo kit and always have it handy
Yes. I have the kibble and Karo syrup. I have chihuahuas so I'm very familiar with hypoglycemia. Very common and fatal in chihuahua puppies. In dogs they often recommend vanilla ice cream. Like after a seizure. I've always reached for Karo syrup or honey in a adult chihuahuas. Never had to worry about this in cat before. Thank you for all your help.
 
Hello and welcome. Spreadsheet looks great. It sounds like most of what you are feeding is already good quality low carb food. I never fed Fancy Feast and fed mostly raw too. You sound well prepared.

I do have one comment to make on the testing. Many cats go lower at night. You might want to get a test before you go to bed, if at least 2-3 hours after PM shot time, to get a clue what is happening at night. Our dosing methods decide how to change doses based on how low the dose takes the cat.
 
Last edited:
In took a look at your spreadsheet and had the same thought as what Wendy posted. I'd encourage you to get a test at +2 of +3 today. Your AMPS is a lovely number. Getting an early test when you're seeing a lower pre-shot gives you some bandwidth to intervene if Whiskey's numbers start to drop.

Glad to see she's eating.
 
Last edited:
Thank you I will. She was 316 this morning I beleive last night was a fur shot. I knew it too I heard it. I was afraid to repeat incase any did get in she was 124. On a positive she ate this morning normally for the first time since she's been home. Should I still check at two hours and three?
 
With ProZinc it takes about two hours to kick in so is good to test at +2 and feed a snack and also several snacks/small meals during the day to keep the insulin in check, and test at least 2-3 times during the day and the same for PMPS test at least+ 2 and feed a full meal you can see in Corky’s spreadsheet and if you scroll to the left in remarks how he’s fed how much and when to get an idea, now, I have been a compulsive tester in the past I’m bending a bit this year
 
Sorry about the fur shot. It happens to most of us. Did you see or smell insulin? You were right not to give more cause we never know how much got in.

It's also possible Whiskey is bouncing from seeing a lower number overnight. Those +2 tests will tell you if that is happening.
Bouncing is simply a natural reaction to what the cat's system perceives as a BG value that is "too low". "Too low" is relative. If a cat is used to BGs in the 200's, 300's, or higher for a long time, then even a BG that drops to 150 can trigger a "bounce". Bouncing can also be triggered if the blood glucose drops too low and/or too fast.The pancreas, then the liver, release glucogon, glycogen and counter-regulatory hormones. The end result is a dumping of "sugar" into the bloodstream to save the cat from going hypoglycemic from a perceived low. The action is often referred to as "liver panic" or "panicky liver". *Usually*, a bounce will clear kitty's system within 3 days (6 cycles).
 
Sorry about the fur shot. It happens to most of us. Did you see or smell insulin? You were right not to give more cause we never know how much got in.

It's also possible Whiskey is bouncing from seeing a lower number overnight. Those +2 tests will tell you if that is happening.
Thank you for explaining the bounce. I didn't smell it but her fur was a little wet. Not sure if she got any or not 😞
 
In took a look at your spreadsheet and had the same thought as what Wendy posted. I'd encourage you to get a test at +2 of +3 today. Your AMPS is a lovely number. Getting an early test when you're seeing a lower pre-shot gives you some bandwidth to intervene if Whiskey's numbers start to drop.

Glad to see she's eating.
Hi
Her two hours after insulin was 225 and her four hours was 126. I'm assuming that's good?
 
That’s good, make sure you give another, at least two snacks or small meals before PMPS, up to two hours before PMPS, then test at PMPS/feed/shoot, good job
 
Back
Top