LindsayPenney
Member Since 2020
Hi, my cat Zeus is 14 and was diagnosed with diabetes in June. It’s been totally overwhelming! He’s currently on Lantus and we feed him a combination of “Beyond” pates and Iams senior dry food. Our vet did not initially want us to change his diet but he has gone from 17 pounds to 9 1/2 pounds in less than a year and she suspects he has some GI troubles as well so we tried Z/D for a few days but he won’t eat it. We have decreased his insulin injections from 4 units 2x daily to 1.5 units 2x daily. He’s such a love bug and we are trying to do everything we can for him within our financial means but we can’t support the constant BG checks or the labs and ultrasound that were suggested for his GI troubles. His initial BG was in the 600’s in June but due to recent lack of eating his BG last week was in the 60’s. At this point we are just trying to get him to eat anything. Any support would be wonderful! So glad I found this forum and hope to explore it more at some point to look for answers but I’m also balancing a busy life with 3 kids, a dog, and a part time job plus of course our love bug Zeus! So I’m hoping for some replies for initial guidance . We live in the North shore area of MA, and it’s cold today!
