Zorro's mom
Member Since 2019
Hi fellow cat parents 
My tuxedo boy Zorro is a 12.5 year old neutered male. He currently weighs 5.2kg's and had been moderately overweight for a large part of his adult life. At the moment he does not appear overweight and I would estimate his ideal weight to be about 5.5kg's. He was diagnosed with diabetes around August 2017. At that time I knew nothing about FD and trusted our vet completely. Long story short, Zorro's doses were quickly increased from 2u Caninsulin twice a day after diagnosis to 9u Caninsulin twice a day (I know...) No glucose curves were done at the vet's practice, I was discouraged from home testing even though I enquired about it and so the doses were increased purely on the strength of urine strip test results and my telling the vet about Zorro's poor clinical signs - all of which I now know were the results of the most extreme, most severe rebound. My heart aches thinking back about it now. By some mercy I happened to be home from work one afternoon shortly after the 9u doses were started and I saw a hypoglycemic attack approaching. I rushed him to the vet where he had a seizure in the reception area. He received intravenous glucose and miraculously survived. Thereafter he seemed to do quite well on 2u Caninsulin twice a day for about a year. Early this year I saw signs that his dose may need adjusting (I still didn't know how to home test or even if it could be done - the vet was very vague whenever I enquired about it.) Anyway so we upped his dose again until we had reached 5u Caninsulin twice a day and Zorro's clinical signs were still poor. At that point I decided to educate myself about FD. I switched his Royal Canine Feline Diabetic dry food to lower carb canned food (Purina Fancy Feast) and I started to use a human glucometer to check his BG. I also first found another online forum that introduced me to Tight Regulation. All the people there were very helpful but I found it impossible to reconcile my work schedule (and my nerves) with Tight Regulation using Caninsulin. Caninsulin seems to be metabolized by Zorro very quickly so I was on a +6 dosing regime that had my nerves on edge day and night for nearly 2 months. Much, much sleep and working hours were missed so I had to give up that protocol. However I continued to keep track of Zorro's BG and have since acquired Levemir insulin and U100 syringes with half unit markings and I intend to change over to the Levemir tomorrow morning at 09h00 (South African time). Zorro experiences a lot of bouncing with the Caninsulin and if I had to dose him only every 12 hours then he would be in the HI's for hours before a next dose. I am hoping that the Levemir will give him and myself a break and will enable me to regulate him much better. (Oh, and I often check for ketones and Zorro does not seem to be prone to ketone formation, fortunately.)
When I came across this forum I felt relieved to see that there is a "Go Slow, Stay Low" protocol that can also be followed and I felt that it might be more "my speed". However, I noticed that the recommended starting dose for that protocol is very low whereas Zorro is currently often HI pre-shot so I think he'll need adjusted dosing.
At this stage I would therefore appreciate advice / suggestions regarding the following:
1. Do I need to give 12 hours since the last Caninsulin shot before I switch over to the Levemir or would 10 hours be okay? I would feel better about giving 12 hours between the 2 types of insulin but I know that then Zorro will be in the HI's for a few hours before I give the first Levemir shot. I currently dose his Caninsulin at approximately +8 because by that time it seems to have no more effect in his system. I gave his last Caninsulin shot at 20h45 this evening.
2. What starting dose would you suggest? I have found a few veterinary sites that suggest 0.5u per kg body weight if bg is over 20mmol/L and 0.25u per kg body weight if bg is under 20mmol/L. Our vet suggested the same but his "cut-off" bg was 36mmol/L.
Zorro is currently on an average dose of 3u when his bg is 28mmol/L and over - which is normally the case pre-shot. That kind of dose gives him a nadir of only 11.0 or 12.0mmol/L after +5.5 to +7.75 so his constant bouncing is not a case of having gone too low - it's probably just much lower than he had been used to for a long time. I have been avoiding the proper low numbers since I stopped Tight Regulation to see if that will flatten out his curves but so far it hasn't.
With it being Easter weekend it is the ideal time for me to make the change to Levemir insulin as I can watch him for 4 whole days. I'll really appreciate your suggestions.
I intend to start a spread sheet with Zorro's numbers over the weekend.
Thank you!
My tuxedo boy Zorro is a 12.5 year old neutered male. He currently weighs 5.2kg's and had been moderately overweight for a large part of his adult life. At the moment he does not appear overweight and I would estimate his ideal weight to be about 5.5kg's. He was diagnosed with diabetes around August 2017. At that time I knew nothing about FD and trusted our vet completely. Long story short, Zorro's doses were quickly increased from 2u Caninsulin twice a day after diagnosis to 9u Caninsulin twice a day (I know...) No glucose curves were done at the vet's practice, I was discouraged from home testing even though I enquired about it and so the doses were increased purely on the strength of urine strip test results and my telling the vet about Zorro's poor clinical signs - all of which I now know were the results of the most extreme, most severe rebound. My heart aches thinking back about it now. By some mercy I happened to be home from work one afternoon shortly after the 9u doses were started and I saw a hypoglycemic attack approaching. I rushed him to the vet where he had a seizure in the reception area. He received intravenous glucose and miraculously survived. Thereafter he seemed to do quite well on 2u Caninsulin twice a day for about a year. Early this year I saw signs that his dose may need adjusting (I still didn't know how to home test or even if it could be done - the vet was very vague whenever I enquired about it.) Anyway so we upped his dose again until we had reached 5u Caninsulin twice a day and Zorro's clinical signs were still poor. At that point I decided to educate myself about FD. I switched his Royal Canine Feline Diabetic dry food to lower carb canned food (Purina Fancy Feast) and I started to use a human glucometer to check his BG. I also first found another online forum that introduced me to Tight Regulation. All the people there were very helpful but I found it impossible to reconcile my work schedule (and my nerves) with Tight Regulation using Caninsulin. Caninsulin seems to be metabolized by Zorro very quickly so I was on a +6 dosing regime that had my nerves on edge day and night for nearly 2 months. Much, much sleep and working hours were missed so I had to give up that protocol. However I continued to keep track of Zorro's BG and have since acquired Levemir insulin and U100 syringes with half unit markings and I intend to change over to the Levemir tomorrow morning at 09h00 (South African time). Zorro experiences a lot of bouncing with the Caninsulin and if I had to dose him only every 12 hours then he would be in the HI's for hours before a next dose. I am hoping that the Levemir will give him and myself a break and will enable me to regulate him much better. (Oh, and I often check for ketones and Zorro does not seem to be prone to ketone formation, fortunately.)
When I came across this forum I felt relieved to see that there is a "Go Slow, Stay Low" protocol that can also be followed and I felt that it might be more "my speed". However, I noticed that the recommended starting dose for that protocol is very low whereas Zorro is currently often HI pre-shot so I think he'll need adjusted dosing.
At this stage I would therefore appreciate advice / suggestions regarding the following:
1. Do I need to give 12 hours since the last Caninsulin shot before I switch over to the Levemir or would 10 hours be okay? I would feel better about giving 12 hours between the 2 types of insulin but I know that then Zorro will be in the HI's for a few hours before I give the first Levemir shot. I currently dose his Caninsulin at approximately +8 because by that time it seems to have no more effect in his system. I gave his last Caninsulin shot at 20h45 this evening.
2. What starting dose would you suggest? I have found a few veterinary sites that suggest 0.5u per kg body weight if bg is over 20mmol/L and 0.25u per kg body weight if bg is under 20mmol/L. Our vet suggested the same but his "cut-off" bg was 36mmol/L.
Zorro is currently on an average dose of 3u when his bg is 28mmol/L and over - which is normally the case pre-shot. That kind of dose gives him a nadir of only 11.0 or 12.0mmol/L after +5.5 to +7.75 so his constant bouncing is not a case of having gone too low - it's probably just much lower than he had been used to for a long time. I have been avoiding the proper low numbers since I stopped Tight Regulation to see if that will flatten out his curves but so far it hasn't.
With it being Easter weekend it is the ideal time for me to make the change to Levemir insulin as I can watch him for 4 whole days. I'll really appreciate your suggestions.
I intend to start a spread sheet with Zorro's numbers over the weekend.
Thank you!