New Member with uncontrolled blood sugar

Status
Not open for further replies.

RCStrong

Member Since 2020
I have a large 12 year old male cat (Socrates) who was diagnosed with diabetes ~5 years ago. Primary vet started him on Lantus, but it stopped working. Switched to Prozinc, blood sugar bounced inconsistently from <40 to >490. Went to Gulf Coast Veterinary Specialists and they switched him back to Lantus. I'm having trouble getting his blood sugar below 300 lately, monitored for the past 8 weeks with Freestyle Libre.

A confusing issue in dealing with this is the difference between the instructions provided on the Lantus Solostar box where it says to refrigerate the unopened pens, but "The in-use SoloStar shoud NOT (their emphasis) be refrigerated but should be kept at room temperature..."

I tried that, it didn't work, either. Not only my vet, the specialist, and this multiple posts on this forum promote refrigeration of Lantus.

If others on this site have had similar struggles with Prozinc and Lantus, but have found another insulin that has worked for them, please let me know and I'll ask my vet and the specialist their opinions.

Thanks, in advance....
 
I refrigerate my Lantus always because it lasts longer that way. I think the instructions may be for human use when you carry the pen with you and it makes sense since a human dose would be so much higher the pen would not last more than a few weeks anyways so refrigeration is not needed. I just get the insulin for each shot out for about 20 minutes so it goes back to room temperature a bit but it’s mainly because it can hurt going in when it’s cold. I can’t recommend other insulins because Lantus is all I know but I’m sure others here can. Good luck!
 
Last edited:
Hi and welcome to you and Socrates.

Are you using a syringe or the solar pen to give the insulin?
Lantus is an excellent insulin for cats.

If we could see the blood glucose data you have for Socrates, we would be able to help you.
If you could set up a spreadsheet and enter the last months data and your signature that would allow us to help you
Here is a link that has the links within it for the spreadsheet and the signature.
http://www.felinediabetes.com/FDMB/threads/new-how-you-can-help-us-help-you.216696/

Some questions if you don’t mind answering them please...
Are you using a human glucose meter or a pet meter? That will make a difference as well so be sure to tell us which one please.

And what dose of Lantus are you giving?

/How do you increase the dose? Do you increase in 1 unit increments or less?

Is the increase determined by the preshot number or the nadir?

Do you always test before every shot to see it is safe to Give the dose?

Did you decrease the dose of Lantus when you got a BG of 40?

Bouncing is common in cats.....hang in there and we will try and help you.
Looking forward to hearing back from you.
Bron
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top