diabetic_blue
New Member
Now that we've cheated a bit, and our first post was in the calendar submissions thread, Blue asked me to open an introduction thread to present ourselves and our story, so here we go!
Born on June 2014, he joined us on September, same year. I was doing a lot of traveling for work back then, and my girlfriend at the time did not want to be alone while I was away. So during one of my travels she informed me we have a new family member, named Blue. He was a Persian cat that my girlfriend said was more of a petrol blue than grey, hence the name. It was love at first sight, and the little bastard has been part of our small family of 3 ever since.
He was always very independent, sleeping and grooming himself wherever he wanted, always refusing to be combed, and the only way to clean/comb his fur was to take it off completely every 4-5 months at a saloon.
His diabetic journey began end of March this year when, after a weekend alone (we'd always been able to leave him alone for for 1-2 nights every few weeks so we could visit parents) we found him with no water and a full litter box. No known health issues until then.
After a couple of days of constant drinking and peeing it was time for a vet visit, where he was diagnosed with diabetes (400 BG after 12 hours no food).
As we later found out, our vet wasn't experienced at all with FD (he'd only treated one cat before that, he said, died because had other issues) so he only prescribed that we switched from our Royal Canin Persian dry food to Virbac Weight Loss & Diabetes dry food for 3!!! months, after which we'd had to come back to redo the blood work. No other advice. Unfortunately we followed his advice and 3 months later, 2 Kg down (6,4 to 4,4) and weakness in the hind legs, the second blood test showed the same 400+ BG (and some other values slightly out of range). We were given a vial of Caninsulin and sent on our way home with indications to shoot 1UI twice a day, 12 hours apart, for a month, with not so much information. At the time I had already started testing on my own, though I had not yet found the board. One month later and not much progress, I asked to increase the dose to 2UI and then 3UI. It is about here where I found the board, and decided to go to a different vet/clinic.
The new vet was a completely different story, and while our first visit/conversation lasted for 10 or 15 minutes, it was like I was talking with a member of the board, confirming everything I was reading for the past few days and the mistakes we did. She immediately prescribed us Lantus, gave us detailed instructions, and did some more tests (where we also found chronic pancreatitis).
So now we're testing different doses, and we finally got our first yellows and one blue (no pun intended) after so many blacks but then jumped back to more reds and black (maybe our first bounce, after months and months of high BG or just me being a bit to eager with increasing the dose).
We're also trying different wet foods during the day (I started logging these to the SS as well - some days we're very hungry) and some dry food during the night (not sure yet how to handle this - if I leave any wet food he will inhale it instantly) and since I'm indulging all his requests for food, we're maybe up in weight just a tiny bit.
So there we have it, that's our story so far, and another pic of Blue that'll shortly get submitted to the calendar thread.
Born on June 2014, he joined us on September, same year. I was doing a lot of traveling for work back then, and my girlfriend at the time did not want to be alone while I was away. So during one of my travels she informed me we have a new family member, named Blue. He was a Persian cat that my girlfriend said was more of a petrol blue than grey, hence the name. It was love at first sight, and the little bastard has been part of our small family of 3 ever since.
He was always very independent, sleeping and grooming himself wherever he wanted, always refusing to be combed, and the only way to clean/comb his fur was to take it off completely every 4-5 months at a saloon.
His diabetic journey began end of March this year when, after a weekend alone (we'd always been able to leave him alone for for 1-2 nights every few weeks so we could visit parents) we found him with no water and a full litter box. No known health issues until then.
After a couple of days of constant drinking and peeing it was time for a vet visit, where he was diagnosed with diabetes (400 BG after 12 hours no food).
As we later found out, our vet wasn't experienced at all with FD (he'd only treated one cat before that, he said, died because had other issues) so he only prescribed that we switched from our Royal Canin Persian dry food to Virbac Weight Loss & Diabetes dry food for 3!!! months, after which we'd had to come back to redo the blood work. No other advice. Unfortunately we followed his advice and 3 months later, 2 Kg down (6,4 to 4,4) and weakness in the hind legs, the second blood test showed the same 400+ BG (and some other values slightly out of range). We were given a vial of Caninsulin and sent on our way home with indications to shoot 1UI twice a day, 12 hours apart, for a month, with not so much information. At the time I had already started testing on my own, though I had not yet found the board. One month later and not much progress, I asked to increase the dose to 2UI and then 3UI. It is about here where I found the board, and decided to go to a different vet/clinic.
The new vet was a completely different story, and while our first visit/conversation lasted for 10 or 15 minutes, it was like I was talking with a member of the board, confirming everything I was reading for the past few days and the mistakes we did. She immediately prescribed us Lantus, gave us detailed instructions, and did some more tests (where we also found chronic pancreatitis).
So now we're testing different doses, and we finally got our first yellows and one blue (no pun intended) after so many blacks but then jumped back to more reds and black (maybe our first bounce, after months and months of high BG or just me being a bit to eager with increasing the dose).
We're also trying different wet foods during the day (I started logging these to the SS as well - some days we're very hungry) and some dry food during the night (not sure yet how to handle this - if I leave any wet food he will inhale it instantly) and since I'm indulging all his requests for food, we're maybe up in weight just a tiny bit.
So there we have it, that's our story so far, and another pic of Blue that'll shortly get submitted to the calendar thread.