5 million
Member Since 2025
Hi, I'm a new member, On 2025/1/21 I changed the method from sliding scales to consistent dosing.
I've read Protocol: Tight Regulation with Lantus®or Levemir®for Diabetic Cats & Dosing Methods: Start Low, Go Slow (SLGS) & Tight Regulation (TR) several times, I decided to reduce the dose "When the cat regularly has its lowest BGs in the normal range of a healthy cat and stays under 100 mg/dl overall for at least one week, attempt to reduce the dose. Alternatively, if the nadir glucose concentration is 40 - <50 mg/dl at least three times on separate days, try lowering the dose. If the cat drops below 40 mg/dl once, reduce the dose immediately! The reduction is done very slowly in a step-by-step manner (0.25 or 0.5 IU increments). "
well on the first 4 days(1/22-1/25) it looks so good! PS became lower and lower! But while I was waiting for the 7th-day nadir in the normal range of a healthy cat and PS stays under 100 mg/dl, PS became higher than 100(1/26& 1.27), noticed that those 2 days nadirs are lower than nadirs on 1/22-1/25, maybe I should reduce the dose on 1/25? I have a feeling, a sense that when the curve becomes flat, the PS will look good. I don't know if that's right.
I know that I should not be concerned about the rebound, but it's so weird that I keep shooting 0.75 units and the PS becomes higher. should I keep shooting 0.75 till the PS (which is almost the highest BG) under 100? will that happen? I am afraid that I keep shooting 0.75 units and the PS becomes higher and higher. or should I reduce the dose now?
I feed my cat 10g@+0, 20g@+2, 30g@+3, 20g@+5 & 20g@+6.5, so I usually monitor BGs@+3 & +5,sometimes +8/9.
I've read Protocol: Tight Regulation with Lantus®or Levemir®for Diabetic Cats & Dosing Methods: Start Low, Go Slow (SLGS) & Tight Regulation (TR) several times, I decided to reduce the dose "When the cat regularly has its lowest BGs in the normal range of a healthy cat and stays under 100 mg/dl overall for at least one week, attempt to reduce the dose. Alternatively, if the nadir glucose concentration is 40 - <50 mg/dl at least three times on separate days, try lowering the dose. If the cat drops below 40 mg/dl once, reduce the dose immediately! The reduction is done very slowly in a step-by-step manner (0.25 or 0.5 IU increments). "
well on the first 4 days(1/22-1/25) it looks so good! PS became lower and lower! But while I was waiting for the 7th-day nadir in the normal range of a healthy cat and PS stays under 100 mg/dl, PS became higher than 100(1/26& 1.27), noticed that those 2 days nadirs are lower than nadirs on 1/22-1/25, maybe I should reduce the dose on 1/25? I have a feeling, a sense that when the curve becomes flat, the PS will look good. I don't know if that's right.
I know that I should not be concerned about the rebound, but it's so weird that I keep shooting 0.75 units and the PS becomes higher. should I keep shooting 0.75 till the PS (which is almost the highest BG) under 100? will that happen? I am afraid that I keep shooting 0.75 units and the PS becomes higher and higher. or should I reduce the dose now?
I feed my cat 10g@+0, 20g@+2, 30g@+3, 20g@+5 & 20g@+6.5, so I usually monitor BGs@+3 & +5,sometimes +8/9.
Last edited:

