New Member - Thoughts/Advice on Recent Higher Numbers

Status
Not open for further replies.

Makenzie

New Member
Hi,

First time posting, but have lurked for a while. Piper was officially diagnosed in January this year and started out on 1 unit of Lantus and after wearing a Freestyle Libre, vet instructed to increase to 2 units after 1 week. I didn't feel comfortable with such a fast increase so I pretty much have done my own thing since then after reading advice here and in another support group. Most days I test 4x/day with my AlphaTrak3 and have felt pretty good about her numbers. She has gained back about a pound that she lost without changing diet so I felt that was also a good sign. She takes budesonide (steroid) for IBD with her evening meal and it does seem like her nightly numbers are the most erratic, but overall, not too bad.

That said am a bit stumped about what has been going on for the last 3+ weeks. Wondering if anyone can take a look at her spreadsheet and see if they have any thoughts. Nothing has changed at home or with diet, but to me it seems like all of her numbers have been consistently higher and I'm not sure why. I attempted to slightly raise her dose from 1.75s to 1.75 to see if that would help move things down a little, but then one day she had a steep drop down to 69 (I did confirm this with a second test). After that I moved back down to 1.5, which is keeping her mostly in yellows it seems.
 
We cannot see your spredsheet
To set spreadsheet sharing permission:
* At the top right of the spreadsheet screen click on Share.

* In the pop-up dialog box click on the Get Link section.

* Change link access from 'Restricted' to 'Anyone with the link' and make sure that the permission on the right hand side is set to 'Viewer'.

* Click Done to save the changes.
 
We cannot see your spredsheet
To set spreadsheet sharing permission:
* At the top right of the spreadsheet screen click on Share.

* In the pop-up dialog box click on the Get Link section.

* Change link access from 'Restricted' to 'Anyone with the link' and make sure that the permission on the right hand side is set to 'Viewer'.

* Click Done to save the changes.

Sorry about that! I think it should be fixed now.
 
Hi,

First time posting, but have lurked for a while. Piper was officially diagnosed in January this year and started out on 1 unit of Lantus and after wearing a Freestyle Libre, vet instructed to increase to 2 units after 1 week. I didn't feel comfortable with such a fast increase so I pretty much have done my own thing since then after reading advice here and in another support group. Most days I test 4x/day with my AlphaTrak3 and have felt pretty good about her numbers. She has gained back about a pound that she lost without changing diet so I felt that was also a good sign. She takes budesonide (steroid) for IBD with her evening meal and it does seem like her nightly numbers are the most erratic, but overall, not too bad.

That said am a bit stumped about what has been going on for the last 3+ weeks. Wondering if anyone can take a look at her spreadsheet and see if they have any thoughts. Nothing has changed at home or with diet, but to me it seems like all of her numbers have been consistently higher and I'm not sure why. I attempted to slightly raise her dose from 1.75s to 1.75 to see if that would help move things down a little, but then one day she had a steep drop down to 69 (I did confirm this with a second test). After that I moved back down to 1.5, which is keeping her mostly in yellows it seems.
@tiffmaxee
@Wendy&Neko
@Bron and Sheba (GA)
 
Hello and welcome.

First suggestion, do away with the fat and skinny dosing. Stick with 0.25 unit changes for now. Second though, you are good at doing 4 tests per day, but the mid cycle tests are pretty much all at the same time. Lantus nadirs are "typically" +6, but my girls was typically +7 to +9 and I saw her Lantus nadirs anywhere from +3 to +13. I've seen other spreadsheets where Lantus cats nadir most of the time around +2 to+3. I think you should mix up the testing, and do some curves to get a better idea where Piper nadirs. That may change when you regularly test and you may get a different picture of what she is doing on a given dose.
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top