Jack & Jamie
Member Since 2024
Admin, Thank you for all you do! Your abundance of work and resources has been so incredibly helpful with this new venture.
This is all new to me, so please advise if I should do be doing something differently! Could you please review Jack's spreadsheet, to ensure I'm completing it correctly and advise of any changes I should make?
I am Jamie, my beloved kitty is a 13yo long hair, gray, maine coon (we think) named Jack. AKA Jacky Joe. When I separated from my ex 3 years ago, I brought our golden retriever, Charlie, he kept our cat, Jack. I told him if he ever couldn't keep Jack, I would gladly take him. This November, he reached out and asked if I wanted Jack. He wasn't home often and didn't think it was fair to this social and loving kitty with a big personality, to be alone often. I gladly took him home on Nov. 29 and he has adjusted really well with my 2 dogs and in his new home, although I am sure it has been stressful for him. On Dec 5, I brought him to the vet for a thorough exam. He had not been to a vet since I last brought him almost 4 years ago. His bloodwork indicated high liver enzymes (x-rays looked good), diabetes and high cholesterol. He also has a couple teeth that should be examined further and possibly removed. Despite his health issues, the first week Jack was with me, he slept by me every night and purred the entire time. He definitely remembered me. He is so happy to have people and pets with him all day, every day. Unfortunately, our beloved Charlie passed in May this year, after a long journey with Cancer. I can't help but think that Charlie knew his little kitty brother needed me, and I am so grateful to have him back in my life. Every day is a blessing and I am honored to care for him during this time.
A few questions and concerns that I would appreciate your input:
1.) Jack was diagnosed on the 9th, he got a Freestyle Libre on the 17th. The vet started him on 1IU, 2x daily of Lantus. His numbers have been significantly high at times, so I asked the vet if we should increase his dose. She would like to wait until the Libre expires on the 30th, and review the data and curve, before increasing. She wants his body to get used to the insulin and she is concerned of hypoglycemia. I on the other hand am concerned of hyperglycemia. I work from home, so I can be monitoring him closely throughout the day. He acts normal, he does sleep, drink and pee a lot more when the numbers are over 500. This morning at his AMPS, ReliOn read HI (over 600) but he still came to me purring when I woke up, ate his breakfast and gave the dogs some love. What should I do, stick to his recommended dose or talk to the vet again about increasing? You will see on his spreadsheet, I have tweaked it on occasion when it is really high, is that ok?
2.) Do you have an opinion on Freeze Dried Raw? Jack was eating kibble. When diagnosed, I immediately started with Fancy Feast Classics and slowly transitioned him to Smallbatch Freeze Dried, Turkey. He loves it, it is 98% meat, organ meat and bone, 1% produce and 1% natural supplements. So it basically has very little to no carbs. It's organic and quality meat from a company I trust. But I honestly thought his numbers would drop considering he has basically no carbs in his diet.
3.) Do you have an opinion on full spectrum CBD? Jack is 13 and has arthritis in his spine and hip dysplasia (we plan to treat once we balance his sugar) I started giving him a very small amount of CBD for pain, to reduce anxiety from the needles and it also helps with reducing inflammation, which is helpful for his organs that may be impacted. The brand I purchase is from CBD Dog Health and they have spoke highly and have done research on the benefits of CBD for diabetic pets.
Thank you in advance, I am so grateful for your guidance and support.
This is all new to me, so please advise if I should do be doing something differently! Could you please review Jack's spreadsheet, to ensure I'm completing it correctly and advise of any changes I should make?
I am Jamie, my beloved kitty is a 13yo long hair, gray, maine coon (we think) named Jack. AKA Jacky Joe. When I separated from my ex 3 years ago, I brought our golden retriever, Charlie, he kept our cat, Jack. I told him if he ever couldn't keep Jack, I would gladly take him. This November, he reached out and asked if I wanted Jack. He wasn't home often and didn't think it was fair to this social and loving kitty with a big personality, to be alone often. I gladly took him home on Nov. 29 and he has adjusted really well with my 2 dogs and in his new home, although I am sure it has been stressful for him. On Dec 5, I brought him to the vet for a thorough exam. He had not been to a vet since I last brought him almost 4 years ago. His bloodwork indicated high liver enzymes (x-rays looked good), diabetes and high cholesterol. He also has a couple teeth that should be examined further and possibly removed. Despite his health issues, the first week Jack was with me, he slept by me every night and purred the entire time. He definitely remembered me. He is so happy to have people and pets with him all day, every day. Unfortunately, our beloved Charlie passed in May this year, after a long journey with Cancer. I can't help but think that Charlie knew his little kitty brother needed me, and I am so grateful to have him back in my life. Every day is a blessing and I am honored to care for him during this time.
A few questions and concerns that I would appreciate your input:
1.) Jack was diagnosed on the 9th, he got a Freestyle Libre on the 17th. The vet started him on 1IU, 2x daily of Lantus. His numbers have been significantly high at times, so I asked the vet if we should increase his dose. She would like to wait until the Libre expires on the 30th, and review the data and curve, before increasing. She wants his body to get used to the insulin and she is concerned of hypoglycemia. I on the other hand am concerned of hyperglycemia. I work from home, so I can be monitoring him closely throughout the day. He acts normal, he does sleep, drink and pee a lot more when the numbers are over 500. This morning at his AMPS, ReliOn read HI (over 600) but he still came to me purring when I woke up, ate his breakfast and gave the dogs some love. What should I do, stick to his recommended dose or talk to the vet again about increasing? You will see on his spreadsheet, I have tweaked it on occasion when it is really high, is that ok?
2.) Do you have an opinion on Freeze Dried Raw? Jack was eating kibble. When diagnosed, I immediately started with Fancy Feast Classics and slowly transitioned him to Smallbatch Freeze Dried, Turkey. He loves it, it is 98% meat, organ meat and bone, 1% produce and 1% natural supplements. So it basically has very little to no carbs. It's organic and quality meat from a company I trust. But I honestly thought his numbers would drop considering he has basically no carbs in his diet.
3.) Do you have an opinion on full spectrum CBD? Jack is 13 and has arthritis in his spine and hip dysplasia (we plan to treat once we balance his sugar) I started giving him a very small amount of CBD for pain, to reduce anxiety from the needles and it also helps with reducing inflammation, which is helpful for his organs that may be impacted. The brand I purchase is from CBD Dog Health and they have spoke highly and have done research on the benefits of CBD for diabetic pets.
Thank you in advance, I am so grateful for your guidance and support.