Georgie and Jinx
Member Since 2020
Hi everyone, I’m Georgie, a new diabetic cat mother struggling to understand symptoms, BG numbers and seeking dosage advice.
Jinx was admitted to hospital just before Christmas presenting with dehydration, lethargy, neuropathy and loss of appetite. He was shortly diagnosed with diabetes, DKA and low potassium, administered fluids, potassium and given Lantus during his 24 hours in hospital.
When discharged, the nurse did not give me any insulin to support Jinx and recommended I get in touch with my local vet to decide on a long term insulin treatment plan. At the time it felt wrong and I pressed to have some back up insulin in case Jinx’s symptoms returned before I could get to my vet, however I was denied as Jinx’s symptoms were supposedly stable. I was able to get into my vet the following afternoon, but by this time his symptoms deteriorated beyond when we presented at hospital. Dehydrated, no appetite, neuropathy, lethargy, high BG 24 and ketones present.
My vet suggested I put him on 1 unit of Lantus immediately and manage his symptoms from home. Jinx responded to the insulin quickly, regained appetite and I was able to stabilise him at home to some degree over the next few days.
My vet cancelled Jinx’s follow up appointment on Christmas eve. This was a very scary as I knew Jinx was still very sick, so quickly learned how to home test and started trying to learn everything I could. Jinx blood work one week on from initial test still had high BG and ketones but the vet seemed to offer no treatment for this but to increase his insulin to 2 units morning and night. So off I went, in hindsight this should never have happened. I didn’t realise how serious the situation was, but trusted the vets advice.
Since then, I feel like I have been going around in circles with Jinx. Every day feels like a roller coaster, I’m barely sleeping, cancelled Christmas travel and haven’t left the house since 20 December to monitor him. Jinx appetite has returned, he has put on weight, regained muscle control of his back legs but his BG doesn’t seem to be stabilising. I’ve been doing everything I can to keep him hydrated but every second day he seems to have a spike where his numbers are high, he drops all urine and built up hydration and his behavioural symptoms return. I purchased a ketones reader this afternoon which had his ketones rated at 0.3.
Jinx has been on low carb, raw diet since this began. I am lucky he is a good eater, so no issues with him eating before insulin. I’ve also been feeding small meals throughout the day to fatten him up as he was anorexic and had lost almost 2kgs through this ordeal.
I’ve increased his BG testing and started Jinx's spreadsheet in hope that you might be able to offer me some advice with what I should do next as Jinx and I are running out of energy to continue like this. I am really confused as his symptoms often don’t match his BG scores, so I’ve lost trust in myself to accurately judge the situation.
Any advice, tips or guidance would be really appreciated. If I am doing anything wrong, or could be doing anything better – please let me know. Thanks so much. Georgie and Jinx.
Jinx was admitted to hospital just before Christmas presenting with dehydration, lethargy, neuropathy and loss of appetite. He was shortly diagnosed with diabetes, DKA and low potassium, administered fluids, potassium and given Lantus during his 24 hours in hospital.
When discharged, the nurse did not give me any insulin to support Jinx and recommended I get in touch with my local vet to decide on a long term insulin treatment plan. At the time it felt wrong and I pressed to have some back up insulin in case Jinx’s symptoms returned before I could get to my vet, however I was denied as Jinx’s symptoms were supposedly stable. I was able to get into my vet the following afternoon, but by this time his symptoms deteriorated beyond when we presented at hospital. Dehydrated, no appetite, neuropathy, lethargy, high BG 24 and ketones present.
My vet suggested I put him on 1 unit of Lantus immediately and manage his symptoms from home. Jinx responded to the insulin quickly, regained appetite and I was able to stabilise him at home to some degree over the next few days.
My vet cancelled Jinx’s follow up appointment on Christmas eve. This was a very scary as I knew Jinx was still very sick, so quickly learned how to home test and started trying to learn everything I could. Jinx blood work one week on from initial test still had high BG and ketones but the vet seemed to offer no treatment for this but to increase his insulin to 2 units morning and night. So off I went, in hindsight this should never have happened. I didn’t realise how serious the situation was, but trusted the vets advice.
Since then, I feel like I have been going around in circles with Jinx. Every day feels like a roller coaster, I’m barely sleeping, cancelled Christmas travel and haven’t left the house since 20 December to monitor him. Jinx appetite has returned, he has put on weight, regained muscle control of his back legs but his BG doesn’t seem to be stabilising. I’ve been doing everything I can to keep him hydrated but every second day he seems to have a spike where his numbers are high, he drops all urine and built up hydration and his behavioural symptoms return. I purchased a ketones reader this afternoon which had his ketones rated at 0.3.
Jinx has been on low carb, raw diet since this began. I am lucky he is a good eater, so no issues with him eating before insulin. I’ve also been feeding small meals throughout the day to fatten him up as he was anorexic and had lost almost 2kgs through this ordeal.
I’ve increased his BG testing and started Jinx's spreadsheet in hope that you might be able to offer me some advice with what I should do next as Jinx and I are running out of energy to continue like this. I am really confused as his symptoms often don’t match his BG scores, so I’ve lost trust in myself to accurately judge the situation.
Any advice, tips or guidance would be really appreciated. If I am doing anything wrong, or could be doing anything better – please let me know. Thanks so much. Georgie and Jinx.