New member.. Seeking advice

Status
Not open for further replies.

Lisa & Luna

Member Since 2024
Hello, new here!! I just have to say how happy I am to have found this site and thank you for all the available information!

My cat Luna (9yr female) was just diagnosed with diabetes in early March. Originally she had bladder stone removal in Sept of last year and after was prescribed Royal Canin SO dry kibble. After a few months of being on this food I noticed her water intake was huge which I knew the food was suppose to do that but then she would urinate in such large quantities to a point it became concerning which led me to her diagnoses of diabetes. But I thought it odd the coincidence and started to question if possibly the prescribed food could have been causing this. I asked the vet this and they said it wasn't possible but I truly believe the opposite of this and after reading here I think my suspicions have been confirmed.

The vet has prescribed her Caninsulin and Hills M/D pate along with continuing to give her some Urinary SO dry kibble and I have had her on this since March 12th. Originally she was prescribed 1 unit of insulin in am and pm but it wasn't bringing her BG numbers down enough so after 2 weeks and after a curve, the vet said to give her 2 unit in am and 1 unit in pm.

After doing my own research and from the help of my Aunt whos cat is also diabetic, she told me that Fancy Feast pate is low enough in carbs and a much better price.

So since April 5th I've had her on Fancy Feast pate and am no longer giving her Urinary SO. Unfortunately everywhere in my area is out of stock of Dr. elseys clean protein dry kibble, so she is strictly on 1 can fancy feast in morning and night with a bit of added water in dish (given 30min before insulin injection). I also give her a bit of left over wet food during peak time now as I have noticed her numbers have significantly dropped and continue to stay low since putting on fancy feast.

I test her blood at home before every feeding as well as sometimes during peak. I've noticed her numbers are improving big time but I was concerned its too low with the dose I'm giving her. I've read on here that I should also lower her insulin dose when switching her to a low carb diet and so this morning before her first injection her reading was at 12.9mmol/L which is the lowest I've ever seen it in the am usually its between 20mmol/L and 29mmol/L.
30 min after her feeding I tested her again and she was at 22.6mmol/L and so I gave her a dose of 1.5 units instead of 2 units.

Sorry for such the long message but basically my questions is do you think what I am doing is alright? Should I lower her dose to 1.5 units or maybe even more?

Another thing, before switching her over to fancy feast, I was looking into the insulin. I noticed with Caninsulin her numbers would drop fast but only for a few hours and then steadily climb to such high numbers and I thought that can't be best for her. I researched it was a fast acting of sorts and long lasting insulin like Lantus is much better for cats. And also possibly a better chance of remission with insulin like Lantus. I've talked to my vet about it but they only have experience with Caninsulin and refuse to prescribe me Lantus.

Her numbers seem to be getting better now since being on fancy feast, and where as before her BG numbers would climb after peak back to the 20mmol/L range by pm cycle but they are sometimes staying relatively low now (around 10mmol to 16mmol) but sometimes they are back at 26/27 range again.
Do you think its worth me switching to Lantus or should I just continue her on Caninsulin?

Again sorry for the long message and appreciate any insights!
-Lisa & Luna
 
Hi Lisa and Luna and welcome to the forum and for all the great information.
You have researched well and your instincts at spot on. I’m glad you have got rid of that SO dry kibble…it is very high carb…and why any vet would prescribe dry food to a kitty who had a bladder stone is beyond me. Cats need wet food and water. Dry food is 7% moisture and wet food is 78% moisture.

You are correct, Caninsulin is not a good insulin for cats. It is a dog insulin and dogs have a much slower metabolism than cats.
It drops the BG fast and does not last the 12 hours, so you will see a drop then the BGs go back up high again because the insulin effect has run out before the 12 hours.
Lantus is a much better insulin and has a much higher success in getting cats into remission.
So I would find yourself another vet who is willing to swap you over to Lantus.
What type of glucose meter are you using?

Here is what I would suggest you do. We can definitely help you but first you need to do a few things.
Set up a spreadsheet so we can see the BGs. We are big on data and we will always look at the spreadsheet and the signature before helping you.
Also if you could set up a signature which is simple and tell us all about Luna so we don’t have to keep asking you. I will give you a link below which has both the SS and the signature in it.
HELP US HELP YOU

Keep asking questions.
Bron
 
Thank you for the reply! I use the Contour Next EZ human meter. I have filled in the signature and am currently working on the spreadsheet. I will for sure look into another vet and start on Lantus asap.
I am from Canada and having such a hard time finding a low carb/high protein dry kibble I can dispense for her during the day as I will be starting work again in the following days and would feel much better having a bit of food dispensed during her peak time while I am away. Dr. Elseys is out of stock everywhere and I cant seem to find Young again sold anywhere here. I don't know another option that would be best for her during the day and only concerned about doing this cause her numbers have been so low lately. I know you can be more help once I finish the spread sheet so I will get on that. Thanks again!
 
I believe that Young Again may only be sold online. They now ship to Canada.

Wendy may be able to give you more accurate information about insulin in Canada but I believe that you do not need a prescription in most places. You may be able to go into a pharmacy and purchase Lantus (glargine) over the counter.
 
Hello and waving at you from the Wet Coast. What part of Canada are you from? I had heard of Dr. Elseys shortage, but also that it might be coming back in stock some places.

My vet started us on Caninsulin too, cause that's what the clinic did. A locum vet, who ended up working at the same clinic, got me on Lantus. He also pointed me to FDMB (where I was already lurking). I stuck with the original vet cause she was OK with me switching, after seeing how much testing I was doing. And she was awesome with Neko's other issues. I had been seeing her for years. And she was willing to learn.

There are alternatives to dry food for her peak during the day. A lot of us get automatic feeders, the Petsafe or Catmate 5 compartment feeders are popular options. The Catmate has a spot under it where you can put a gel pack you can get for it. I had the Petsafe and it also has a spot under the rotating part of the feeder to put a gel pack. I just got the smallest one I could find at Canadian Tire. You can alternatively put ice cubes there. Or add an ice cube on top of the food and it will keep it cool, and melt to add additional water which is a good thing for a cat with urinary issues.

There are also air dried options like ZiwiPeak with are crunchy (if she likes the crunch) and are lower carb.
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top