TokyoKitty
Member Since 2013
Hi,
Sammy is 17 years old and was diagnosed 5/28/2013. At the time, Sammy was on a low protein dry cat food for her mild CRF, and had also received a steroid shot for allergies several months prior. So it's possible that her diabetes is steroid induced.
I do home testing with the FreeStyle Lite meter. It's taking some time, but I'm finally getting the hang of it. I test AMPS and PMPS and try to get nadirs 3-4 times a week.
Our vet still believes in the old protocol (high fiber, low protein diet), and put Sammy on Hills W/D dry. He started her at 0.5 units of Levemir 2x/day. Her dose has slowly been adjusted up to 1.0 units 2x/day. Her numbers were still consistently in the 400 range for over 3 weeks, so I decided to change her diet to a higher protein canned food, against the vet's advice. Two weeks ago I transitioned her to 50% Hills canned M/D. Her numbers started coming down into the 300 range. 5 days ago I increased the canned to 75%, and yesterday I switched to 100% canned.
Last night Sammy's PMPS was 207. Yikes! That was the lowest number I've seen with her. She ate a full bowl of food, and I reduced her shot to 0.6 units (normally 1.0 units). At +6.5 she tested at 273. Now I'm wondering what I should do if Sammy tests at close to 200 this morning (due for her shot in 1.5 hours). Should I reduce her dose or skip a dose? What if she tests higher, around 280: stay at the same dose or reduce? Thanks for your help.
Sammy is 17 years old and was diagnosed 5/28/2013. At the time, Sammy was on a low protein dry cat food for her mild CRF, and had also received a steroid shot for allergies several months prior. So it's possible that her diabetes is steroid induced.
I do home testing with the FreeStyle Lite meter. It's taking some time, but I'm finally getting the hang of it. I test AMPS and PMPS and try to get nadirs 3-4 times a week.
Our vet still believes in the old protocol (high fiber, low protein diet), and put Sammy on Hills W/D dry. He started her at 0.5 units of Levemir 2x/day. Her dose has slowly been adjusted up to 1.0 units 2x/day. Her numbers were still consistently in the 400 range for over 3 weeks, so I decided to change her diet to a higher protein canned food, against the vet's advice. Two weeks ago I transitioned her to 50% Hills canned M/D. Her numbers started coming down into the 300 range. 5 days ago I increased the canned to 75%, and yesterday I switched to 100% canned.
Last night Sammy's PMPS was 207. Yikes! That was the lowest number I've seen with her. She ate a full bowl of food, and I reduced her shot to 0.6 units (normally 1.0 units). At +6.5 she tested at 273. Now I'm wondering what I should do if Sammy tests at close to 200 this morning (due for her shot in 1.5 hours). Should I reduce her dose or skip a dose? What if she tests higher, around 280: stay at the same dose or reduce? Thanks for your help.