rk34
Member Since 2022
Hi all. I'm joining here hoping to get a better handle on treating our cat Rose's diabetes. She is about six years old and recently diagnosed on September 8th, we started her same day on 1 unit Prozinc twice/day. With the Alphatrak II meter we had a couple BG curves back in September with the days starting/ending in 300-400s but still hitting mid-day lows around 50 our vet mentioned she wished she could raise the dose due to the highs but couldn't justify that due to the lows. We have been on 1 unit ever since and in between I had done several spot checks but not with any regular schedule. We tried to use a Freestyle Libre 2 last week and it fell off within an hour.
Rose used to be almost 11 lbs, I'm sure her old diet of unlimited dry food ended up causing her diabetes. I didn't know any better. Since her diagnosis we have switched to twice/day feeding of Tiki Cat After Dark wet food. At diagnosis she was down to 7.3 lbs,very bony and weak. Within a month on Prozinc she was back to around 9 lbs and looking/feeling much better so we've just assumed everything is fine.
Skip to Monday Nov 7th when I had planned to do a new BG curve to see how things are going and ended up with our first big scare. She started the day at 197 around 7:09am and ate, shot 1 unit at 7:55am. By 10:10am she was 79, I checked again at 11:12am and she was down to 23. I immediately fed her additional food, plus treats, as well as 2.5ml of Karo syrup. About 5 min later I tested again and got Lo readout (<20) and called the vet but they weren't available to talk. Rose was conscious and able to walk so I didn't panic too much. The vet called back shortly after the next test at 11:58am which she was back up to 131. Discussed the possibility that she may be going into remission a bit and to skip her evening dose and do another curve the next day. Rose seemed to be feeling bad the rest of the day but her BG bounced around between 80-120 for the next six hours. BG was up to 244 by the time I went to bed at 11:20pm.
Nov 8th she started the day at 313 BG and we dosed half a unit. She hit a low of 85 about 4.5 hrs in and steadily went back up to 193 in the evening when we gave her a half unit again. Today Nov 9th she started at 163 so we skipped her shot, but she went up around 250+ mid day and in the evening she was at 146 so we skipped again. Her last reading about ten minutes ago was 193 and I'm about to go to bed after writing this.
I feel terrible that she's probably been going low like this for a while, but she's been seemingly well. I've tracked all her data in excel but I see you all use a spreadsheet with specific format of +hrs after shot. I would like to convert it all into that for review and advice, but I was wondering if my test times are not at even hour intervals are you just rounding up or down?
I appreciate any help you can offer, and please let me know if you need any additional info.
Rose used to be almost 11 lbs, I'm sure her old diet of unlimited dry food ended up causing her diabetes. I didn't know any better. Since her diagnosis we have switched to twice/day feeding of Tiki Cat After Dark wet food. At diagnosis she was down to 7.3 lbs,very bony and weak. Within a month on Prozinc she was back to around 9 lbs and looking/feeling much better so we've just assumed everything is fine.
Skip to Monday Nov 7th when I had planned to do a new BG curve to see how things are going and ended up with our first big scare. She started the day at 197 around 7:09am and ate, shot 1 unit at 7:55am. By 10:10am she was 79, I checked again at 11:12am and she was down to 23. I immediately fed her additional food, plus treats, as well as 2.5ml of Karo syrup. About 5 min later I tested again and got Lo readout (<20) and called the vet but they weren't available to talk. Rose was conscious and able to walk so I didn't panic too much. The vet called back shortly after the next test at 11:58am which she was back up to 131. Discussed the possibility that she may be going into remission a bit and to skip her evening dose and do another curve the next day. Rose seemed to be feeling bad the rest of the day but her BG bounced around between 80-120 for the next six hours. BG was up to 244 by the time I went to bed at 11:20pm.
Nov 8th she started the day at 313 BG and we dosed half a unit. She hit a low of 85 about 4.5 hrs in and steadily went back up to 193 in the evening when we gave her a half unit again. Today Nov 9th she started at 163 so we skipped her shot, but she went up around 250+ mid day and in the evening she was at 146 so we skipped again. Her last reading about ten minutes ago was 193 and I'm about to go to bed after writing this.
I feel terrible that she's probably been going low like this for a while, but she's been seemingly well. I've tracked all her data in excel but I see you all use a spreadsheet with specific format of +hrs after shot. I would like to convert it all into that for review and advice, but I was wondering if my test times are not at even hour intervals are you just rounding up or down?
I appreciate any help you can offer, and please let me know if you need any additional info.
