NEW MEMBER, please help, overwhelmed

Status
Not open for further replies.

BootsMama

Member Since 2020
Hi. I apologize, I'm a bit overwhelmed with all the info available and I'm looking for some guidance suggestions as I step into this new territory. My sugarcat Boots was Dx mid-February and started ProZinc 1 unit BID. The vet did a curve test after 2 weeks and said his numbers were too high (400 - 500), so she bumped him up to 2 units BID. 2 weeks after the increase they did a fructosamine test and that result was 314. The vet was happy with 2 units BID. About that time, Boots really seemed to decline rapidly and my husband felt it was due to the insulin. We dropped back to 1 unit (or less) BID. This info as well as some other is posted in my profile. My husband has been administering approximately 1 unit in the morning and I've given anywhere from .5 to .75 units in the evening. Boots seems like he improved (less lethargic, etc) with less insulin. His glucometer just arrived today and we did our first test. We are using a human meter. Boots didn't have any insulin this morning. When I tested him 45 mins ago, his BG was 341. He ate a little and I gave him .75 unit ProZinc 30 minutes ago. Next step? Any advice/suggestions are appreciated. Thank you!
 
Welcome!

Boots is a total cutie!!!

Sounds like you are on the right track. If you can, it's good to get at least one test during the "cycle" (between one shot and the next), to start to get a handle on how low the insulin is taking him. The more data you gather, the better you can figure out the right dose for him.

One really useful thing you could do as your next step would be to set up a spreadsheet to record Boots' BG data. We use a standard format, instructions here: FDMB SPREADSHEET INSTRUCTIONS, holler if you'd like help setting it up! Once you have it, you can put a read-only link into your signature (see the bottom of my post, and most of the other member's posts for examples). We're pretty data-oriented around here, you'll find!

One thing you didn't mention in Boots' history is food-- what kind of food does he eat?

I'm glad Boots is starting to feel a little more like himself. Hopefully, you'll be able to get him fully back to feeling great!
 
Hi and welcome.
It is overwhelming at first. But you have come to the best place to get help. Boots is gorgeous!
Fabulous you are home testing. As Nan suggested, getting the spreadsheet up and running will help a lot.

the kidney care food would be high carb. You would be far better off switching over to a low carb...10% or under canned food. Much better all around and definitely better off for diabetic cats. But you need to be testing first because swapping over to a low carb diet can drop the BG by mor than 100 points.
Here is a list of suitable foods. Look for 10% or under carbs. A lot of us feed around 3 to 7% carbs.
https://catinfo.org/docs/CatFoodProteinFatCarbPhosphorusChart.pdf

Here is a link for new members
http://www.felinediabetes.com/FDMB/threads/new-how-you-can-help-us-help-you.216696/

And here is a link to prozinc use
http://www.felinediabetes.com/FDMB/...-the-prozinc-basics-please-start-here.164995/
 
Kara I’ve just read your story in your notes.
I see that Boots is blind due to high blood pressure. I had a cat called Ming who also lost her eyesight due to high books pressure. She was put on medication Norvasc, which is the same medication Boots is on, just a different name, and lived until she was 21. She found her way around the house amazingly well and to look at her you would never have known she was blind.

With the early stage kidney issues there is no need for him to go on a kidney diet. That is usually kept for very late stage. They are usually high carb and low protein. What you need is high protein and low carb (for diabetics) and look for phosphorus levels that are 200mg/100kcals or less when you look at the food list.
Weruva brand also has a vet site that has all the nutritional values of all their food.
Sheba was early stage CRD and I had her on a raw diet of high protein and low carbs and she remained stable for 2 years until she died from an unrelated cause.
Are they giving him anything for the protein in his urine?
 
Kara I’ve just read your story in your notes.
I see that Boots is blind due to high blood pressure. I had a cat called Ming who also lost her eyesight due to high books pressure. She was put on medication Norvasc, which is the same medication Boots is on, just a different name, and lived until she was 21. She found her way around the house amazingly well and to look at her you would never have known she was blind.

With the early stage kidney issues there is no need for him to go on a kidney diet. That is usually kept for very late stage. They are usually high carb and low protein. What you need is high protein and low carb (for diabetics) and look for phosphorus levels that are 200mg/100kcals or less when you look at the food list.
Weruva brand also has a vet site that has all the nutritional values of all their food.
Sheba was early stage CRD and I had her on a raw diet of high protein and low carbs and she remained stable for 2 years until she died from an unrelated cause.
Are they giving him anything for the protein in his urine?
Hi, and thank you! They aren't doing anything for protein in his urine. Essentially, all this happening at the same time the shelter-in-place was enacted has thrown things even more off. Boots's vet has MS so, due to her high-risk status, she's not coming to work. Another vet unfamiliar with Boots stepped in and said to drop the insulin because if our concerns over his lethargy and barely eating, and she had us bring him in for a repeat fructosamine test and complete senior panel. She's the one who said he had protein in his urine. What makes all this harder is that we know vet visits are extremely stressful for Boots, but we are typically able to be with him and calm him. However, with the virus precautions, we can't go in with him. They come out to get him, take him inside, and we wait in the car. So he remains highly stressed. The new vet lady said we should drop him off for another curve test but I'm worried that his stress will drive up the BG numbers (the last curve resulted in the jump from unit BID to 2). I'm going to try to do a curve myself in the days to come.
 
Yes I would do the curve yourself. Much better all round.
Boots will only get stressed at the vets which will send the BGs higher and you won’t get true readingS. Plus it’s much cheaper to do it yourself.
Here’s some tips on home testing.
http://www.felinediabetes.com/FDMB/threads/hometesting-links-and-tips.287/

Benazapril is the drug used to treat proteinurea (protein in the urine) in cats. I would ask the vet about that. There should be no need for you to take Boots back in to get it ordered.. It is my understanding that protein in the urine should be addressed and not just left. Sheba was on benazapril for proteinurea.

we recommend you test the BG before EVERY shot to ensure it is safe to actually give the insulin and then test again during the cycle. Around about +4 to +7 (4 to 7 hours after the dose of insulin is given) will give you a good idea how the dose is working. It is also a good idea to get a before bed test done every night to see that the BG is not going to drop too much. Cats often drop lower at night. If the before bed test is lower than the preshot, that often means that the cycle is an active one and you might need to set the alarm and get up later to check the BG again.

When are you feeding during the day? A good meal before the shot is needed and then some small snacks during the cycles at
say +3 and+5 and +7 Is a good idea. Don’t forget to give some food for during the night as well. There is no need to over feed. Just divide up the days portion into those groups.
 
Just stepping in here to say, WELCOME! GLAD you found us! Theres a wealth of information here with folks to help you decipher it!
We are a huge family with a common goal. Giving our kitties the best life we can. You are in good company.
Bron have given you essential information to give Boots the bast chance possible. Setting up that spreadsheet is the start!;)

WELCOME TO OUR FAMILY :bighug:
jeanne
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top