Gwenn & Nimitz
Member Since 2024
Hello! My name is Gwenn and Nimitz is my fluffy orange sugar baby. First, I would like to say that finding this site when he was initially diagnosed helped with my post-diagnosis anxiety so much! Now on to business...
Nimitz is a 6 y/o male. At 16lbs he is a big boy (but down from 18lbs a few years ago!). He was diagnosed on 8/20/2024 after I noticed excessive thirst and urination. His BG at diagnosis was 500+. We immediately changed from a mostly dry food diet to 100% wet, started insulin (3U glargine) twice daily, and began home glucose monitoring with an AlphaTrak 3.
The first weekend was a little rough. Nimitz has a sensitive GI system so any change in food tends to lead to poopy pantaloons and he seemed to be responding well to insulin but had some vomiting and liquid poops outside of his box (not something he has ever done before). I reduced his dose to 2.5U or skipped and called his vet and they updated his dosage to 1U/2x day.
I then had to leave for 2 weeks to travel out of the country. Most boarders where I live (SE Wisconsin, USA) do not do injection meds, but I eventually found a qualified boarder who would take him (the relief!). While in boarding he did not have any glucose monitoring as he would refuse food when they did so there is a gap in my data.
Since then we have been working through the feeding, dosing and glucose monitoring protocols and things are doing well. His numbers have been staying fairly stable, the GI disruption has passed and based on Nimitz's behavior, he is feeling much better. Annoying behaviors I thought he grew out of are back (scratching furniture while staring directly at me, morning face punches, the usual) so I think he wasn't feeling very well for a while. He went into the vet's office for a glucose curve 10/1 and from that testing they changed us to 0.5U/2x day and still seeing consistent numbers.
A few questions for those with the knowledge...
Nimitz is a 6 y/o male. At 16lbs he is a big boy (but down from 18lbs a few years ago!). He was diagnosed on 8/20/2024 after I noticed excessive thirst and urination. His BG at diagnosis was 500+. We immediately changed from a mostly dry food diet to 100% wet, started insulin (3U glargine) twice daily, and began home glucose monitoring with an AlphaTrak 3.
The first weekend was a little rough. Nimitz has a sensitive GI system so any change in food tends to lead to poopy pantaloons and he seemed to be responding well to insulin but had some vomiting and liquid poops outside of his box (not something he has ever done before). I reduced his dose to 2.5U or skipped and called his vet and they updated his dosage to 1U/2x day.
I then had to leave for 2 weeks to travel out of the country. Most boarders where I live (SE Wisconsin, USA) do not do injection meds, but I eventually found a qualified boarder who would take him (the relief!). While in boarding he did not have any glucose monitoring as he would refuse food when they did so there is a gap in my data.
Since then we have been working through the feeding, dosing and glucose monitoring protocols and things are doing well. His numbers have been staying fairly stable, the GI disruption has passed and based on Nimitz's behavior, he is feeling much better. Annoying behaviors I thought he grew out of are back (scratching furniture while staring directly at me, morning face punches, the usual) so I think he wasn't feeling very well for a while. He went into the vet's office for a glucose curve 10/1 and from that testing they changed us to 0.5U/2x day and still seeing consistent numbers.
A few questions for those with the knowledge...
- What should I consider an NS threshold for insulin? I've been using my judgment based on what he's been averaging. For example, last night he was at 88 so I skipped and haven't seen any major spikes/crashes.
- The vet thinks Nimitz has good odds of going into remission. How do you determine when you can start testing if he is in remission? Any resources, links or insight appreciated!
- I don't know what method (SLGS or TR) we are on, I think it's a combo of starting slow til we find the right dosage and then TR after. Thoughts?
- Do you recommend getting a second opinion/getting established at a clinic that specializes in diabetic pet care?
