New Member - Newly diagnosed Cadmium Orange

Status
Not open for further replies.
As far as the symptoms - I'd just like to mention that the polyuria and polydipsia can return very quickly and isn't necessarily a good indicator about dose.

Diane had linked the dosing stickies, when you get a chance please read through those. Main reason being - that determines when you would increase the dose and by how much. One method you hold the dose for a week and only increase by 0.25U; the other you can technically increase as quickly as every 3 days and by up to 0.5U if numbers are high (but this method requires more testing to keep them safe).
 
As far as the symptoms - I'd just like to mention that the polyuria and polydipsia can return very quickly and isn't necessarily a good indicator about dose.

Diane had linked the dosing stickies, when you get a chance please read through those. Main reason being - that determines when you would increase the dose and by how much. One method you hold the dose for a week and only increase by 0.25U; the other you can technically increase as quickly as every 3 days and by up to 0.5U if numbers are high (but this method requires more testing to keep them safe).
And I spoke with his vet about how he was starting to deteriorate too, his back looked like it was trying to do its best impression of a rope bridge, and his back legs were getting weaker and weaker. It wasnt just polyuria and polydipsia, though I appreciate your warning!

I have read through the dosing guidelines multiple times, and reference it every time I wonder if hes getting enough and remind myself to pace myself so I don't push his system too much. I am planning on testing his sugar as much as he will allow me to, but yesterday he pushed forward while I was attempting to use the lancet to collect a sample and it went through his good ear. So I know that side is definitely sore! Tomorrow he has another lab appointment to check on his condition though.
 
Are you aware of the methyl B12 for neuropathy? I don't see it mentioned in this thread yet. Zobaline it what most people here use, it can take some time to work though.
 
Are you aware of the methyl B12 for neuropathy? I don't see it mentioned in this thread yet. Zobaline it what most people here use, it can take some time to work though.
I'll ask his vet about it tomorrow, I hadn't heard about it yet! He is doing so much better today though, and I'm extremely glad. We even had a play session today! His posture is also a lot better and he's able to ambulate like he should. I'm going to attempt to test his blood glucose (if he will allow it) in just a moment.

Also, should I make a new thread? I noticed this one is now above 50 replies. I might start it tomorrow after his appointment and we know more about how he's handled his first week of treatment.

ETA: Success! His PMPS sugars are 173! Woohoo!!!
 
Last edited:
Fantastic! Looks like the last few days were bouncing.

Yes please do make a new thread and tag me in it so I can keep an eye out
 
Please keep in mind his diagnosis was only made 6 days ago and I'm collecting all the supplies to best help him when I'm disabled and have incredibly limited income because I'm in the middle of applying for social security disability. As is, I only get $203 in cash benefits a month from the state.

I can tag @Chris & China (GA)
Hi Chris his kitty is on Prozinc don't know if you can help him :bighug::bighug:
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top