Becca and Murs
Member Since 2022
I'm still trying to figure out this message board, so I apologize if I'm not doing it right.
I need help with dosing because he's just all over the place.
Murs was diagnosed with diabetes on April 6, 2022 and then had DKA on April 9, 2022. He's on Lantus and currently eats RC Glycobalance canned food. He's my first diabetic cat, and I'm very anxious about everything. I'm very experienced with many other conditions but not diabetes.
We started on 1 unit on Wednesday after he came home from the hospital. His BG has been all over the place though, and my vet said that his BG shouldn't go below 100 at least for this week.
On Friday, his BG was 75 4.5 hours after his shot. I called my vet clinic and spoke to another vet who said that when it's time for his shot:
- Above 250, give 1 unit
- Above 180, give 1/2 unit
- Below 180, skip
I was nervous Friday night, so I gave 1/2 unit even though his BG was 342 PMPS. Saturday morning (yesterday), he peed a huge amount and was begging for food, which is how he was acting before we started insulin. I didn't test him before his morning shot because I stabbed him at least 30 times and got nothing. It's been very difficult getting blood from his ear since he's come home from the hospital, but I bought 26 gauge lancets yesterday, and it's been SO much easier! I gave 1 unit yesterday morning and 1 unit last night. THEN this morning, his AMPS was 123. According to the vet I spoke with on Friday, I should skip his shot, but I wasn't comfortable with that, so I gave 1/2 unit.
What am I supposed to do? He had diabetes symptoms yesterday morning after giving 1/2 unit Friday night, but his BG seems to be getting too low on 1 unit. I don't know what to do
-----
I put his background in the About section, but I'll also copy/paste it here:
Murs (M/N, ~ 4 years). Also goes by Murkat and Murray (Murry)*
Murs was diagnosed with diabetes on April 6, 2022 and then had DKA on April 9, 2022. He's on Lantus and currently eats RC Glycobalance canned food.
Medical Conditions: Diabetes, FIV, FLUTD, FHV, and tail acne.
Supplements: lysine and floriflora for FHV, cosequin for FLUTD, omega-3 fatty acids in hopes it'll help his tail acne.
History: He was rescued from the streets end of January 2022 and had a urinary blockage February 2, 2022. I started fostering him shortly after the rescue saved him off the streets when he started having urinary issues.
* I'm still trying to figure out his name. The rescue named him Murray/Murry, but I don't like that name for him.
I need help with dosing because he's just all over the place.
Murs was diagnosed with diabetes on April 6, 2022 and then had DKA on April 9, 2022. He's on Lantus and currently eats RC Glycobalance canned food. He's my first diabetic cat, and I'm very anxious about everything. I'm very experienced with many other conditions but not diabetes.
We started on 1 unit on Wednesday after he came home from the hospital. His BG has been all over the place though, and my vet said that his BG shouldn't go below 100 at least for this week.
On Friday, his BG was 75 4.5 hours after his shot. I called my vet clinic and spoke to another vet who said that when it's time for his shot:
- Above 250, give 1 unit
- Above 180, give 1/2 unit
- Below 180, skip
I was nervous Friday night, so I gave 1/2 unit even though his BG was 342 PMPS. Saturday morning (yesterday), he peed a huge amount and was begging for food, which is how he was acting before we started insulin. I didn't test him before his morning shot because I stabbed him at least 30 times and got nothing. It's been very difficult getting blood from his ear since he's come home from the hospital, but I bought 26 gauge lancets yesterday, and it's been SO much easier! I gave 1 unit yesterday morning and 1 unit last night. THEN this morning, his AMPS was 123. According to the vet I spoke with on Friday, I should skip his shot, but I wasn't comfortable with that, so I gave 1/2 unit.
What am I supposed to do? He had diabetes symptoms yesterday morning after giving 1/2 unit Friday night, but his BG seems to be getting too low on 1 unit. I don't know what to do
-----
I put his background in the About section, but I'll also copy/paste it here:
Murs (M/N, ~ 4 years). Also goes by Murkat and Murray (Murry)*
Murs was diagnosed with diabetes on April 6, 2022 and then had DKA on April 9, 2022. He's on Lantus and currently eats RC Glycobalance canned food.
Medical Conditions: Diabetes, FIV, FLUTD, FHV, and tail acne.
Supplements: lysine and floriflora for FHV, cosequin for FLUTD, omega-3 fatty acids in hopes it'll help his tail acne.
History: He was rescued from the streets end of January 2022 and had a urinary blockage February 2, 2022. I started fostering him shortly after the rescue saved him off the streets when he started having urinary issues.
* I'm still trying to figure out his name. The rescue named him Murray/Murry, but I don't like that name for him.
Last edited:
You can give him .50.