New Member - Need guidance on switching insulin, etc. for Jet Li

Status
Not open for further replies.

Riley813

Member Since 2021
Hello all! First I'd like to say that I am so glad that I found this group, both here and on Facebook!

A quick backstory... in December 2020 we lost our beautiful sugar baby at the age of 21. She was easily managed, I didn't know I should do home testing, but she was stable over the year and a few months I did insulin for her. When she passed, I remembered a local post regarding a diabetic cat that was living in a rescue office here for 4.5 years! No one wanted him :( He was surrendered by his "family" in 2016 to be euthanized for his diabetes. Thankfully he was extracted from that situation, but he just sat at the office waiting for his forever home. I believe my girl pointed me in his direction, so on December 28 we adopted our Jet Li! At that time, he was on 3.5 units Vetsulin twice a day. We brought him home, and a few days later he started acting lethargic and refused to drink water. We took him to the ER and found out he had a bad tooth (the reason for the water refusal), and that his sugars were low before his shot (likely the reason for the lethargy), so per the ER we reduced him to that time to 1.5 units twice a day. After a few more days, however, he had emergency tooth extraction and they suggested we remove him from insulin based on the curve done that day. He actually did well off insulin, but they also suggested we switch to Glycobalance, and within 3 weeks he was drinking and urinating excessively. We took him in one day shy of a month off insulin and he started back on Vetsulin. His glucose was high again, there was sugar in his urine, but thankfully there were no keytones. At that time, we started on one unit once a day, which of course did not help, so we went to 1 unit twice a day, then he did a curve at the vet and they moved him to 2 units twice a day, and a few days later they did another curve and moved him to 3 units twice a day. He was drinking 35-40 times a day and was miserable! I had called my vet to tell them that his drinking was worse, and they suggested I take him to 4 units twice a day. I kindly put my foot down and declined upping him blindly. I bought Young Again Junior Kitten to transition him to a lower carb (plus I wasn't home testing when I bought it, so ZERO was too dangerous), started home testing a couple days later, and with the advice of moderators, moved him back to 1 unit twice a day. After a week on Young Again Junior Kitten, he was moved to Young Again ZERO Mature...

Thank you if you have read this far. He is currently free feeding Young Again ZERO Mature (please note that he was dry food only when got him, so for now this is the best option, I don't wish to switch this), he gets Friskies pate, and he is on one unit Vetsulin twice a day. I have been charting him now for over a week, but the one thing I can be sure of is that Vetsulin wears off on him at about hour 8 or 9. At that time he is miserable and starts drinking water more and more as his sugars rise. I desperately do not want to find an optimal dose using Vetsulin, I want to change him over to a depot insulin. I believe in my area, Semglee will be the best option if I can get a prescription from my vet (she is willing to let me switch, just hopefully she has heard of Semglee…). I was worried about changing food and insulin so quickly, but after speaking with the president at Young Again, he said as long as I am diligently testing him before his shot, and again mid cycle, it may not be necessary to wait any longer. I admit that I am a bit intimidated by using a type of insulin I am not used to, but watching Vetsulin taper and die in his system every single dose just isn’t fair to him.

Here is his spreadsheet:

https://docs.google.com/spreadsheets/d/1D9-XUpeqW9t4c5Y5PDzkwN__Ng061YnKn6_a0TAOq18/edit?usp=sharing

My questions are, can I go ahead and request the prescription for Semglee now, rather than wait a longer duration on this food? If I am correct, it is stored in the fridge just like Lantus? Do you store all 5 pens in there? I plan to use a U-100 syringe to administer the insulin, not any other way. I know I need to start super low… if it is okay to go ahead and switch, do I start at .25? .5? Would I just do Vetsulin the night before, and start this the next morning? Is the +4 mid test I do daily during the daytime the best on Semglee, or should it be earlier/later as I believe it hits differently? If I am correct I should wait 7-10 days on the new dose, do a curve, then ask to see if we should move up the dose? Is a night test necessary with this insulin? I have RA so nights are rough on me.

Any assistance would be much appreciated. This guy has been through so much, he deserves to feel good finally. We had hoped he was in remission when we took him off insulin, but with that glycobalance it sure went away fast. I am hoping that maybe we can achieve that one day, or at least regulation, but I don’t see that ever happening with Vetsulin.

Thanks so much!

Alison & Jet Li
 
Hi Alison,

First good for you for adopting a diabetic kitty!!!

I’m not familiar with the insulin you mentioned, but I’m with Lantus. We always advise you start with 1 unit. With a gentler longer lasting insulin, you can try the midday test at around +6 since that’s usually when they peak. I would start the new insulin in the morning and you’ll always need the preshot tests no matter what insulin.

Welcome to you and Jet Li! :bighug::bighug::bighug:


I’ll let other members chime in about the specific insulin you’re going to use. Are you not in the US then I assume?
 
Hello! I am in the US. Thank you for responding!

Here is the info on Semglee, its just a better price than Lantus (as his diabetes is pre-existing, it is of course not covered so if I can save money for the exact same level of care, I want to do it):

Semglee carries the exact same indications and amino acid sequence as Lantus, so for all practical purposes it is a lower-cost version of the same drug. Technically, Semglee is not a “generic” but is officially considered a “follow-on” insulin, which basically means it's a copy of an already-approved product.

Hopefully that helps! Ok, so even though it a new insulin, 1 is appropriate to begin with? He's not trending super low on Vetsulin, but I don't want to hurt him or have a hypo, I'm just over watching him miserable for 3-4 hours while the Vetsulin disappears... :(
 
Hi and welcome Alison and Jet Li

I am so happy Jet Li has found a forever home with you. Thank you.


can I go ahead and request the prescription for Semglee now, rather than wait a longer duration on this food?
Yes I think you can go ahead and get the Semglee.

If I am correct, it is stored in the fridge just like Lantus? Do you store all 5 pens in there?
yes, but not in the fridge door

I plan to use a U-100 syringe to administer the insulin, not any other way. I know I need to start super low… if it is okay to go ahead and switch, do I start at .25? .5?
I would make sure you get the U100 3/10 syringes with the 1/2 unit markings.
It would be helpful if you could get a couple of tests in for a few days in the pm cycle as cats often drop lower at night. Then we could better suggest a dose.
Normally when swapping from Vetsulin to Lantus you would stay with the last dose of vetsulin and the 1 unit has not been dropping your kitty into blue or green numbers. But getting a few PM cycle tests in would help greatly.

Would I just do Vetsulin the night before, and start this the next morning?
yes

Is the +4 mid test I do daily during the daytime the best on Semglee, or should it be earlier/later as I believe it hits differently?

I would start off with getting tests in every 2 hours for the first couple of days if you can because you are starting a new insulin and we don't know how he will react. Also try and get a couple of tests in during the pm cycle. If you can't manage that I would get a +2, +5 and +7 and +9. Lantus insulin onset is usually around +2 and as the depot fills you will see the full potential of the dose being given.

If I am correct I should wait 7-10 days on the new dose, do a curve, then ask to see if we should move up the dose?
When first starting a depot insulin it is best to hold the dose for 5 to7 days to let the depot fill and stabilise. You would only reduce the dose if the cat dropped under 90 for Start Low Go Slow or 50 for Tight Regulation. If you are doing SLGS you would do a curve then ask for assistance with the dose. If you are doing TR you would need to ask someone to have a look and they would tell you if you need to increase the dose.

Is a night test necessary with this insulin? I have RA so nights are rough on me.
yes I would highly recommend you get at least one night time test in. A before bed test will tell you if you need to test again. If the before bed test is lower than the preshot BG I would set the alarm and test again to see it has not dropped too far.

I would have a look at the two dosing methods that are in the yellow stickies at the top of the lantus page. As you are feeding dry food you will have to follow SLGS which means you take reductions at 90.

Do you have an automatic feeder? They are great for diabetic cats and can be set to feed overnight when you are asleep.
If I haven't answered all your questions please let me know.
Keep asking questions as it is the way to learn.
When you are a bit further along and using the Semglee, I will redirect you to the Lantus page where you will be with people who use Lantus all the time.

Do you have a hypo kit set up?
Also if you are able to set up your signature that would be very helpful. I will post a link which has useful information in it as well as the signature link
https://www.felinediabetes.com/FDMB/threads/new-how-you-can-help-us-help-you.216696/
Bron
 
I would make sure you get the U100 3/10 syringes with the 1/2 unit markings.
It would be helpful if you could get a couple of tests in for a few days in the pm cycle as cats often drop lower at night. Then we could better suggest a dose.
Normally when swapping from Vetsulin to Lantus you would stay with the last dose of vetsulin and the 1 unit has not been dropping your kitty into blue or green numbers. But getting a few PM cycle tests in would help greatly.

Is there a specific brand that works better that has the 1/2? I've seen multiple recommendations, but the U-40 Monojet has a jerky motion when I am trying to get the dose right, and its annoying lol.

I would start off with getting tests in every 2 hours for the first couple of days if you can because you are starting a new insulin and we don't know how he will react. Also try and get a couple of tests in during the pm cycle. If you can't manage that I would get a +2, +5 and +7 and +9. Lantus insulin onset is usually around +2 and as the depot fills you will see the full potential of the dose being given.

I could do AMPS, +2, +4, +6, +8, +10, PMPS the first couple days... and also a before bed (this would be at +2) + one overnight? If so what is best for that one overnight? Still +6? I am checking pricing on Levemir, if I get that, is this still applicable? I believe I saw it hits at like +5?

When first starting a depot insulin it is best to hold the dose for 5 to7 days to let the depot fill and stabilize. You would only reduce the dose if the cat dropped under 90 for Start Low Go Slow or 50 for Tight Regulation. If you are doing SLGS you would do a curve then ask for assistance with the dose. If you are doing TR you would need to ask someone to have a look and they would tell you if you need to increase the dose.

yes I would highly recommend you get at least one night time test in. A before bed test will tell you if you need to test again. If the before bed test is lower than the preshot BG I would set the alarm and test again to see it has not dropped too far.

I think that SLGS is best as I am free feeding with dry. So just ask after the first couple days? Or do full curves the first two days and before bed + one overnight, then do AMPS, +6, PMPS, before bed for 3 days then ask after those 5 days here as long as nothing looks crazy? How long is the before bed test needed? Or do I just need to add this to the routine from now on with this insulin type?

Do you have an automatic feeder? They are great for diabetic cats and can be set to feed overnight when you are asleep.

I don't, but he seems to just do well with his bowls. He doesn't eat excessively overnight... sometimes he doesn't nibble at all.

Do you have a hypo kit set up?

I have maple syrup and I am making sure I have a syringe on hand because he hates his mouth touched. If he doesn't allow it to go in that end, it'll sure go in the other... I have a meaty bits in gravy from Friskies and some wet glycobalance. I'll have to work out the carbs in those. I have extra strips on hand, and we know where the ER is, but it is 25+ minutes away unfortunately.

Also if you are able to set up your signature that would be very helpful.

I think I did this, hopefully it shows up. Thanks so much for your help, I have a call into my vet, hopefully she replies tomorrow and I can get things in motion...
 
Last edited:
Do you prime the syringe first?
Then it's much easier to move and get the right amount of insulin
 
Hi @Riley813 . Semglee is a biosimilar to Lantus from Vietnam Mylan Group. A U100 insulin just like Lantus is. If Monojet's U100 syringes are just as quirky as their U40 syringes, there are several others as BD, and plenty of others. My BD U100 1/2 markings syringes and all other different BD have never ever been a problem since 2006. That's 15 years that. :)

So what a Great Chinese Asian name Jet Li got then, with the Chinese Tang Dynasty of Vietnam, and with this Vietnames Mylan Group Semglee biosimilar insulin.
He can Kitty Gong Fu his way back to better health.

Also very impressed by your girl's fantastic age of 21. :bighug:


When you switch to Semglee you post in the Lantus forum.
And here is all The Basics for all glargines, as both Semglee and Lantus are, for you to plow rough and read up on first. https://www.felinediabetes.com/FDMB/threads/the-basics-new-to-the-group-start-here.18139/
 
Last edited:
Do you prime the syringe first?
Then it's much easier to move and get the right amount of insulin

I do, but with RA tiny moments for me are almost impossible. I won't give up! Just wondering if there is something easier possibly to deal with :)
 
Hi @Riley813 . Semglee is a biosimilar to Lantus from Vietnam Mylan Group. A U100 insulin just like Lantus is. If Monojet's U100 syringes are just as quirky as their U40 syringes, there are several others as BD, and plenty of others. My BD U100 1/2 markings syringes and all other different BD have never ever been a problem since 2006. That's 15 years that. :)

So what a Great Chinese Asian name Jet Li got then, with the Chinese Tang Dynasty of Vietnam, and with this Vietnames Mylan Group Semglee biosimilar insulin.
He can Kitty Gong Fu his way back to better health.

Also very impressed by your girl's fantastic age of 21. :bighug:


When you switch to Semglee you post in the Lantus forum.
And here is all The Basics for all glargines, as both Semglee and Lantus are, for you to plow rough and read up on first. https://www.felinediabetes.com/FDMB/threads/the-basics-new-to-the-group-start-here.18139/


He came with his name and it suits him! He's a warrior thats for sure. I'll start researching the syringes today, I want to have them on hand for whenever my vet gets me a script, thank you!

I'll start reading! I was just worried I needed to start him lower, but I am glad I can just start at one unit. Once I get more information on the best testing times as I switch him, I'll do that as well. I'm slightly intimidated by the switch, despite the fact that what we are currently using is actually harsher, but I just cannot continue working on a dose for something that runs out in his system the way it does. Its just not fair.

My girl was a fighter. Her passing was unexpected and far too quick, but I had over 18 years of great memories. I miss her daily, but I am sure that both she, and my guy that passed at almost 19 in 2018, sent Jet Li to us. They were in my dreams nightly until the day we adopted this guy, then no more. It was slightly bizarre lol.

Thanks to everyone for the answers so far! I just want to make sure I am doing everything correctly when I switch.

Alison & Jet Li
 
I use Levemir insulin. ( Levemir is NON acidic it doesn't sting when injected) I buy it from Alan Hamman on the Supply closet. You can PM (private message him) to check his price ( Very good! ) It looks like the Semglee insulin is expensive. I couldn't afford that much .

I buy a few pens of Levemir & use every drop. It's been 3 1/2 years now & I've never had a problem with the insulin. Relion Prime syringes 3/10ml 31 gauge 8 mm length are inexpensive & work just fine.

When you get a chance add a Photo of Jet Li. Love his name! :) You'll want to add where you're located so people here know what the time zone is.
Come to the Lantus Forum. Lots of people there to answer any questions & offer support!

Beat of Luck to you & Jet Li. :bighug:
images
 
I use Levemir insulin. ( Levemir is NON acidic it doesn't sting when injected) I buy it from Alan Hamman on the Supply closet. You can PM (private message him) to check his price ( Very good! ) It looks like the Semglee insulin is expensive. I couldn't afford that much .

I buy a few pens of Levemir & use every drop. It's been 3 1/2 years now & I've never had a problem with the insulin. Relion Prime syringes 3/10ml 31 gauge 8 mm length are inexpensive & work just fine.

When you get a chance add a Photo of Jet Li. Love his name! :) You'll want to add where you're located so people here know what the time zone is.
Come to the Lantus Forum. Lots of people there to answer any questions & offer support!

Beat of Luck to you & Jet Li. :bighug:
images


Picture & location added! Those needles are from Walmart right? I didn't see any online but I may have to call and see what they have in stock.

Alison
 
Last edited:
If you go to Forums & look down the page you'll see Supply Closet. Sometimes people give away supplies & Alan sells Levemir insulin at a good price.
Yes the Syringes are at Walmart, at the counter in the Pharmacy.
 
Fan
If you go to Forums & look down the page you'll see Supply Closet. Sometimes people give away supplies & Alan sells Levemir insulin at a good price.
Yes the Syringes are at Walmart, at the counter in the Pharmacy.

Fantastic thanks! I’ll send my husband (I try not to Walmart too often as I’m high risk). I’ve messaged him so I’ll talk to him soon hopefully :)
 
the U-40 Monojet has a jerky motion when I am trying to get the dose right, and its annoying lol.
Lots of syringes do this. Try this (if you can - not sure whether movements may be too small):

* draw up about 1-1.5 units of insulin more than you need.

* for the fine adjustment of the dose, use a corkscrew motion to gradually ease the plunger to the desired position.

I'm so glad that you have given Jet Li his forever home. :) :bighug:


Mogs
.
 
I wonder if that’s cheaper than getting Lantus from Mark’s Pharmacy in Canada like most of us do. I get 5 pens for about $169 so each pen ends being less than $35
 
I wonder if that’s cheaper than getting Lantus from Mark’s Pharmacy in Canada like most of us do. I get 5 pens for about $169 so each pen ends being less than $35

Semglee would be cheaper if you use a coupon like RxSaver. I'm checking on this Levemir thing though, I've heard good things. Either way I am definitely going to switch and then beg for dosage help lol. I HATE the last 3-4 hrs before his shot, I can pinpoint when everything starts wearing off. :/
 
Lots of syringes do this. Try this (if you can - not sure whether movements may be too small):

* draw up about 1-1.5 units of insulin more than you need.

* for the fine adjustment of the dose, use a corkscrew motion to gradually ease the plunger to the desired position.

I'm so glad that you have given Jet Li his forever home. :) :bighug:


Mogs
.

I'll get that a whirl tonight with the evil U-40 syringes lol.

Thanks, we love him. Its definitely more involved that I intended, but he deserves every extra second!
 
If you go to Forums & look down the page you'll see Supply Closet. Sometimes people give away supplies & Alan sells Levemir insulin at a good price.
Yes the Syringes are at Walmart, at the counter in the Pharmacy.

It looks like I will be able to start the Levemir soon, so thank you! I know it’s peak is a bit different than Lantus, correct? Anything else I need to know? Thanks again
 
It looks like I will be able to start the Levemir soon, so thank you! I know it’s peak is a bit different than Lantus, correct? Anything else I need to know? Thanks again

Yes, Levemir is very different. It ties to the Carrier Blood Protein Albumin. The Level of Albumin can always be easily found out with A Blood Test. :bighug:

Btw, Kittie Gong Fuer Jet Li and You joined us here February 20, on my birthday. And My Mum's too ❤️:cat:. Born 1934 and 1968 :cat: ❤️ So Keep Gong Fu On!
 
Yes, Levemir is very different. It ties to the Carrier Blood Protein Albumin. The Level of Albumin can always be easily found out with A Blood Test. :bighug:

Btw, Kittie Gong Fuer Jet Li and You joined us here February 20, on my birthday. And My Mum's too ❤️:cat:. Born 1934 and 1968 :cat: ❤️ So Keep Gong Fu On!

Happy belated birthday! Do we need to do a blood test special for this insulin then? I know the onset is later, what’s a good midpoint to check this one? +4? Thanks :)
 
@Riley813 If you have Gong Fu'er Jet Li all previous and latest Blood Tests from the shelter, and Albumin is one of the Blood Test parameters, look at that first.
And you can post them here, even under the Tab Blood Work in your spreadsheet.
 
Last edited:
Those needles are from Walmart right? I didn't see any online but I may have to call and see what they have in stock.

You can't buy them online. Only in the store and you have to ask for them since they're kept behind the counter.

You want U100 insulin syringes. 3/10ml, 30 or 31 gauge (and no matter what they might tell you, all their 3/10ml syringes DO have half unit marks)
158245327_10218538137791952_7615496727660103564_n.jpg

157545311_10218538138151961_7276476434743079322_n.jpg


They are both the right syringes...different WalMarts have different packaging. Just make sure they're 3/10ml
 
You can't buy them online. Only in the store and you have to ask for them since they're kept behind the counter.

You want U100 insulin syringes. 3/10ml, 30 or 31 gauge (and no matter what they might tell you, all their 3/10ml syringes DO have half unit marks)
158245327_10218538137791952_7615496727660103564_n.jpg

157545311_10218538138151961_7276476434743079322_n.jpg


They are both the right syringes...different WalMarts have different packaging. Just make sure they're 3/10ml

thanks! I found some online so I went ahead and got some :). They are a different brand but they had good reviews, so hopefully they work well!
 
@Riley813 If you have Gong Fu'er Jet Li all previous and latest Blood Tests from the shelter, and Albumin is one of the Blood Test parameters, look at that first.
And you can post them here, even under the Tab Blood Work in your spreadsheet.
I’m honestly not sure if I have any bloodwork records. I’ll check today! I know they said his glucose was the only wonky number when they ran his blood though.
 
So, if anyone can help me... I was going to do a daytime curve the first couple days as was suggested to see how he does on the new insulin. Does the nighttime (+2) still help, or is that just helpful for Lantus which has an onset earlier? Is a +4 better for the first few nights? Is a +4 good for the daytime mid after I’m done with the curves? That’s what I do for Vetsulin, but if a later time is better I can certainly change to +5 or +6... I can take this question over to the Levemir/Lantus forum if it’s easier! Thanks so much for everyone’s help.
 
Levemir/Lantus forum if it’s easier

It would be better if you switched to the Lantus/Levemir forum. Lots of people there to answer your questions.
I don't give dosing advice. I leave that to people on the forum who have a lot more experience than me.

Think of the Spread Sheet ( SS ) as a puzzle. Over time you want to fill in the spaces. Test at different times to see how the insulin is reacting at different times of the day.
You can check out different Spread Sheets just to get an idea of what filling in the boxes is about.

It's important to also get readings at different times during the night. Some kitties go low at that time. ( will need to set your alarm clock!)

There's a ton of information here that you can read. In the beginning I printed out some things to keep in a folder, to refer to .

Take a deep breath, and be patient. The more you know, the easier it will get! :bighug:

upload_2021-3-6_10-0-32.jpeg
upload_2021-3-6_10-1-59.jpeg
 

Attachments

  • upload_2021-3-6_10-0-32.jpeg
    upload_2021-3-6_10-0-32.jpeg
    10.3 KB · Views: 471
  • upload_2021-3-6_10-1-59.jpeg
    upload_2021-3-6_10-1-59.jpeg
    12.9 KB · Views: 490
It would be better if you switched to the Lantus/Levemir forum. Lots of people there to answer your questions.
I don't give dosing advice. I leave that to people on the forum who have a lot more experience than me.

Think of the Spread Sheet ( SS ) as a puzzle. Over time you want to fill in the spaces. Test at different times to see how the insulin is reacting at different times of the day.
You can check out different Spread Sheets just to get an idea of what filling in the boxes is about.

It's important to also get readings at different times during the night. Some kitties go low at that time. ( will need to set your alarm clock!)

There's a ton of information here that you can read. In the beginning I printed out some things to keep in a folder, to refer to .

Take a deep breath, and be patient. The more you know, the easier it will get! :bighug:

View attachment 60073 View attachment 60074
How long do we have to do the night ones? Just til we start to understand how he reacts? I’m more than happy to get up and do it, it’s so quick, but my RA won’t always comply. I can certainly move over to that forum for curve questions :)
 
I still get up at least once a night to check & make sure Ravan hasn't dropped too low. It took a long time for me to be comfortable Not checking several times every night.
Ravan got so used to it he still wakes me at 2:30 am! If you look at Ravan's SS from 2019 you'll get an idea of how many times I checked him during the night.
He only gets .5 units of insulin even now he's dropped into the 30"s. So I'm careful to check at night.

Since you're using Levemir it's best if you stay on that forum. And enter a new post every day.
 
I still get up at least once a night to check & make sure Ravan hasn't dropped too low. It took a long time for me to be comfortable Not checking several times every night.
Ravan got so used to it he still wakes me at 2:30 am! If you look at Ravan's SS from 2019 you'll get an idea of how many times I checked him during the night.
He only gets .5 units of insulin even now he's dropped into the 30"s. So I'm careful to check at night.

Since you're using Levemir it's best if you stay on that forum. And enter a new post every day.
Sounds good, I appreciate the help! Ravan’s chart is so pretty! I hope for some nice looking colors coming soon.
 
Last edited:
Ok! I found the one I have...

Yes! And if you look you see where it says ALB - that's the Albumin and the level is normal! You are ready to go for Levemir. If you will.


Although, an abnormal GLO - Globulins - They are too high.


And The Liver value ALKP is too low. That could be temporary and at the number at least better than too high.
 
Yes! And if you look you see where it says ALB - that's the Albumin and the level is normal! You are ready to go for Levemir. If you will.


Although, an abnormal GLO - Globulins - They are too high.


And The Liver value ALKP is too low. That could be temporary and at the number at least better than too high.
Yeah she said the numbers were close enough on those two that she wasn’t concerned. Glad he’s ready for Levemir :)
 
Yes! And if you look you see where it says ALB - that's the Albumin and the level is normal! You are ready to go for Levemir. If you will.


Although, an abnormal GLO - Globulins - They are too high.


And The Liver value ALKP is too low. That could be temporary and at the number at least better than too high.
Also, when he had these he was at the tail end of a double ear infection. Not sure if that could make glob high?
 
Also, when he had these he was at the tail end of a double ear infection. Not sure if that could make glob high?

Your Vet have already noted you about that, so next Blood Test you do, in given time, will then show if it still the same with the globulins. Double ear infection, poor Jet Li. I hope it has cleared.
 
Your Vet have already noted you about that, so next Blood Test you do, in given time, will then show if it still the same with the globulins. Double ear infection, poor Jet Li. I hope it has cleared.
They were but he itches them often. He’s got a cauliflower ear and they both seem to be prone to being itchy unfortunately. I wasn’t a huge fan of the ear drops they used but they wanted to avoid ones with steroids. I’m also trying Zymox OTC rather than stress him out again. Poor guy has been through so much.
 
Simba also got a cauliflower ear. In one of his daily Wrestling Competions with Gustav. A tooth or nail from Gustav must have hit the ear so it became fluid filled and swollen. It dried out but as cauliflower ear. Thus why never using the ears for bg testing. The Animal Hospital started the bg taking in an alternative way in 2006, which we have stuck to.
 
Last edited:
Simba also got a cauliflower ear. In one of his daily Wrestling Competions with Gustav. A tooth or nail from Gustav must have hit the ear so it became fluid filled and swollen. It dried out but as cauliflower ear. Thus why never using the ears for bg testing. The Animal Hospital started the bg taking in an alternative way in 2006, which we have stuck too.
Do you just do paws then? So far he’s good about his other ear thankfully but they are always bothering him unfortunately.
 
Yes, very carefully just one back paw. Sitting on the constant same spot on the floor. Gets to lay-sit Cosy in my lap then. I had already made each one of them accustomed to that since their baby days, me sitting on the floor with them sitting in my lap cutting their nails. So it was continuing the most natural thing then to sit like that also then.
 
Yes, very carefully just one back paw. Sitting on the constant same spot on the floor. Gets to lay-sit Cosy in my lap then. I had already made each one of them accustomed to that since their baby days, me sitting on the floor with them sitting in my lap cutting their nails. So it was continuing the most natural thing then to sit like that also then.
I’ll definitely keep that in mind, thank you!!
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top