Lansry
Member Since 2024
My name is Mel, and my cat Felix was diagnosed in August 2024 and currently on Lantus treatment.
For more than 3 months, I held off home testing because he was still eating high carb dry food at the time. We have multiple cats at home with different health issues and dietary needs so I had to carefully plan on how to separate Felix from others and change his diet. I also felt I wasn't ready yet to do the testing so I took my time learning about it and diabetes management in general. Felix does go to the vet for glucose curves. His last glucose curve was December 16, and his numbers stayed in the 300s so his vet increased his dosage from 4 units to 5 units twice a day. To be honest, I was a little concerned with the dosage increase because we know that stress can also be a reason for the high numbers, and Felix really hates going to the vet (LOL), but since he was also eating high carb food at the time, I didn't bother to question his instruction and has been giving Felix 5 units twice a day since then.
Finally I felt I was ready to do the testing myself and yesterday I was successful in getting his glucose numbers using ReliOn Premier. At the same time, I changed his diet entirely to low carb food, both wet and dry. Now here comes my dilemma:
For more than 3 months, I held off home testing because he was still eating high carb dry food at the time. We have multiple cats at home with different health issues and dietary needs so I had to carefully plan on how to separate Felix from others and change his diet. I also felt I wasn't ready yet to do the testing so I took my time learning about it and diabetes management in general. Felix does go to the vet for glucose curves. His last glucose curve was December 16, and his numbers stayed in the 300s so his vet increased his dosage from 4 units to 5 units twice a day. To be honest, I was a little concerned with the dosage increase because we know that stress can also be a reason for the high numbers, and Felix really hates going to the vet (LOL), but since he was also eating high carb food at the time, I didn't bother to question his instruction and has been giving Felix 5 units twice a day since then.
Finally I felt I was ready to do the testing myself and yesterday I was successful in getting his glucose numbers using ReliOn Premier. At the same time, I changed his diet entirely to low carb food, both wet and dry. Now here comes my dilemma:
- Felix's AMPS this morning dropped down to 85 mg/dL (to my surprise!) so I decreased his dosage to 4 units and tested him again +1 (59), +2 (55) in which at this point I got worried that his number would go lower than 50 so I fed him a little of high carb dry food. Was I wrong in shooting him this morning? What should have I done in terms of shooting in my case when the PS numbers are in normal range?
- At +3 (71) and +6 (125) testing, his numbers went up again thankfully but should I give him the same 4 units later if his PMPS is between upper 120s and 200s? Or should I decrease his dosage to 3 units because overnight he had a BIG drop down? At the moment, I don't have syringes with half unit labels so I can only change the doses to 1 unit increments.
. I tested him at +2 and I meant to test him at +6 but I couldn't stay up that late so instead I tested him at +5. Thankfully, Felix didn't get a big drop and went to bed feeling a little better. This morning he got 174 with his AMPS and put him back to 2 units. His next glucose curve appointment is on December 30 so I am gonna stick to 2 units until then unless something changes. I really THANK you all for your advise
.
