Alli and Bub
Member Since 2022
Hello All!
After lurking here a while, I finally made an account! My name is Alli and my 11 y/o cat Bub was diagnosed with diabetes in August as a result of being on Prednisolone for his IBD. He's now on Budesonide and Lantus insulin for the diabetes. He was initially started at 1u 2x a day, but that has increased over time to 3u 2x a day. The increases have been made every 2 weeks as advised by the vet after regular glucose curves there.
His numbers have always been kind of all over the place with some very high points, but lately it feels all over the place. For example, the other day he tested low at around 120 (the first time he's been in the normal range since his diagnosis!) so as advised by the vet, I skipped his insulin shot, but at next dosing time, he tested HI (600+)! Today he peed outside the litter box (which has never happened before) and tested at 315. 3 hours later, his BG has gone up to 408 and I'm pretty sure I didn't give him a fur shot or anything by mistake...Hoping he doesn't have a UTI or some other infection...
Food wise, he is on Hill's z/d wet, which I know is high in carbs and would like to change, but I am having difficulty finding a novel protein wet food that is actually in stock and not more expensive than the z/d...
I have the spreadsheet in my signature to give you an idea of his numbers the past two months. Sorry the info is a bit sparse. I am trying to be more regular with testing...
Any advice is appreciated!
After lurking here a while, I finally made an account! My name is Alli and my 11 y/o cat Bub was diagnosed with diabetes in August as a result of being on Prednisolone for his IBD. He's now on Budesonide and Lantus insulin for the diabetes. He was initially started at 1u 2x a day, but that has increased over time to 3u 2x a day. The increases have been made every 2 weeks as advised by the vet after regular glucose curves there.
His numbers have always been kind of all over the place with some very high points, but lately it feels all over the place. For example, the other day he tested low at around 120 (the first time he's been in the normal range since his diagnosis!) so as advised by the vet, I skipped his insulin shot, but at next dosing time, he tested HI (600+)! Today he peed outside the litter box (which has never happened before) and tested at 315. 3 hours later, his BG has gone up to 408 and I'm pretty sure I didn't give him a fur shot or anything by mistake...Hoping he doesn't have a UTI or some other infection...
Food wise, he is on Hill's z/d wet, which I know is high in carbs and would like to change, but I am having difficulty finding a novel protein wet food that is actually in stock and not more expensive than the z/d...
I have the spreadsheet in my signature to give you an idea of his numbers the past two months. Sorry the info is a bit sparse. I am trying to be more regular with testing...
Any advice is appreciated!