Hannah and Neko
Member Since 2024
Hi! I'm a new member, and I need to fill out the new member info, start my spreadsheet, make my signature, etc. still so forgive me!
My kitty Neko's pre-shot BG level is 86 mg/dL (on a human meter). I'm super new to taking BG tests (tonight was my third time being sucessful,) and I've been reading SO much in the forum (I'm so glad and thankful I found it!!). BUT Neko has been on Vetsulin for almost a year. He normally takes 1 unit OR 1/2 unit worth on a U-40 syringe. I always make sure to keep an eye out for how he's acting and do a big checklist before giving him a shot to avoid hypo from happening.
I'm sorry if this was bad/I'm being stupid, but because Neko's BG readings have been within the range they're supposed to for a healthy kitty, and I didn't know what I was doing yet, I've skipped a lot of his insulin doses that past few days. The overall Vetsulin guide in this forum said to hold off on giving a shot if you're new to doing BG readings and your kitty's BG is below 200 mg/dL. But I've skipped a lot of doses that past few days, so I don't know if this is bad for me to do for so long. He got a half dose last night, because I was nervous about skipping more. I wasn't concerned it would make him go hypo to get insulin (otherwise I would have definitely skipped it!) because I know how he reacts to Vetsulin. But I don't want to keep skipping insulin if that will mess up his system?
I finally have a human meter as of today (yay!), and the 86 mg/dL has me nervous.
Should I skip his insulin again or is that a bad idea?
Sorry again I don't have a lot of info! I'm in a hurry now- I had to feed him because I was already so late giving him dinner.
**Fixed grammar mistakes, sorry!
My kitty Neko's pre-shot BG level is 86 mg/dL (on a human meter). I'm super new to taking BG tests (tonight was my third time being sucessful,) and I've been reading SO much in the forum (I'm so glad and thankful I found it!!). BUT Neko has been on Vetsulin for almost a year. He normally takes 1 unit OR 1/2 unit worth on a U-40 syringe. I always make sure to keep an eye out for how he's acting and do a big checklist before giving him a shot to avoid hypo from happening.
I'm sorry if this was bad/I'm being stupid, but because Neko's BG readings have been within the range they're supposed to for a healthy kitty, and I didn't know what I was doing yet, I've skipped a lot of his insulin doses that past few days. The overall Vetsulin guide in this forum said to hold off on giving a shot if you're new to doing BG readings and your kitty's BG is below 200 mg/dL. But I've skipped a lot of doses that past few days, so I don't know if this is bad for me to do for so long. He got a half dose last night, because I was nervous about skipping more. I wasn't concerned it would make him go hypo to get insulin (otherwise I would have definitely skipped it!) because I know how he reacts to Vetsulin. But I don't want to keep skipping insulin if that will mess up his system?
I finally have a human meter as of today (yay!), and the 86 mg/dL has me nervous.
Should I skip his insulin again or is that a bad idea?
Sorry again I don't have a lot of info! I'm in a hurry now- I had to feed him because I was already so late giving him dinner.
**Fixed grammar mistakes, sorry!
Last edited: